Chevron Left
Epigenetic Control of Gene Expression(으)로 돌아가기

멜버른 대학교의 Epigenetic Control of Gene Expression 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
734개의 평가

강좌 소개

While the human genome sequence has transformed our understanding of human biology, it isn’t just the sequence of your DNA that matters, but also how you use it! How are some genes activated and others are silenced? How is this controlled? The answer is epigenetics. Epigenetics has been a hot topic for research over the past decade as it has become clear that aberrant epigenetic control contributes to disease (particularly to cancer). Epigenetic alterations are heritable through cell division, and in some instances are able to behave similarly to mutations in terms of their stability. Importantly, unlike genetic mutations, epigenetic modifications are reversible and therefore have the potential to be manipulated therapeutically. It has also become clear in recent years that epigenetic modifications are sensitive to the environment (for example diet), which has sparked a large amount of public debate and research. This course will give an introduction to the fundamentals of epigenetic control. We will examine epigenetic phenomena that are manifestations of epigenetic control in several organisms, with a focus on mammals. We will examine the interplay between epigenetic control and the environment and finally the role of aberrant epigenetic control in disease. All necessary information will be covered in the lectures, and recommended and required readings will be provided. There are no additional required texts for this course. For those interested, additional information can be obtained in the following textbook. Epigenetics. Allis, Jenuwein, Reinberg and Caparros. Cold Spring Harbour Laboratory Press. ISBN-13: 978-0879697242 | Edition: 1 The course will re-open in 2022....

최상위 리뷰

NN

2021년 8월 1일

This is the best course on coursera, 10/10. I wish it was longer and I could take it all over again. you will need background knowledge for this course but it is an amazing course and I will miss it.

MM

2018년 10월 1일

This was an excellent course. All the material was well presented and the explanation of the sometimes complex subject matter was clear and understandable. Thank you for an great learning experience.

필터링 기준:

Epigenetic Control of Gene Expression의 201개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: GAURI S K

2020년 5월 20일

This course was new to me. All the concepts were explained in a very simplified manner. I am very happy to have done this course and find it a very interesting field to take upm in my future career.

교육 기관: Ho Y C

2020년 5월 10일

Very clear explanation of the concepts and details. I would say it is a difficult course for students from engineering background, even having some bioinfomatics and oncology courses background

교육 기관: EBENEZER W

2019년 7월 24일

Definitely an enchanting learning experience. This course expresses thoughts on epigenetics and how it could be the key to solve menacing threats such as cancer. It starts with a brief history and remarkable discoveries by scientists, followed by its mechanism, case studies in animal models, cohort studies, and eventually its implementation in cancer therapy. It is very intriguing filled with quizzes, learning resources (podcasts, debates, research findings, interviews, and newspaper articles) and not to mention the ever-growing learning community. Highly recommended for aspirants of biology and those who want to understand life better. I am grateful to Dr. Marnie Blewitt, the curator, Ms. Natasha Jansz, the moderator, and her colleagues and also the University of Melbourne for an excellent journey of learning.

교육 기관: Apoorva S

2019년 7월 21일

A great learning platform. This was my first ever course on coursera and I've thoroughly enjoyed it. A big thank you to Dr. Marnie Blewitt for helping us learn in a fun way!

교육 기관: PADMIKA W

2020년 5월 23일

It is a wonderful course to learn about epigenetics. I recommend everyone to take this course.

교육 기관: Udit G

2020년 11월 28일

Truly a great course. Dr. Marnie Blewitt has been an amazing instructor.

교육 기관: Ismael V M

2019년 7월 24일

Fantastic course excelente teacher thanks.

교육 기관: Gaurav S

2017년 3월 7일

A brilliant course which enables students to understand the fundamentals of Epigenetics. This was my first online course and I am delighted to say that it was a wonderful experience and I gained immense insight into the field of Epigenetics. I'd strongly recommend it to prospective students and academicians.

교육 기관: Saurabh M

2017년 6월 29일

A highly informative course. It provides a base for the people who are associated with epigenetic study. I enjoyed this course and enhanced my knowledge in the area of epigenetics. I will recommend other people who are willing to start their career in the field of epigenetics, they can join the course.

교육 기관: Rodrigo A M F

2016년 11월 2일

The information is presented in a clear way and haves an apropiate level of difficulty. My problem is that the method of evaluation, with only multiple choice answers, is very lazy and easy.

