Chevron Left
Introduction to CSS3(으)로 돌아가기

미시건 대학교의 Introduction to CSS3 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
4,145개의 평가
822개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

The web today is almost unrecognizable from the early days of white pages with lists of blue links. Now, sites are designed with complex layouts, unique fonts, and customized color schemes. This course will show you the basics of Cascading Style Sheets (CSS3). The emphasis will be on learning how to write CSS rules, how to test code, and how to establish good programming habits. When done correctly, the styling of a webpage can take enhance your page. When done incorrectly the result can be worse than no styling at all. To ensure that your sites do not put up barriers for people with cognitive and/or physical disabilities, you will learn how to evaluate pages using the standardized POUR accessibility guidelines. Upon completion of the course, learners will be able to sketch a design for a given HTML page. Using that design they will use CSS to implement the design by adding fonts, colors, and layouts. This is the second course in the Web Design For Everybody specialization. Subsequent courses focus on adding interaction with JavaScript and enhancing the styling with responsive design. It will be difficult to complete this course if you do not have access to a laptop or desktop computer for the homework....

최상위 리뷰

AF

Dec 26, 2015

Excellent course! Well paced and the course really builds skills in using CSS3! Highly recommend this course to anyone looking to get a good grounding in CSS or who wants to go over the basics again.

PA

Aug 20, 2018

The lecturer is a marvellous person. She makes the course very engaging. It takes you through most of the challenges I shall encounter as I progress in the field. I shall continue to study with her.

필터링 기준:

Introduction to CSS3의 801개 리뷰 중 776~800

교육 기관: Marcello V J d S

Sep 12, 2017

Very good.

교육 기관: MODI M S

Mar 26, 2017

It was very useful to me at the same time it is a good opportunity to all for use this valuable course....

교육 기관: Axel R

Mar 31, 2019

It took far too long to get Peer-graded

교육 기관: Derek L

Aug 26, 2018

Very introductory and much of the content does not actually help with learning. More condensed content would be better but I am also not the intended audience for this course since I have previous programming experience.

교육 기관: Cristian S R

Dec 05, 2015

Very well explained. I think the professor is very good. But I expected to dive a little more in some details.

교육 기관: Amit K K

Jan 11, 2016

good basics

교육 기관: Daniil T

Aug 15, 2016

Too long for learning so little. I have learned more while reading a book for 3 hours, than with this course for 4 weeks. But anyway, it was helpful, because the more tasks you complete, the better you get.

교육 기관: Diane K

Dec 01, 2015

Good overview, but very detailed and definitely not for beginners - especially due to a lack of personal attention. I have had to supplement a lot of the material I missed through other resources. Still, a fairly good overview of CSS3 for those who already have a little understanding.

교육 기관: Amy E

Jun 22, 2016

This course is a good start if you already have a little experience with CSS. As a neophyte, I found that there was too much material for the amount of presentation time. I needed many more examples and exercises. I felt dejected each time the instructor said not to worry about getting it right and just experiment -- that's easy to say if you aren't being graded. The fact is that the material is extensive and often complicated, and it's imperative for me, as a student, to be correct as fast as possible. The result is that my grade (A) does not reflect my comprehension of the material. I managed to commit the material presented to short term memory so that I could pass the course, but as always happens when someone crams, the information is gone from my head.

교육 기관: Neeshu S

Jan 29, 2016

Missing key examples and explanation of so many terms a good try though I appreciate their effort to provide free knowledge.

교육 기관: Deleted A

Sep 02, 2016

This is a very helpful course

교육 기관: Rahul G

Aug 12, 2016

Its a good course but I expect more..

교육 기관: Xiaoxuan W

Jan 28, 2018

The instructor talks too much. If she talks less and make the video shorter that would be nice.

교육 기관: Deleted A

Nov 04, 2017

continue aneducation through coursera is very good

교육 기관: Khaled A A

Nov 26, 2016

Contain could been more in depth.

교육 기관: Martin K

Aug 11, 2016

Too vague on topics

교육 기관: David D

Dec 09, 2015

Course was great. I wish there was more coding and more examples as well as the videos showing more examples rather then slides with text of the properties.

교육 기관: Lelania C G

Mar 20, 2019

This is not a self paced course. The material is presented in a confusing way, some of it's outdated as far back as 2013, there are many typos, some of the questions on the quizzes are hard to decipher and in at least one instance, the answer page didn't even match the question (week 2, #6). I posted a question on the forum, no one answered and there's no way to contact the instructor directly. This has been the most frustrating learning experience I've ever had.

