Chevron Left
Experimental Methods in Systems Biology(으)로 돌아가기

마운트사이나이 아이칸 의과대학의 Experimental Methods in Systems Biology 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.5
별점
263개의 평가
44개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Learn about the technologies underlying experimentation used in systems biology, with particular focus on RNA sequencing, mass spec-based proteomics, flow/mass cytometry and live-cell imaging. A key driver of the systems biology field is the technology allowing us to delve deeper and wider into how cells respond to experimental perturbations. This in turns allows us to build more detailed quantitative models of cellular function, which can give important insight into applications ranging from biotechnology to human disease. This course gives a broad overview of a variety of current experimental techniques used in modern systems biology, with focus on obtaining the quantitative data needed for computational modeling purposes in downstream analyses. We dive deeply into four technologies in particular, mRNA sequencing, mass spectrometry-based proteomics, flow/mass cytometry, and live-cell imaging. These techniques are often used in systems biology and range from genome-wide coverage to single molecule coverage, millions of cells to single cells, and single time points to frequently sampled time courses. We present not only the theoretical background upon which these technologies work, but also enter real wet lab environments to provide instruction on how these techniques are performed in practice, and how resultant data are analyzed for quality and content....

최상위 리뷰

AH
2020년 11월 29일

Amazing course, only the final exam was rather an excercise in finding out out where the answers differ than trying to really understand what should be the ringht answer. I learnt a lot, thank you!

KK
2021년 6월 20일

The lab videos are great, thanks for teaching us. Not all university can afford those machines. If you have latest methods or anything please introduce more courses.

필터링 기준:

Experimental Methods in Systems Biology의 44개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: Paul G

2020년 3월 31일

Whilst a significant improvement on the dreadful first course in the specialisation, I found this course frustrating and poor in several key areas. Firstly, I am a Biomedical Informatician with several years hands-on experience and am looking to build up my skills in Systems Biology, and I hoped this specialisation would help with that. Based on the first two courses, it doesn't - at all.

Firstly, whilst the lecture videos are much better than in the first course, it really adds little to investigate lab procedures in such detail. An overview of how they work and a focus *on the data produced* and to how that are relevant to models based upon differential equations would have been excellent: this only happens in the final week! The instructor has never posted once in the discussion forums since the course began and there are issues reported with the quizzes which appear to not have been rectified - so the quality control is poor and I found for me personally, much of the material was irrelevant to my aims and objectives in taking the course.

Coursera really have missed an opportunity with this specialisation: the MIT Synthetic Biology course offered by edX is excellent, even though it requires a very high degree of background knowledge it doesn't shy away from the materials (it required too much Molecular Biology for me though it's an excellent course). "Experimental Methods in Systems Biology" *could* have been excellent - IF the material of the final week of lectures had been the majority of the coure. Very disappointing and, honestly, a waste of money in my honest opinion.

교육 기관: Felix E R P

2016년 6월 3일

Excellent course with a wealth of information about system biology technologies

교육 기관: Eduardo R M

2015년 12월 4일

Great course,

Recommended if you are interest in new technologies

교육 기관: Guolong M

2021년 1월 3일

3stars for the lab video, -1 for quizzes, -1 for the long lectures

This course has the best lab videos to offer. I have real experience for most of these techniques so I should be qualified to say that the course is extremely helpful to those who will touch on these stuffs. The concepts and the principles of techniques are covered comprehensively but could have been more concise; the lectures are generally too long. The major downside, as others have pointed out, is that the quizzes are not well-organized. There are too many confusing multiple choice problems; the tester clearly did not know the choice should be independent. I've passed this course with 100% grades (with a lot of attempts and trying) Some answers are clearly incorrect if you lookup the literature; the tester should consider some techniques would be improved overtime and therefore some limitation will be lifted, but this course will stay on coursera forever). Furthermore, some problems are not covered or not emphasized in the lectures.

교육 기관: Himanshu G

2019년 2월 21일

A good course for someone interested to work in the field of systems biology, and thanks to Icahn School of Medicine and Coursera for the same.

But the course could have been a bit more comprehensive with respect to cellular experiments and include coverage of experiments done outside the Mount Sinai lab as well, especially 'non-omic' experiments such as cell growth and viability assays or KD , KO or Over-Expression studies that can be really useful for building network models.

교육 기관: Joyce C M A

2019년 5월 12일

This course is definitely not for beginners and students must have previous lab experience (in my opinion). It is a great course to get your feet wet in new techniques that you have not performed yet.

교육 기관: Harshit K S

2020년 5월 4일

A really nice course which I believe served its purpose. Maybe a pdf version of experimental protocols followed in the lab videos can be added in the reading section of the lab-based video or in optional reading. This will help students who are interested in knowing the specific protocols for the technique.

교육 기관: Adam H

2020년 11월 29일

Amazing course, only the final exam was rather an excercise in finding out out where the answers differ than trying to really understand what should be the ringht answer. I learnt a lot, thank you!

교육 기관: julio c r m

2016년 8월 7일

This a great course it helps a lot to get to know state of the art techniques and how to use them properly although the assigment questions of selecting the statements are quite confusing.

교육 기관: Yuridia M

2020년 6월 8일

Excelente curso, en lo personal me dio más perspectivas para el trabajo con sistemas biológicos. Me gustaría que se profundizara más sobre el tema de redes metabólicas y análisis de datos.

교육 기관: Khine M K

2021년 6월 21일

T​he lab videos are great, thanks for teaching us. Not all university can afford those machines. If you have latest methods or anything please introduce more courses.

교육 기관: Esteban C

2020년 5월 8일

Un excelente curso que da un panorama muy útil de las herramientas comúnmente empleadas para experimentos enfocados a la biología de sistemas

교육 기관: Sheetal J

2019년 9월 22일

Loved this course. Prof. Birtwistle is really into teaching and liked the way he has organized this course. Thanks!

교육 기관: Luna Z

2021년 1월 9일

Very difficult, would help if instructor provides answer key or monitors the chat a bit more

교육 기관: Mark E S

2020년 9월 30일

Awesome delivery and exam questions are very practical....I enjoyed the 8weeks here

교육 기관: Vitória S B

2020년 7월 10일

I relly enjoy and learn so much with that course! I recommend :)

교육 기관: Cristina B

2020년 5월 24일

excellent overview of experimental methods in systems biology

교육 기관: Jiho C

2017년 3월 9일

Good lecture to know experimental method in lab

교육 기관: Amir B

2016년 1월 15일

excellent!!!!

tanks...

교육 기관: Yingchao M

2020년 4월 20일

A very good course.

교육 기관: Mac D G

2018년 1월 24일

it was so useful

교육 기관: Dominika B

2016년 9월 28일

Very useful. :)

교육 기관: farzaneh d d

2016년 9월 6일

its very good.

교육 기관: Nurşen Ç

2019년 6월 10일

ain't better!

교육 기관: Mrinal V

2016년 10월 22일

Loved it! :D