Chevron Left
Advertising and Society(으)로 돌아가기

듀크대학교의 Advertising and Society 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
별점
827개의 평가
194개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course examines the relation of advertising to society, culture, history, and the economy. Using contemporary theories about visual communications, we learn to analyze the complex levels of meaning in both print advertisements and television commercials. About the Course The course covers a wide range of topics, including the origins of advertising, the creation of ads, the interpretation of ads, the depiction of race, class, gender, and sexuality in advertising, sex and selling, adverting and ethics, and the future of advertising. The lectures will discuss theoretical frameworks and apply them to specific advertisements. Course Syllabus Week 1: What is advertising and where did it come from? Week 2: Am I being manipulated by advertising? Week 3: What’s in an ad beyond that which meets the eye? Week 4: How do ads get made? Week 5: What do ads teach us about race, class, gender, and sexuality? Week 6: Does sex sell? Week 7: What is the future of advertising? Recommended Background No background is required; everyone is welcome! Suggested Readings Although the lectures are designed to be self-contained, we recommend that students refer to the free online textbook ADTextOnline.org. Other free resources will be suggested for each week’s module. Course Format Most videos will be lectures with instructor talking. Each lecture will be illustrated with PowerPoint slides, print advertisements, and TV commercials. The videos for each week will consist of segments that add up to about an hour. Each week will have one quiz that will appear as stand-alone homework. All resources beyond lectures will be available online to students at no charge. Most of these will be from ADTextOnline.org. Others will be visits to the sites of ad agencies in the US and abroad, open access websites that deal with course topics, and open-access journal articles....

최상위 리뷰

KD

2018년 6월 14일

What a great course! As an owner of an agency, a marketer and advertiser, I found it very eye opening and enjoyable. I learned a lot that I can apply to our business. Thank you Professor O'Barr.

GG

2017년 5월 2일

I will never look at advertising with the same eyes. It made me understand a lot of our current society and economy. Really suggested if you want to become a more informed citizen and consumer.

필터링 기준:

Advertising and Society의 191개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: sumitra n

2020년 5월 23일

I absolutely loved the explanations and lectures conducted so intelligently and thoughtfully by Professor O'Barr and how it was brought down to such a simple level of understanding. The examples provided gave us a deeper insight into the topic discussed and also provided knowledge into the different types of advertisements produced and published through the centuries.

If a similar course were to be developed, I would most certainly sign up for it. Professor O'Barr is a delightful, well-revised and knowledgeable teacher.

교육 기관: Giorgio G

2017년 5월 3일

I will never look at advertising with the same eyes. It made me understand a lot of our current society and economy. Really suggested if you want to become a more informed citizen and consumer.

교육 기관: Nneoma A

2020년 11월 17일

some of the lectures are not necessary and it's very advanced

교육 기관: Gamze S S

2020년 12월 13일

By taking this course, i did not only learn what advertising is and it's link to society; i also learned what is advertisement? where did it come from? where does it go? How it's linked to the society? It was a very informing and brief; also very deep and comprehensive course. I really feel like ı learned something through this great course and as a senior at high school, i wish i could be at the Duke University to take all the other classes that ı can from the same instructer. Thank you for this amazing experience :)

교육 기관: Aine G

2019년 2월 11일

I thoroughly enjoyed this course. I took it to help me further my career and get a better understanding of advertising and the world I want to work in. It provided me with great of information and gave me a lot to think about, to research further and pay more attention to the advertising around me. I found that even though the majority of the examples and case studies were American I still found it useful and seen similarities in Ireland and Irish advertising. Thank you.

교육 기관: Anton M

2020년 7월 13일

That was a great course. I really like the way professor William M. O'Barr gives the information. He is passionate about ads and this passion goes through listeners. I liked the week about strategy most because there I found out the way advertising agency works and has taken the decision to research and learn more about marketing strategy and research. Perhaps, the role of market strategist will be the next step in my career. Thanks a lot.

교육 기관: Filip R

2020년 6월 12일

The structure of the course, the super RICH resources to read and the leading professor gave me so much insight in the history of advertising! The course taught me more than I already learned during 2 years of college which is a shame but still I am very Very happy for finding the course on coursera which was recommended somewhere on Instagram. Lots of hugs and thanks to the professor who was sharing his own experience and humor with us !

교육 기관: Igor B B

2020년 8월 10일

The course was a major review of what I had already learned in college but with a more global bias. Understand how the advertising made here in Brazil can be so similar and at the same time have the cultural differences of each country. I loved the course, the platform and would definitely love to meet dear Professor William M. O'Barr, I already have him as someone of prestige. Thank you for all the content and knowledge!

교육 기관: eunice a

2020년 10월 18일

This course have been extremely engaging and interesting for me. Prof. O'Barr made almost every topic come alive with his examples, vast knowledge and experience in the advertising field. Every topic has detailed information. This didn't feel like a course at all. it felt like practicing a hobby, it felt like I was doing something that i loved to do. Thankyou Prof. William O'Barr and Duke University for this opportunity.

