Chevron Left
Philosophy, Science and Religion: Philosophy and Religion(으)로 돌아가기

에든버러대학교의 Philosophy, Science and Religion: Philosophy and Religion 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
별점
395개의 평가
97개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Philosophy, Science and Religion mark three of the most fundamental modes of thinking about the world and our place in it. Are these modes incompatible? Put another way: is the intellectually responsible thing to do to ‘pick sides’ and identify with one of these approaches at the exclusion of others? Or, are they complementary or mutually supportive? As is typical of questions of such magnitude, the devil is in the details. For example, it is important to work out what is really distinctive about each of these ways of inquiring about the world. In order to gain some clarity here, we’ll be investigating what some of the current leading thinkers in philosophy, science and religion are actually doing. This course, entitled ‘Philosophy and Religion’, is the second of three related courses in our Philosophy, Science and Religion Online series, and in this course we will ask important questions about the age-old debate between science and religion, such as: • What kind of conflicts are there between religion and science? • Does current cognitive science of religion effectively explain away God? • If there is a God who has made us so that we can know him, why do some people not believe? • Is belief in science also a kind of fundamentalism? • What makes us good at getting, giving, or sharing, knowledge? Is this different when it is religious knowledge? The first course in the Philosophy, Science and Religion series, 'Science and Philosophy' was launched early in 2017 and you can sign up to it at any time. The third course —‘Religion and Science’—will be launched early in 2018. Completing all three courses will give you a broader understanding of this fascinating topic. Look for: • Philosophy, Science and Religion I: Science and Philosophy https://www.coursera.org/learn/philosophy-science-religion-1/ • Philosophy, Science and Religion III: Religion and Science Upon successful completion of all three courses, students will: (1) Understand the main parameters at stake in the current debate between science and religion. (2) Have some familiarity with the relevant areas of science that feature in the debate—including cosmology, evolution, and the neurosciences—and will have begun to engage with them conceptually. (3) Have encountered key philosophical approaches to the interface between science and religion, and will have had the opportunity to engage them in practice. (4) Have embarked constructively in cross-disciplinary conversations. (5) Have demonstrated an openness to personal growth through a commitment to dialogue across intellectual and spiritual boundaries. You can also follow us on Twitter at https://twitter.com/EdiPhilOnline and you can follow the hashtag #psrmooc...

최상위 리뷰

B
2020년 5월 29일

The course was really beneficial especially for people who want to know deeper information about the truth of the begging, the main argue and how people are different in thinking.

AM
2021년 2월 3일

Crate course, aimed at a relatively basic level but a very good overview of the topic and very enjoyable. Recommend a course to anyone relatively new to philosophy. Thank you.

필터링 기준:

Philosophy, Science and Religion: Philosophy and Religion의 98개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: Jared E

2018년 6월 1일

Honestly, it was pretty lackluster. An entire module (the one on the hiddenness argument) was absolutely irrelevant, but pretended to be otherwise. This course is mostly philosophers who lack experience with religion discussing religion. The focus on Scientism would also be better placed in the Science and Religion course.

교육 기관: Aman S

2017년 11월 15일

Very informative and Well designed course to dive into the field of Philosophy, Science and Religion.

교육 기관: Fogan A

2019년 3월 9일

I like the course. it helps me understand many things! thanks

교육 기관: scalesr4

2017년 9월 25일

I love this subject matter, I just wish the tests where a wee bit tougher. I think these courses should be mandatory at least in high school and especially college. Thank you to the staff for putting together a fun class. Maybe next time make the course 18 weeks similar to a real university course, I would love that.

교육 기관: Kim

2020년 8월 31일

The course includes a wide range of topics that are well explained. I don't understand the concept of the course, how the different topics were selected or how they were assigned to the three parts of this course. It seems quite random and unstructured to me.

교육 기관: A K

2018년 12월 26일

I thoroughly enjoyed the three part course on "Philosophy, Science and Religion" by the University of Edinburgh. A BIG THANK YOU to those who put these courses together.

Philosophy is the ultimate mother of all knowledge, and irrespective of one's specific subject interest and expertise, makes one even more interested and deeper, by making the thinking and ideas fundamentally clearer. In this series, the designers wonderfully weaved the relationship between the three apparently diverse disciplines in a cohesive narrative, making ones understanding richer! THANK YOU!

I Look forward to other courses from you all!

교육 기관: Eugen M

2018년 1월 26일

As a sort of Coursera veteran, I have to say that this is the course to attend if you want to master, or, at least, understand more, complex and complicated issues of philosophy, science, and religion.