교육 기관: Derek H

2019년 11월 25일

Update the reading for the final assignment. It is too old and updating it would be an easy fix. I am not going to finish the certificate as the final paper is 7 years ago. Go Boomer. Sad

교육 기관: robert t

2016년 3월 22일

boring lecturer, monotone, passionless reading of even more boring powerpoint slides and images, and absolutely no intelligent discussion going on in this course, I have learned more from reading the book "the epigenetics revolution " by nessa carey, a book written for laypersons, than I have from this course taught by university professors. don't waste your time

교육 기관: Dong M

2017년 7월 31일

the whole lecture given by the lecturer is so confused. And really boring by her monotone. There is almost no connections between slides and the explanation is so unconvinced. Also, it will be better if the lecture can help recall previous slides when talking about relative definition or trying to explain something. wasted my time to be honest

교육 기관: Didi-Morgan

2018년 8월 30일

Great course on a very interesting subject. Well constructed, with clear explanations, nice supports, wonderful contents. I love it. The level of difficulty increases with each chapters but regurlarly, so it's relatively easy. Great teacher, she seems passionate about what she does even though it is difficult to be passionate alone in front of a camera… She sometimes end on a little opening on the researches on the subject, especially the ones done in her own lab, which I think is very interesting. Thank you for this amazing course! I recommend it to everyone interested in genetics, epigenetics or who wants to know the relatively new discoveries in the field.

교육 기관: Christie S

2019년 8월 9일

This class was an excellent (more advanced) exploration into the world of epigenetic gene expression. For someone who works in the genetics industry, this class came full circle for me and actually taught me the mechanisms that are related to some of the processes we complete on client samples.

This class is very content heavy, but it is all valuable and clearly articulated. The lectures are well organized and the quizzes are valuable in that they test your ability to understand the material, not just regurgitate information.

I highly recommend this course for anyone willing to put in the time to learn epigenetics on this molecular level.

교육 기관: Talha I

2019년 5월 16일

This course is wonderful: Quality of contents, level/depth and instructor's experience/way of teaching. I saw this course first time in 2016 and its couple of lectures were enough to give me a direction for my Masters thesis. This time, I wanted to complete it all the way and Alhamdulillah a dream came true: I have learnt a lot of things which I had no idea about (mere couple of months ago). In terms of quality and rarity of available material on this subject, I have no qualms about rating it as the Best Course ever on MOOC!

교육 기관: Camilo A G G

2020년 12월 1일

Excellent course. Very High cuality. I sugest the certification must be done with the equivalent of number of hours that needs to succesfully complete the course. The online courses should not be less than presencial courses, and some times, at the moment to present the curriculum, the number of hours is usefull to make the certification valid in our country. This is true spetially in a course of very high cuality like this one, in wich, we truly have to effort and study to pass the exams, and the whole course.

교육 기관: Mostafa E

2017년 8월 28일

it was one of the best course I ever take and I think will stay very special to me forever. I learned a lot of fascinating stuff from a great professor with a very interesting way of teaching really it was amazing her passion to teach the topic. I felt her love to the topic with the words and representation the professor done in this course I wish for her the best and to keep passion about the epigenetics as well as continue to add to our knowledge and teach us more and more

교육 기관: Felipe C D S B

2020년 11월 30일

The course was a game-changer in my life! Very well structured! Although exist vast content about epigenetics, the lectures contain a robust synthesis, with nicely didactics practices. The self-correcting exercises improve our results to oversee our difficulty when permitting a new realizing. The ultimate activity is much relevant cause promotes concise text and allows one to learn from a colleague's opinions.

교육 기관: Arturo M

2017년 8월 28일

An amazing course directed wonderfully by Dr. Marnie Blewitt. All the lessons have been new opportunities to discover that epigenetic characteristics in human being genome could answer all questions about ourselves that genetics solely by itself cannot. Thanks to Dr. Blewitt I have a strong tool to complement my biochemical background focused in signal transduction pathways in humans.

교육 기관: Dr L S N

2020년 5월 18일

Epigenetics was a very tough topic for me from the beginning. But Marnie has made it lucid and I understood the course very well. The display of materials and videos were of very good quality. The questions of the assessments were appropriate. I enjoyed the whole course. I would love to do future endevours with Marnie and Coursera. I would advocate it to my collegues also.

교육 기관: Miguel L E

2016년 7월 18일

Great introduction

It is a great introduction course to this fascinating field. Explanations are very clear (supposing you have previous knowledge about molecular biology) and provided further reading links are very good if you look for deeper knowledge. I strongly recommend this course to biologstudents who did not have the opportunity to go into detail about epigenetics.

교육 기관: Beatric S

2020년 11월 12일

An upcoming field .Amazing Professor. Excellent course work and well delivered. I learnt a lot. Congratulations to the Professor . Everything was very well laid out and i am extremely grateful to Coursera for providing me an opportunity by enrolling free for the course. Without this help i would not have been able to enroll. I thank the Professor and coursera immensely.

교육 기관: C. R

2016년 8월 21일

I highly recommend this course for anyone who wants to understand what epigenetics is all about, how the discoveries were made, and what are the open questions in the area.

I wanted to give a big shout out to Dr. Marnie Blewitt for her great teaching skills.

Her pace, and the amount of information and details provided are just perfect. Loved it from A to Z.

교육 기관: Emiel d J

2020년 5월 24일

It was a great course. I have waited a long time to do this course. But it did not disappoint. The lecturer was honest in what topic were controversial and not supported well. There was no over hyped argument in there that you so often see in topics surrounding epigenetics. This is a great course for anyone who wants to be well-informed on epigenetics.