Chevron Left
Introduction to Statistics & Data Analysis in Public Health(으)로 돌아가기

임페리얼 칼리지 런던의 Introduction to Statistics & Data Analysis in Public Health 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
별점
707개의 평가
151개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Welcome to Introduction to Statistics & Data Analysis in Public Health! This course will teach you the core building blocks of statistical analysis - types of variables, common distributions, hypothesis testing - but, more than that, it will enable you to take a data set you've never seen before, describe its keys features, get to know its strengths and quirks, run some vital basic analyses and then formulate and test hypotheses based on means and proportions. You'll then have a solid grounding to move on to more sophisticated analysis and take the other courses in the series. You'll learn the popular, flexible and completely free software R, used by statistics and machine learning practitioners everywhere. It's hands-on, so you'll first learn about how to phrase a testable hypothesis via examples of medical research as reported by the media. Then you'll work through a data set on fruit and vegetable eating habits: data that are realistically messy, because that's what public health data sets are like in reality. There will be mini-quizzes with feedback along the way to check your understanding. The course will sharpen your ability to think critically and not take things for granted: in this age of uncontrolled algorithms and fake news, these skills are more important than ever. Prerequisites Some formulae are given to aid understanding, but this is not one of those courses where you need a mathematics degree to follow it. You will need only basic numeracy (for example, we will not use calculus) and familiarity with graphical and tabular ways of presenting results. No knowledge of R or programming is assumed....

최상위 리뷰

LA

May 26, 2019

Was a very nicely done and clear course to build or re-build foundation for most common statistical concepts and an intro to using R via R-Studio for your work with them on the basics.

SK

Oct 12, 2019

This is the best course among all I've taken..\n\nThe instructor has presented the content precisely.\n\nI highly recommend to those who are looking to explore R in the field of health

필터링 기준:

Introduction to Statistics & Data Analysis in Public Health의 150개 리뷰 중 26~50

교육 기관: CHRISTOS D

Feb 28, 2019

more time needed to reiew R

교육 기관: Jiracha J

Aug 03, 2019

good, but hard sometimes

교육 기관: Mennatalla N S

Apr 11, 2020

The formulae did not work on my laptop and could not solve this problem and could not contact the instructors. The instructor way of illustration is simple and nice so I would prefer more videos than the too much readings in the last week .

교육 기관: Anthony B

Sep 22, 2020

Until 2016, I was building Financial and Accounting Models for MBA Programmes. That I was teaching as an MBA Dissertations Supervisor, and Senior University Business School Lecturer (Professor). I am now working Part Time for the NHS, and I am aiming to specialise as a Senior Data Scientist with the NHS. This is Specialisation, is one of several first class steps that one can take towards such an aim.

교육 기관: Brenda Y

Jun 30, 2020

I was so apprehensive about starting this course because I associated R with programming (that I very much dislike) but it has been very fascinating and I've learned so many useful things like creating histograms and doing hypothesis testing in R! It's certainly not as scary/difficult as I thought, and I'm looking foward to the next few courses!

교육 기관: Saba A

Aug 09, 2020

This course is well designed for beginners. Everyone who wanted to learn the basics of sampling, statistical analysis (mean, mode, proportion, p-value, degree of freedom and many more) must take this course. Especially if anyone wanted to learn R and do not have a background of statistics then this is the best course.

교육 기관: Brittany R

Jun 19, 2020

This was an excellent course! I have a MPH degree and I took this course as a refresher on statistical concepts but also to begin learning R. The professor was great and the examples really started to reinforce concepts within R. Overall, I found this course to be very informative and useful for my day to day work.

교육 기관: Dr K K

Jul 12, 2020

Good session, clear content, good flow, excellent assignments and practice sessions

Only in one place, tables of assignment for chi square test, total mistake was there. In one quiz, mean value of 11 and 14 samples were not accepted as correct. The reason behind this is not explained. As a whole, excellent course.

교육 기관: sakshi n

Aug 12, 2020

I wasn't confident of myself in using R. It always seemed to me that IT professional are better equipped to learn it. By confidence has increased to a great extent and I am happy to say that I will be completing this specialization by Imperial College London.

Thanks Coursera and Imperial College Team :)

교육 기관: Michael O O

Jun 28, 2020

If you want to really understand statistics for data analysis, this course is a great idea. The professor, Dr. Bottle actually did a great job on the contents of this course. I had a statistical background, and this course helps me to understand some concepts that I didn't understand before.

교육 기관: Gianni B

Jul 11, 2020

This introductory statistics course is far better than the similar one I took with Johns Hopkins University because there are fewer recorded lectures and more work involving reading. it is also broken down into smaller "chunks" and Alex Bottle is very engaging in his lectures.

교육 기관: Tarif T K

May 17, 2020

Excellent course! I must say that I have genuinely learned a lot about medical research using statistical tools from this course. And there were many concepts of statistics that that weren't clear to me. This course helped me understand those concepts as well.

교육 기관: Oranicha J

Jun 17, 2020

Great introduction to R and statistics related to public health research. I recommend doing the readings and practice problem as well. I was a bit confused in the beginning but I supplement this lesson with other introduction to R classes online

교육 기관: Max S

Jun 01, 2020

Really good course covering statistics. I've covered this topic before in other courses, and I was impressed at how the instruction and quizzes cover the material in a clear and nuanced way. This course is introductory but not basic.

교육 기관: Sarah A

Aug 29, 2020

a brilliant introductory course to concepts in statistics as well as using R for statistical analysis. thoroughly enjoyed the engaging nature of the facilitator and numerous practice exercises, real-life examples and readings

교육 기관: Thiago V

May 08, 2020

Perfeita introdução para uma área de estudos tão importante e relevante na atualidade, quero continuar minha formação nessa área, pois este curso me mostrou que estou no caminho certo! Obrigado professor Alex Bottle!

교육 기관: Rebecca E

Aug 14, 2020

Excellent course with really good teaching. Felt like it developed a good grounding in the basic topics. Would recommend having a little R experience prior to taking this course.

교육 기관: Rupok C

Jun 10, 2020

Excellent introductory course on statistics and its facts. It helps to assess several testings based on different data types and interpreting values using R programming.

교육 기관: M T H P

Jul 17, 2020

I liked the way the whole course has been designed. I never felt stressed up. It was all fun. The speaker was excellent in blending real life example with statistics.

교육 기관: Mikalai Y

Apr 19, 2020

Great introduction towards statistics in public health, with nice addition of R programming language. The material is meticulously explained and easy to understand.

교육 기관: David G Á

May 05, 2020

Very good for an initial introduction to the topic. I think it is not a good stand alone course, it is ment to introduce to the next courses in the specialization.

교육 기관: Hector P

Sep 06, 2020

This course is great. I like how it is structured and the feedback after activities. Combines theory and practices in an efficient way. Congratulations.

교육 기관: Cliff W

May 28, 2020

Fantastic. Just what I needed as a doctor wanting to learn more about statistics. R is an amazing alternative to other programs such as STATA and SPSS.

교육 기관: Mayur N

Apr 08, 2019

Wonderful explanation and introduction to R programing. With minimal additional self learning you can easily master all of the content of the course.

교육 기관: Chandu P L

May 20, 2020

Loved the instructor. Everything was rightly pointed out. And lastly for me he looks like Thomas Shelby from British series Peaky Blinders. Haha.