Chevron Left
Feeding the World(으)로 돌아가기

펜실베이니아 대학교의 Feeding the World 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
별점
143개의 평가
34개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course will explore the concepts driving current food production science (population growth, urbanization, emerging affluence, resource constraints, and underlying biological limits) with the main focus on livestock production. Each of the major food animal species (dairy, swine, beef, and poultry) will be covered in terms of their universal life cycles, constraints to production and emerging societal issues. Throughout the course, we will tackle some difficult and important questions: What are the major health benefits and potential concerns regarding the production and consumption of animal products? How does animal production affect the efficient use of resources and impact our environment? Can cost of production be reduced to meet growing demand for animal products around the globe while maintaining health and safety for both animals and consumers? What are the different types of animal food production systems? Myths and misconceptions surrounding the animal food systems will be discussed. We’ll also look closely at some of the global issues, problems, and challenges in these food systems which scientists, farmers, and veterinarians, are attempting to solve through collaboration. Lectures will be delivered by several experts from the University of Pennsylvania, School of Veterinary Medicine who are intimately involved in the study and advancement of animal production systems. The course is geared towards learners who seek a greater understanding of animal food systems as well as those who might have never visited an animal farm, but have a desire to learn more about where some of our food comes from and issues surrounding sustainability....

최상위 리뷰

MN
2020년 2월 24일

Excellent content covering the broad scope of U.S. and international livestock-based agriculture. This course addressed the many concerns that consumers have regarding animal products.

AA
2019년 3월 10일

Coursera indeed has changed my life and empowered me the right skills for a better tomorrow .\n\ni am gratefully appreciate you , for all you have done to bless us

필터링 기준:

Feeding the World의 33개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: Dean P

2018년 9월 26일

It's a great course if you want to learn how is the current agriulture system. It definetely doesn't adress how to feed the world. The world doesn't need more meat. We need more education on what to eat. A plant based diet would seem the only way, with once or twice per week meat consumption MAXIMUM. So we need less meat and better life quality for animals. Also, we don't need dairy. Why the f*ck do adult homo sapiens need to drink cow's milk? that's rediculous. The only way to feed the world (and not cause them heart attacks) is to figure out how to increase edible plant production and there are ways to do this that can work. WE NEED A SHIFT IN OUR MENTALITY. LESS MEAT, NO DAIRY AND MORE PLANTS.

교육 기관: Claude A

2019년 1월 2일

Title is somewhat misleading. The course is primarily about the commodity beef industry.

교육 기관: Mohammed H M A

2020년 4월 30일

I had a great time studying my wonderful course, which gave me information about feeding the world. I was missing it, and I hope that you will add a course in commercial poultry production for broiler, layer and breeder with focused on nutrition and diets balanced Formulation.

교육 기관: Claudia d P M M

2020년 1월 20일

I´m really thankful about this course because as a Veterinarian, it gave me the key points about production systems in a global context and had reforced to me the idea to get involved in a work referent to animal production. All the topics were meaningful to me and I think they are very necessaire to understand the principles of food production. The topic about water caused a change in my thoughts about scarcity because I had a different idea about it and now I know i´t not a real shortage but a bad handling of the resource. As a consumer I really hate to waste food or throw it up if it's still being able to eat it and this course had reforced that concept in me, and I will apply it to my family in order to give them awareness about food.

교육 기관: OYEWUSI, F A

2020년 5월 28일

Topic somehow misleading but later got the message. Excellent and inspiring tutors, beautiful and simplify course contents and has added a greater value to my humble self in the field of livestock production. One of the best online courses. Thanks for the privilege.

교육 기관: Neha b

2020년 4월 21일

It was a pleasure going through the the course. Garnering so much knowledge surged my confidence. The course has opened another career option that would be promising to pursue. Thank you Feeding the World team.

교육 기관: Matthew G N

2020년 2월 25일

Excellent content covering the broad scope of U.S. and international livestock-based agriculture. This course addressed the many concerns that consumers have regarding animal products.

교육 기관: Sylvie B

2020년 7월 25일

Such a wide diversity of topics presented by a wide diversity of teachers. Right level of information, quantitative and qualitative, for an introductory course.

교육 기관: Abdirahim A A

2019년 3월 11일

Coursera indeed has changed my life and empowered me the right skills for a better tomorrow .

i am gratefully appreciate you , for all you have done to bless us

교육 기관: Yunus K

2019년 3월 5일

Fantastic Course! I was so pleased to participate in a course on Feeding the World and to learn it's reality. Thanks to all who put this course on.

교육 기관: Paola G

2018년 1월 4일

very interesting, with a lot of clear explanation. I have really appreciated the pdf of slides for every lesson

교육 기관: Laura C

2020년 7월 20일

VERY easy to understand, well paced, and has a wonderful array of educators with relevant credentials.

교육 기관: MUHAMMAD A B

2020년 1월 16일

It provide a lot of information about feeding the world like food safety, food security and much more.

교육 기관: Deleted A

2020년 4월 22일

It was great time doing this courses.But it would be helpful if I could get this certificate free

교육 기관: JOHN Q

2017년 7월 28일

exceptionally interesting course, with a lot I personally found vital to know. thanks so much!

교육 기관: Pauline

2020년 9월 20일

This is a relevant course even for animal health practitioners.

교육 기관: rachel v

2020년 5월 12일

I loved this class! I learned so much and it taught so well

교육 기관: Edip A

2018년 1월 7일

Excellent course, excellent teacher. Thanks very much.

교육 기관: Guruparan

2020년 7월 30일

Just for the last four weeks, I would rate 5 stars.

교육 기관: Daniela A V

2020년 4월 25일

me encantó, un curso demasiado enriquecedor.

교육 기관: Jose A Z P

2020년 2월 2일

It is really good, you will learn a lot

교육 기관: 赵博威

2020년 3월 17일

I love this lesson ,fantastic class!!

교육 기관: Alyshia M N

2019년 1월 18일

SOOOOOOO INFORMATIVE AND AMAZING!!!!

교육 기관: LEONIL S D

2018년 11월 25일

Muito bom, recomendo.

교육 기관: Marijse J S

2020년 6월 9일

Great course!