교육 기관: Christopher W

2018년 6월 10일

This was a first class course in all respects. The calibre of the lecturers was very high indeed and they all made the material very accessible.

교육 기관: Nicholas P

2019년 2월 19일

Really interesting and well put together course.

교육 기관: René D N A

2019년 2월 12일

buenísimo

교육 기관: BILAL S

2019년 2월 10일

awasome

교육 기관: John L M

2020년 5월 3일

This was by far the most difficult of the three-course series for me, and it may be that philosophy for me is the most challenging of the three fields. I liked Prof Ritchie's approach--the brain sciences were made accessible. However, whomever wrote one of the quizzes after Prof Greco's lecture needs to go back to school. I parsed one of the questions repeatedly, went back over and over to the lecture transcript, and I could make neither heads nor tails of what it was getting at regarding the correct response. Still, it made me more cognizant, despite the subtitle, of how science enriches the pursuit of wisdom in the other two realms. The variety of speakers and topics weekly keeps one enlivened and the supplemental readings and videos are welcome as resources for further discovery and learning.

교육 기관: Daniel D

2020년 7월 21일

This was my first experience studying philosophy. I found some of the material difficult to understand, both the concepts and reasons for them. But the lectures and reading materials made it possible to achieve new understandings. The course was very helpful in sorting out the value and likelihood of the many things I hear and read in connection with scientific and religious points-of-view. The course includes several readings you can download and save. The optional textbook is a good value for students who are new to philosophy.

교육 기관: Christina B

2021년 1월 4일

It was such a constructive experience to attend these courses. The course's content was really interesting and it filled me with so many thoughts. I wouldn't expect that an online class would be so efficient, even for someone like me with difficulty in fully understanding the english language. I really want to thank you both the Coursera team and the University of Edinburgh. All the professors gave us really valuable educational material!

교육 기관: Gerard H

2020년 9월 29일

It stretched my understanding and thinking. I could only invest myself when I had plenty of time. At times I needed to listen more than once and then read the notes, but that is because it was a new direction and new course for me. Thanks, you also helped me appreciate religious thought and place now and in the future. I would say, if you are thinking about the course, go for it.

Gerard Howell

교육 기관: Pablo G A

2018년 6월 21일

I find this course very interesting and well structured. I reckon that these three courses about Philosophy, Science and Religion conform a very complete approach to the topic. I would recommend these three courses to anyone interested in our role as human-beings in the existence. I feel very grateful to the instructors of the courses and Coursera's platform.

교육 기관: Sidney C

2017년 9월 13일

As a Theist I think that the class was very evenly presented with methods of being a skeptic and asking relevant questions of our own thinking as well as the thinking of others. I suggested in the forum to be an open minded skeptic and not a closed minded skeptic, that applies to both the

교육 기관: Rhiannon P

2020년 4월 1일

Really useful extension ideas to elevate my A Level essays (I study Philosophy Ethics& Religion.) Having a MOOC has made me consider Edinburgh as clearly they are working to level the playing field for state school kids to get into Philosophy too. I will definitely apply next year.

교육 기관: Joy S

2018년 2월 22일

kind of liked the format. Only a few questions at a time: not too much gets thrown at a person on a quiz. The instructors seemed also to impart info so that I could understand, as demonstrated by an immediate short quiz. It's interesting stuff.

교육 기관: Elissavet M

2021년 1월 3일

A beautiful journey of contemporary philosophy. It gave me lots to think about and helped me understand, even to some degree, some questions I had about people's need for religion. All in all, a very interesting course!

교육 기관: Dana S

2019년 8월 5일

The course I loved it so much. Easy to acces, to understand and to follow what teachers says. I am so happy that I improved my knowledges through Coursera course. Thank you very much for your effort to help us.

교육 기관: Марат Б

2021년 7월 19일

Hello everyone!!! Thanks for the great course! As an evangelical Christian, it was very interesting. Something to think about. The course is systematic, clear and high quality!

교육 기관: Batool M

2020년 5월 30일

The course was really beneficial especially for people who want to know deeper information about the truth of the begging, the main argue and how people are different in thinking.

교육 기관: Angus M

2021년 2월 4일

Crate course, aimed at a relatively basic level but a very good overview of the topic and very enjoyable. Recommend a course to anyone relatively new to philosophy. Thank you.

교육 기관: MUHAMMAD I B A H

2020년 4월 29일

It is a good course that provide a basic understanding for inter-relation between religion and philosophy as both of the believe systems have existed since hundred years ago