Chevron Left
Principles of Computing (Part 1)(으)로 돌아가기

라이스 대학교의 Principles of Computing (Part 1) 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
450개의 평가
73개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This two-part course builds upon the programming skills that you learned in our Introduction to Interactive Programming in Python course. We will augment those skills with both important programming practices and critical mathematical problem solving skills. These skills underlie larger scale computational problem solving and programming. The main focus of the class will be programming weekly mini-projects in Python that build upon the mathematical and programming principles that are taught in the class. To keep the class fun and engaging, many of the projects will involve working with strategy-based games. In part 1 of this course, the programming aspect of the class will focus on coding standards and testing. The mathematical portion of the class will focus on probability, combinatorics, and counting with an eye towards practical applications of these concepts in Computer Science. Recommended Background - Students should be comfortable writing small (100+ line) programs in Python using constructs such as lists, dictionaries and classes and also have a high-school math background that includes algebra and pre-calculus....

최상위 리뷰

SN

May 07, 2019

This course is very good for beginners and intermediate coders. Gives important basics about computer science from 3 very good professors.

JH

May 16, 2018

very wellmade assignments! that goes a long way!\n\nplotting seemed a bit superflous and not much learned.\n\nThank you professors!

필터링 기준:

Principles of Computing (Part 1)의 69개 리뷰 중 51~69

교육 기관: Michael M

Oct 20, 2017

Another fun course!

교육 기관: RAVI R

Jun 17, 2017

Best specialization for those who want to improve their coding and computational thinking.

교육 기관: 李彦霖

Jan 31, 2018

Very nice courses, I've learnt a lot. Thanks for all the teachers for their preparations and lectures.

교육 기관: Ken M

Oct 29, 2017

definitely gets you thinking the right way about programming (math, algorithms, efficiency, etc.

교육 기관: Guillermo C

Jun 05, 2018

Great course

교육 기관: Saksham N

May 07, 2019

This course is very good for beginners and intermediate coders. Gives important basics about computer science from 3 very good professors.

교육 기관: Bakhmai B

May 29, 2019

Super!

교육 기관: Alejo G O

Sep 12, 2018

Very interesting to expand the ways to solve a problem.

교육 기관: Tom P

May 13, 2016

I started this course straight after finishing IIPP1 and IIPP2 (both of which I loved). I had no coding experience before those two courses but managed to work hard and got through them so kept on straightaway with PoC1. This was a mistake on my part. For me, there was a quite a step up and early on I was getting out of my depth and actually in the end did not finish the course. In hindsight (and actually what I am doing down to re-enroll) I would go and gain much more experience of Classes (they play a major part, and I am thinking or writing all the games as classes that I built in IIPP) and work through the Math Preparation to prepare. I'm giving the course 4 stars because the material, the lectures and the learning is great but I found the amount I was expected to do each week was well beyond my expectations of an MOOC and more than the two modules before.

교육 기관: Peter V

Jun 27, 2016

It's quite a step up from the level op IPP. Assignments are also a bit more difficult but still very enjoyable puzzles to solve.

교육 기관: Richie S

Jun 04, 2017

The difficulty of this course is much higher than Intro to Interactive Programming in Python. If you have been out of school for a while, I strongly recommend doing a quick refresher on key math concepts (probability, permutations/combinations, sums) as well as general math notation first. It will save you a ton of headache down the line.

교육 기관: Ikseon K

Jun 06, 2018

Excellent courses, but a little difficult to solve the problems completely. Lectures don't cover the problems and homeworks fully. This requires self-driven efforts and research regardless of the lectures. Anyway, it is very useful and meaningful. Thanks!

교육 기관: Wynand

Dec 21, 2017

Course was a good progression on the Intro to Python courses

교육 기관: Renaud T

May 11, 2016

Great course ! Some assignments were not that easy and required time to be achieved. Enjoyed it !

교육 기관: Samer N E

Jun 03, 2018

What makes this course unique is that you write and execute Python code right in your browser - the greatest pedagogical value of this for me is that execution slowed down when my programs became too inefficient. It taught me the importance of efficiency on a small scale, and I became mindful of efficiency early on with further assignments. This is a great habit to pick up early on.

My only trouble with the course is that if one's code is too inefficient, Owltest will not grade the assignment. This becomes very frustrating when you cannot make your program more efficient, and I personally had to resort to intentionally writing malfunctioning code which Owltest would take, for the sole purpose of avoiding a 0.0 grade.

교육 기관: Lianna

Apr 09, 2018

In general, I enjoyed this course. However, I found the homework and projects significantly more difficult versus the IIPP course, yet the lecture videos were of the same level. As a result, I spent a lot more time per week to complete this class. Maybe a few more lecture videos would or more guidance on creating test cases would help beginner programmers such as myself?

Either way, I look forward to the next course!

교육 기관: Tyler B

Aug 26, 2017

Most of the course was awesome, just wasn't crazy about the testing questions at the end of each quizz

교육 기관: Mark K

Aug 23, 2018

I feel as though the class lectures are very easy to follow however the homework/mini projects are very difficult to implement. After taking this course I feel discouraged and question my ability to learn and understand Python.

교육 기관: Brett A

Feb 09, 2017

Too much material to get done in time frame given for full-time working parent.