교육 기관: Charles L M

Nov 13, 2015

While I love Dr. van Lent's teaching style, I was somewhat disappointed in the course as a whole. After about the first week the instructor was not heard from again on the forums. It wasn't until about the last week that some official teaching staff started to make an appearance.

This was an issue as, especially in the first week, as there was a good deal of discrepancy between what was on the grading rubric, what was provided in description for the homework, and what was in an optional video that described the homework. All with no official direction as to what was correct, or how things should be properly graded. The students were just left to themselves to try and interpret what the instructor meant, and what was the proper thing to do in regards to the peer grading. This continued, albeit to a far lesser extent, through the remainder of the course.

While I don't expect instructors to be in the forums all that often, I do expect them to clear up obvious issues, and to make some type of official statement as to how students should proceed. I believe this was the first offering of this course, and I hope as it offered again those discrepancies are fixed, and perhaps more official teaching staff are able to monitor the forums.

As far as the material itself, it is pretty good, and covers most of the basics well. As I said at the start, I really love Dr. van Lent's teaching style. She is very encouraging, and easy to understand. She is also very human, making mistakes as she goes along, and correcting them. I feel this gives the student a good experience of the real world iterative process that coding is, that even with experience mistakes are still made, and to be expected, and how to go about doing some debugging to correct those mistakes.

교육 기관: Madhu R

Sep 23, 2017

The peer graded assignments didn't prove to be quite productive.

교육 기관: Michael S

Feb 28, 2017

The final assignment is peer graded, which means you'll have to deal with idiots grading your final assignment.

교육 기관: Max

Jun 23, 2016

Poor.

Course crammed with unnecessary details (loads of CSS "decoration" properties that one may test on it's own), without focusing on CSS fundamentals, such as page layout strategies, float-based layouts, element positioning which, in my view, are discussed only very superficially.

I'll forget 90% of discussed "decoration" properties in a few days but when I think of CSS paradigms - a structure that can be later filled with easily forgotten/easily retrieved "decoration" properties - that I'll take with me "for ever" out from this course.... sounds empty. The extra star goes for stressing the importance of accessibility.

To sum up: decoration largely outweighs structure.

교육 기관: Rose L

Mar 02, 2016

This has to be the poorest educational experience Ive ever had. Virtually nothing is explained. The instructor says time & time again that she's not going to bother to explain in detail and that we should go out & explore all these free resources if we want to learn. SO WHY DID I PAY FOR THIS CLASS? Honestly, save your money. This is nothing but a rip-off and I am shocked that an institution like U of M would allow such a sloppy, lazy product to be out there under its brand.

To make matters worse, we are instructed time & time again to go out onto the discussion board and ask for help when she doesn't want to bother explaining a concept.

1. Everyone else taking this class is confused too - how could they possibly be of any help to me?

2. The staff who comes onto the boards are just about as rude & unhelpful as any I've ever seen. They literally say "well, did you WATCH the lecture?" Ummm- yes I did & it directed me to come here for help.

I feel duped. This is a scam and I can only say I am sorry I paid my money for this. If you really want to learn CSS, get yourself a good book on the subject and/or utilize the free material out on the internet. This will absolutely waste hours of your time and way too much of your money for what they are providing.

교육 기관: Ana S A F

Mar 05, 2017

You know when u see a bunch of good reviews of a restaurant and then go there and the food is terrible, the place is awful and the waiters are the worst?

Well, same here:

. class structure is messy

. communication skills are poor.

. i know this is not a design course but the examples shown in html are so bad u think u are watching a course from 2002.

. the teacher says "frustrating" some many times, and uses so much negative word towards coding and html... maybe she hopes not desencoraje students by empathy but end up doing the exact opposite.

i would not recommend this course, not to newbies, not to oldies, not to anyone searching to have a good learning experience.

Finishing this course was painfull and i only did it because i promised myself not to abandond it.

교육 기관: Yumei L

Jun 06, 2019

Unless you are really desperate to take a course on CSS, take one elsewhere. A course on CSS, which should be totally hands-on, is spent mostly on talking--with the instructor describing what the effects are going to be. Why can't we see the code in action?

There are multiple errors in the course, including typos and downright wrong information (such as confusing "active" with "hover"), which have not been corrected, even though students have pointed them out as far back as 9 months ago as of writing.

If you are here because you thought Dr. Chuck has a role in the course, forget it. It's the equivalent of a click bait commercial.