Chevron Left
Extinctions: Past, Present, & Future(으)로 돌아가기

에모리대학교의 Extinctions: Past, Present, & Future 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
79개의 평가
33개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course introduces you to the five mass extinctions of the pre-human past, their causes and significance to the history of life on earth, and the current mass extinction happening during our time. We’ll also explore the history of paleontology and geological study and review the key players that influenced the science today. Regardless of your familiarity with the topic, you'll get portable handouts, lively demonstrations, and quizzes that bridge and enhance your knowledge....

최상위 리뷰

RS
2020년 9월 28일

Great course for the non-professional student- keeps the subject matter discussions light and contemporary. Especially loved the idea of ecological proxy, which I had never heard before!

KB
2020년 7월 18일

The professor, plus the course syllabus, and the way in which they were both presented exceeded all my hopes and expectations for learning as a beginning geology student major.

필터링 기준:

Extinctions: Past, Present, & Future의 33개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: Richard E

2021년 11월 27일

I enjoyed the rich course material very much and Professor Martin gave highly interest-holding lectures. The technical references provided avenues for students to take deeper dives into the course material.

Two issues with the course: (a) The course is not monitored, making it difficult for students to ask questions for clarification or get technical help with the assignments and (b) Students must review each other's submitted final assignments even though we are certainly not qualified to do so - this should be done by the professor or a teaching assistant.

I​n hindsight after several months, I bumped the stars from 4 to 5.

교육 기관: Tracey W

2020년 7월 12일

An excellent course...one of the best I have taken on Coursera. Dr. Martin presents the information in a well organized, enjoyable manner. Even though the format is lecture style, Dr. Martin includes many images and even takes learners on "field trips." Assigned readings are interesting and fairly current. My only complaint was with the peer-graded assignment- some of us had difficulty navigating that process. That is a Coursera technical issue, I believe, and they are working to improve that aspect of the course.

교육 기관: Kate T

2020년 7월 29일

I enjoyed this course a lot. The lecturer, Anthony, has a great upbeat delivery style that isn't dry at all, which makes a refreshing change - I wish there were a few more lecturers like him when I went to uni! I also learnt a lot - and understanding the past really put into context what is happening now in regards to extinctions and climate change.

교육 기관: Ellen B

2020년 8월 4일

Excellent overview of pre-human extinctions and their relationship to the current human-initiated 6th extinction.

교육 기관: Michael S

2020년 9월 20일

This course has excellent content and is very well presented. The instructor is a talented teacher who adds wit and relevance to each lecture. I have taken other very good online classes in paleontology, earth science and related subjects. 'Extinctions' rates among the best for clarity and focus on the key thematic points. I gained a good working knowledge of the Big Five mass extinctions and how they may inform needed mitigation and adaptation in the future. The innovative integration of lectures and reading material is a feature of this course that makes it especially effective for distance learning. The articles and papers are sequenced with the lectures to provide very relevant insight and detail that supports each lecture. The combination enhanced my understanding and retention. I also appreciated the answering the short, four question, peer-graded, essay at the end of Week 5. It summarized some of the key teaching points and enhanced learning. Overall, this is a high quality and fun online learning experience. Highly recommended!

교육 기관: Vidya S

2020년 9월 20일

An excellent course... The lecturer, Anthony, has a great upbeat delivery style that isn't dry at all, which makes a refreshing change. Excellent overview of pre-human extinctions and their relationship to the current human-initiated 6th extinction.

교육 기관: Ramesh S

2020년 9월 29일

Great course for the non-professional student- keeps the subject matter discussions light and contemporary. Especially loved the idea of ecological proxy, which I had never heard before!

교육 기관: Kim D B

2020년 7월 19일

The professor, plus the course syllabus, and the way in which they were both presented exceeded all my hopes and expectations for learning as a beginning geology student major.

교육 기관: Megan K

2020년 10월 6일

An absolutely amazing course with an enthusiastic, engaging professor. I would give more stars if I could! I learned so much and was constantly excited for the next lesson.

교육 기관: Deiby W M H

2020년 11월 14일

es un curso muy completo, me gustaría que estuviera en varios idiomas para que mas gente pudiera acceder de manera mas fácil

교육 기관: María F M V

2020년 8월 26일

The course is fantastic! It's very fun, dynamic and interesting. The professor is very good at explaning each topic.

교육 기관: Guy L

2020년 10월 28일

Dr. Martin made this highly informative class a joy to watch. :0)

교육 기관: Akshaya M

2020년 9월 11일

very interesting course and i enjoyed learning new topics

교육 기관: Abdullah G

2020년 6월 23일

Excellent course

교육 기관: João P S

2020년 8월 24일

Excellent

교육 기관: MONEN S V T C

2020년 8월 7일

lkjhgjhjb

교육 기관: John G

2021년 1월 2일

I would have preferred less camera focus on the lecturer and more use of illustrations, charts, etc. It was a little boring just watching the lecturer talk.

교육 기관: Rio A P

2020년 11월 23일

One of the, if not the best course I've had the pleasure of taking so far here on Coursera. Amazing content and content organization, and Professor Martin is not only an engaging lecturer, but a hilarious speaker too! What would personally make this the /PERFECT/ course would be the inclusion of downloadable course notes, similar to those in University of Alberta's MOOCs. Hope more people would get to experience this really remarkable course!

교육 기관: Shiena M B B

2021년 8월 19일

Thank you for approving my financial aid for this course Extinctions:Past,Present,and Future.I learnt a lot from this course.All the topics are well explained and the flow of each lessons are organized.I am interested in dinosaurs and fossils and this course really caught my attention.Again,thank you for this wonderful and knowledgeable discussion.

교육 기관: Christine H

2021년 9월 27일

G​reat course, never boring. The lecturer is very engaging. The lectures are very fun to watch. I learned a lot and enjoyed the diverse reading materials.

F​or the assignment I would suggest to allow for half points (instead of just 0 or 1), in case that some of the issues are addressed, but not all of them.

교육 기관: Maureen B

2021년 4월 19일

Fantastic course. Informative, fun - made me wish the course was longer. I didn't love the peer-reviewed aspect of the assignment, but did enjoy getting to actually write an assignment instead of just doing quizzes. I selfishly hope the instructor will offer more courses on Coursera.

교육 기관: Steven G D

2020년 12월 13일

Excellent lecturer and selection of articles. Lecturer was very engaging and clearly is very passionate about the subject of this course.

교육 기관: ANYHE L B O

2020년 11월 29일

Amé este curso, muy interesante y completo!

교육 기관: Jens K T

2020년 12월 3일

Great course with a very inspiring host.

교육 기관: Lennart W

2021년 1월 15일

Very insightful and super cool teacher.