교육 기관: Mahreen M

2020년 9월 13일

Never for one minute it felt like a MOOC. Professor William O'Barr is an absolute delight to listen to. I am an advertising teach at a private university in Bangladesh. For me, this course meant so so much. I thank him from the bottom of my heart, that this course will help my students learn better with the materials he shared. Oh, the quizzes!! kudos on making me feel young again in fighting the nerves for the answers!!

교육 기관: Jose R M J

2017년 6월 25일

Informative and thought-provoking, this course will equip you with the tools you need to look at advertising with a critical eye and to understand its relationship with our modern world beyond what meets the eye. Professor O'Barr is also an excellent teacher, and his passion for the material inspires you to continue learning, even beyond what's mentioned in the lectures.

교육 기관: Gautam M

2022년 5월 10일

Its a very amazing course and gives a totally new insight into the world of advertising which is ever growing and is the factor for most of our purchases. Professsor O Barr is surely one of a kind with various in depth explanations which truly made the course and excellent one. As an advertiisng student this one surely opened my eye in the world of advertising

교육 기관: Maria V S

2020년 10월 6일

Excellent course! Professor O'Barr classes are clear, complete and accurate. As an university professor myself of "Advertising and Consumer" in my country, Argentina, I've increased my knowledge about Advertising discovering very valuable points of view and new topics to research. And I liked the good level of the questions after each chapter. Congratulations!

교육 기관: Mr. S P

2020년 4월 15일

The course is full of surprises unfolding in each corners. Even been exposed to much of the content, I could never see the angels Professor William M. O'Barr referred. I'm sure that I have developed lot of different perspectives to analyse an Advertisement when looking at it or sometimes not analyzing them at all, as to enjoy the visual pleasure out of it.

교육 기관: Ravindra K

2020년 4월 1일

I have been student of marketing since 14 years, completing and experimenting so many techniques as professor mentioned in 7 week lecture, have never found so intriguing his point of views on advertising and how it persists. I am really thankful to professor that he added more insight to my continuos journey of learning marketing.

교육 기관: Mohak B

2020년 4월 17일

This is an amazing course, it is very knowledgable and best for someone who is interested in advertising. This course covers everything from the history of advertising to how do ads get made to what the future of advertising looks like. I personally think that is a must-do course for someone who is interested in advertising.

교육 기관: cogochi1997

2018년 12월 24일

It is the my first time to study through a course in Internet. The experience is amazing, since it opens a brand-new door for me to advertising and gives a chance to explore the advertising by additional resources. Thx a lot~ Professor is really really nice and erudite. And I will continue to learn more about advertising~

교육 기관: Hotsaliuk H

2020년 5월 16일

Hello, I am from Ukraine and I am 20 years old. It was really interesting for me to know a lot of new information about advertising! The examples are really unforgettable (especially about Macintosh) and the teacher give us useful information. All the materials are in the high quallity. Thanks a lot.

교육 기관: WARISARIYA

2020년 10월 7일

Dear Williams & Everyone

In the primary, I'm appreciate to your wise & guide. It's marvelous to have studied this incredible online course (Advertising and Society) and have taken the online class with amazing lecturer. I hope one day I visit Duke University in the future soon.

Stay Safe.

Regards, WD

교육 기관: gulsah y

2020년 5월 11일

Thank you for this amazing course during quarantine days. I have an interest for this topic so much and now with this course I have lots of information about it. Thank you so much to Coursea, Duke university an expecially Professor William O'Barr :) Çok teşekkürler :) (Gülşah from Turkey)

교육 기관: Momoe K

2020년 4월 23일

Hi, I'm an ESL student. I was very glad to find that English in the course was less challenging than I expected. The course was so specific and entertaining that I could not believe I didn't have to pay for it. Visual materials such as pictures and videos were very helpful. Thank you.

교육 기관: stevi j

2020년 6월 25일

Great Course!

This was the first time I have taken an online course that didn't bore me to tears. It was very clear that Professor O'Barr had a vast knowledge of the subjects and could discuss it for hours out of pure enjoyment of the subject. I would love to take another with him!

교육 기관: Sarah J

2020년 5월 27일

A very excellent take on how advertisements are a part of society and in some cases history. The examples are insightful and very effective. Many questions have been raised in my mind and I hope to study more on this topic to get some answers. Thank you very much for this course.

교육 기관: Manasvi S

2020년 4월 21일

This was an extremely interesting course. I learnt about so many things in just a few days. I can never look at the ads without reading them from now on. This was the best and systematic study put together for a better understanding and the mission was successful. I loved it!

교육 기관: Shalom C V

2020년 5월 16일

My dream has always been to study sociology and although I couldn't, I enjoy remarkable courses like this one that are well assembled and that provide concise and valuable information to better understand the social milieu. Great course, it was addictive for me. Than you :)