Chevron Left
Experimental Methods in Systems Biology(으)로 돌아가기

마운트사이나이 아이칸 의과대학의 Experimental Methods in Systems Biology 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.5
별점
287개의 평가
49개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Learn about the technologies underlying experimentation used in systems biology, with particular focus on RNA sequencing, mass spec-based proteomics, flow/mass cytometry and live-cell imaging. A key driver of the systems biology field is the technology allowing us to delve deeper and wider into how cells respond to experimental perturbations. This in turns allows us to build more detailed quantitative models of cellular function, which can give important insight into applications ranging from biotechnology to human disease. This course gives a broad overview of a variety of current experimental techniques used in modern systems biology, with focus on obtaining the quantitative data needed for computational modeling purposes in downstream analyses. We dive deeply into four technologies in particular, mRNA sequencing, mass spectrometry-based proteomics, flow/mass cytometry, and live-cell imaging. These techniques are often used in systems biology and range from genome-wide coverage to single molecule coverage, millions of cells to single cells, and single time points to frequently sampled time courses. We present not only the theoretical background upon which these technologies work, but also enter real wet lab environments to provide instruction on how these techniques are performed in practice, and how resultant data are analyzed for quality and content....

최상위 리뷰

AH

2020년 11월 29일

Amazing course, only the final exam was rather an excercise in finding out out where the answers differ than trying to really understand what should be the ringht answer. I learnt a lot, thank you!

KK

2021년 6월 20일

The lab videos are great, thanks for teaching us. Not all university can afford those machines. If you have latest methods or anything please introduce more courses.

필터링 기준:

Experimental Methods in Systems Biology의 49개 리뷰 중 26~49

교육 기관: Nurşen Ç

2019년 6월 10일

ain't better!

교육 기관: Mrinal V

2016년 10월 22일

Loved it! :D

교육 기관: Camila A F P

2019년 1월 28일

Excelente

교육 기관: Carmine H

2022년 7월 29일

I will likely come back to finish my specialization at another time. The course content itself was truly excellent. Very comprehensive and I especially appreciated "going into the lab" and seeing the experiments being performed real time. I also was glad for the case studies, the readings and being able to download course content. The only thing I was very unhappy with were the quizzes. Specifically: 1) many of the questions seemed to be written by grad students rather than the professor. They were both immature and overly complicated. 2) Some of the content in the quizzes was not related to the course content/at a level beyond what the course teaches. 3) There were typos, sometimes the author(s) forgot to remove their notes as to which were the correct answers, while conversely some of the language was overly and unnecessarily dense. This course shouldn't be about assessing someone's language ability or my ability to interpret what the writer was trying to communicate. I'm not talking about scientific language either. 4) The multiple selection questions are simply ineffective, especially since the feedback on them is all or none. It was very unclear which in the multiple select you selected right or wrong out of the 4 or 5, and therefore you didn't/couldn't learn anything from your mistakes. As a teacher myself I know that multiple choice questions are not great for assessing in-depth knowledge. But at least you can learn from your mistake(s). To summarize, the course was great, the quizzes are a frustrating mess. Thanks!

교육 기관: Liam B

2021년 3월 23일

The content in this course, namely the lectures from Professor Birtwistle and the recommended readings, are excellent. However, I think the assessments need some reconfiguring or at least better support for discussion forums/advice on how to approach them. Some quizzes contain very vague questions, typos, and overloads of information. I often found myself just trying to figure out what the question was truly asking. I do like the essay approach as it integrates knowledge well and makes for a challenging exam. It has been noted by several students in the discussion forums that Quiz 1 in particular has some questions that seem to have no correct answer (I spent time going through the permutations myself just out of interest). Overall, this course was a great overview of experimental techniques in systems biology for those willing to invest themselves in the literature in particular, but the assessment structure and implementation was lacking at times.

교육 기관: 李俊宏

2017년 12월 6일

The course is mainly focused on description of the technologies used in system biology. Mechanisms of these experiments may not be very clear which makes this course seems like an introduction to the experiments. Also the quizzes are too long with enormous words, sometimes it's like a game of finding differences. I hope the quizzes be more focused on principals and calculation, which will make it more clearer.

Finally, the teacher and all staff have made a lot of efforts to build this nice course! Thank you so much!

교육 기관: Mai L

2017년 9월 30일

The course provides up to date understanding of new technologies. The examples are carefully analyzed and explained. The course is very helpful for those who want to follow lab-based research. However, learners must be aware that the amount of knowledge you take in for each lesson is very large, you might need to watch the lesson over and over again to actually understand deeply.

교육 기관: Nguyen P K

2020년 8월 26일

Very nice and thorough course. Information is explained clearly in lectures but some parts like data analysis may require a longer period to understand and process for people without sufficient background. Lab-based ones are helpful. Quizzes and exams are pretty challenging. I found the case studies in exams really practical and interesting!

교육 기관: Pablo L

2018년 11월 21일

Really good course, even though the test were so unfair with the multiple choice questions. Why not to give any simple 0.2 or 0.25 if you get one answer out of 5? Why do I have to select all ofthem correctly if not I do not receive any point? Very unfair, 4 stars because of this. the rest of it is perfect even with lab based videos.

교육 기관: Mohamad K K

2016년 3월 4일

very good introduction but as i go through the videos and then do the quiz i feel like the material doesn't highlight exactly what is needed for the quiz. Maybe i'm not taking the video lecture as seriously as i should. Something else to reinforce the material cause it seems a bit condensed.

thanks for a wonderful course!

교육 기관: Erick C O

2016년 2월 7일

On the bright side, "Lab based" videos are excellent for visualize the techniques. Nevertheless "Choose all that apply" questions in the quizzes are very ambiguous, these questions should contain an explanation for prevent confusion at the end of every unit.

교육 기관: Thoreefa G

2022년 7월 28일

This was a very interesting course. I learned so much about the different techniques and methods. Also, you need to revise the lecture notes before taking the quizzes, because they can get tricky.

교육 기관: Georgy I

2016년 2월 21일

Thanks for overview of experimental methods and references to relevant articles!

"Complete the essay" quizzes looks like a joke

교육 기관: Samuel B

2016년 3월 6일

the lab was fasinating . i never seen those big machin in my life. THANKS!!!

교육 기관: Chinaza N

2020년 6월 5일

The audio quality for the laboratory sessions was somewhat poor.

교육 기관: KOUMENE T G I

2016년 3월 2일

HighTech!! Quite difficult for someone who not from the field .

교육 기관: mohammad a m

2020년 7월 17일

I learned very cool and interesting things!

교육 기관: Hazem H

2016년 2월 7일

it's interesting but it's quite difficult

교육 기관: Seema P

2018년 10월 2일

Way to go..enjoyed learning

교육 기관: ABDUL M H

2022년 6월 11일

Very uusefu

교육 기관: Weidong X

2016년 12월 3일

good.

교육 기관: Pooja P

2016년 8월 15일

The course was very interesting. It touched upon all currently employed techniques in good detail. The lab-based videos were the most interesting. However, the lectures were too long. It would be a brilliant course if the lectures were cut short and made to the point.

교육 기관: Rohaina T

2016년 9월 29일

The questions based on the lectures are quite different and confusing

교육 기관: Alison P

2018년 4월 16일

quiz 5 from week 6 does not work.