Chevron Left
Soul Beliefs: Causes and Consequences - Unit 1: Historical Foundations(으)로 돌아가기

러트거스 뉴저지 주립 대학교의 Soul Beliefs: Causes and Consequences - Unit 1: Historical Foundations 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.5
355개의 평가
96개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Throughout history, the vast majority of people around the globe have believed they have, however defined, a “soul.” While the question of whether the soul exists cannot be answered by science, what we can study are the causes and consequences of various beliefs about the soul and its prospects of surviving the death of the body. Why are soul and afterlife beliefs so common in human history? Are there adaptive advantages to assuming souls exist? Are there brain structures that have been shaped by environmental pressures that provide the foundation of body/mind dualism that is such a prominent feature of many religions? How do these beliefs shape the worldviews of different cultures and our collective lives? What is the role of competing afterlife beliefs in religion, science, politics, and war? This course explores several facets of this relatively unexplored but profoundly important aspect of human thought and behavior. The course consists mainly of 70 to 80 minute lectures, typically broken up into 3 segments, recorded from a course offered by Rutgers University School of Arts and Sciences. These videos include slides and some embedded video clips. Most lectures are accompanied by slides used during the lecture, also including recommended reading assignment which may provide additional opportunities to reflect on your studies. Due to the lengthiness of this class and natural progression, the online course has been separated into 3 units, this is Unit 1....

최상위 리뷰

MS

Sep 22, 2017

Brilliant course, brilliant lecturers, brilliant topic, extremely well thought-out approach to such a mind-blowing topic. I highly recommend it to anyone with even the vaguest interest in the topic.

AM

Aug 22, 2015

I just started with this course and I am loving it! This not only offers a very fresh perspective on beliefs about souls and an afterlife but is also extremely relatable on a personal level.

필터링 기준:

Soul Beliefs: Causes and Consequences - Unit 1: Historical Foundations의 95개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: Atul B

Apr 30, 2019

Great course. Complete all three parts to have a grip over genesis and utility of religion.

교육 기관: Catherine H

Mar 05, 2019

The premise of this class is so interesting! However, if you're not willing to scroll through, or listen to, a TON of VERY long anecdotes while looking for actual information....then this is not the class for you. I felt extremely frustrated because I really wanted to learn from this class, but it's just not organized well at all. Some of the lectures contained the EXACT same thing that we just went over in the previous week. Also...I saw there were 3 parts to this class, which is absolutely ridiculous because they could definitely condense them into one class if you took out the hours of filler....

교육 기관: Guruswamy S

Feb 02, 2019

Could be more crisp. As it is undergraduate course in the university, a bit of extended (out of core point) lectures are given.

I enjoyed and learnt many new things and ideas!!

Big Thanks!!

교육 기관: ZAHABIYA A A

Jan 12, 2019

KNOWLEDGEABLE COURSE.. LOVE IT

교육 기관: Emil

Aug 16, 2018

Done it

교육 기관: Eugenio D P

Jun 06, 2018

Excellent, very didactic, teachers are very experienced, i enjoyed it very much. Highly recommended

교육 기관: Finch M

Apr 16, 2018

An excellent course, covering an often neglected topic.

교육 기관: Leticia M

Mar 05, 2018

Amazing course

교육 기관: Parthsarthi D

Jan 31, 2018

Extraordinary course on Soul Belief, covering physical to metaphysical view from brain to mind and beyond. It was so interesting that I could not stop going through it and finished all course material in few days. Thanks a million for having this course.

교육 기관: Dawnene H

Jan 25, 2018

This course was amazing. I loved the classroom teachings with both professors. This is the sort of course that makes your shake out the dust of your brain and really stop and consider WHY you believe what you believe and then decide for yourself IF you still believe in the same manners whenever you complete the course. I am not easily swayed and this course completely made me do a 360 and rethink my "Soul" beliefs. Bravo!

교육 기관: Emily N

Oct 02, 2017

G

R

E

A

T

g

r

e

a

t

g

r

e

a

t

g

r

e

a

t

c

o

u

r

s

e

교육 기관: Erlan B d L

Sep 28, 2017

Curso excelente. Super recomendado para quem se interessa sobre Psicologia das Religiões.

교육 기관: Cristina M D

Sep 23, 2017

A complete waste of time especially for those of us with a lot more personal research experience and wise years behind us. If zero had been a choice, that's what I would have given this course. Don't even bother to take the course if you're interested in getting true knowledge especially about the soul.

교육 기관: Martin S

Sep 22, 2017

Brilliant course, brilliant lecturers, brilliant topic, extremely well thought-out approach to such a mind-blowing topic. I highly recommend it to anyone with even the vaguest interest in the topic.

교육 기관: susan

Jul 14, 2017

Too slow and not what I thought it would be. I had looked at this before and thought that I would give it another chance.

교육 기관: D.Scott V

Jul 06, 2017

Should be considered standard for all first year college students. A great course! Many thanks!

교육 기관: Pamela C

Jun 28, 2017

Not really what I excepted but others might be interested, good information.

교육 기관: Deleted A

Jun 23, 2017

very interesting.

교육 기관: Haley K

Jun 19, 2017

Very enjoyable and relatable. Good mix of reading, lecture, and conversation.

교육 기관: Arve F

Jun 11, 2017

Very interesting.

교육 기관: Angel B

May 28, 2017

He's talky...but it's an entertaining flow :) and you actually learn a lot. You can tell both of them enjoy teaching this MOOC.

교육 기관: Susan H

May 18, 2017

Great course! Awesome lectures from both professors. So glad there are courses like this out there to open our minds and broaden our perspectives.

교육 기관: Omar Á C V

May 08, 2017

Muy buen curso, considero que es un gran enfoque desde la psicología de un tema tan importante como lo es la religión, se nota la pasión que los docentes han tenido al diseñar e impartir este curso. En ocasiones da la impresión que bajan de nivel pero, si eres paciente te das cuenta que todo lo que han ideado tiene una razón y termina siendo determinante para la comprensión de los objetivos de cada semana. Si te interesan los temas relacionados con las creencias del alma, este MOOC es indispensable.

교육 기관: Anne M

Mar 19, 2017

Fascinating!!!

교육 기관: Debra

Mar 13, 2017

This course breaks all the taboos with academics discussing the history of how humans developed their belief systems, how religions and societies engineer how humans define themselves and how humans view themselves and their concepts of their soul beliefs... My favorite course of all time...