Chevron Left
Soul Beliefs: Causes and Consequences - Unit 1: Historical Foundations(으)로 돌아가기

러트거스 뉴저지 주립 대학교의 Soul Beliefs: Causes and Consequences - Unit 1: Historical Foundations 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.5
별점
389개의 평가
106개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Throughout history, the vast majority of people around the globe have believed they have, however defined, a “soul.” While the question of whether the soul exists cannot be answered by science, what we can study are the causes and consequences of various beliefs about the soul and its prospects of surviving the death of the body. Why are soul and afterlife beliefs so common in human history? Are there adaptive advantages to assuming souls exist? Are there brain structures that have been shaped by environmental pressures that provide the foundation of body/mind dualism that is such a prominent feature of many religions? How do these beliefs shape the worldviews of different cultures and our collective lives? What is the role of competing afterlife beliefs in religion, science, politics, and war? This course explores several facets of this relatively unexplored but profoundly important aspect of human thought and behavior. The course consists mainly of 70 to 80 minute lectures, typically broken up into 3 segments, recorded from a course offered by Rutgers University School of Arts and Sciences. These videos include slides and some embedded video clips. Most lectures are accompanied by slides used during the lecture, also including recommended reading assignment which may provide additional opportunities to reflect on your studies. Due to the lengthiness of this class and natural progression, the online course has been separated into 3 units, this is Unit 1....

최상위 리뷰

MS
2017년 9월 21일

Brilliant course, brilliant lecturers, brilliant topic, extremely well thought-out approach to such a mind-blowing topic. I highly recommend it to anyone with even the vaguest interest in the topic.

DA
2015년 8월 21일

I just started with this course and I am loving it! This not only offers a very fresh perspective on beliefs about souls and an afterlife but is also extremely relatable on a personal level.

필터링 기준:

Soul Beliefs: Causes and Consequences - Unit 1: Historical Foundations의 105개 리뷰 중 26~50

교육 기관: Tarey L K

2015년 8월 29일

Fascinating, informative, thought provoking, makes you think. What more could you ask for from a Course? The Professors are wonderful. I'm so glad I choose to take this Course.

교육 기관: Andrea H

2015년 8월 14일

I´m really enjoying it! and I think is very important and trascendental for our societies to start developing this kind of courses based on reflecting about the religion.

교육 기관: María d l L A

2019년 7월 24일

I have enjoyed learning this course. Thank you to all participants. This is a course everybody should take now-a-days to face the challenges to come to our souls.

교육 기관: Elenjikal A V

2020년 12월 2일

We crafted course. Addresses a current real urgent aspect of life that is much needed as we evolve in consciousness. Both the professors were excellent

교육 기관: Susan H

2017년 5월 18일

Great course! Awesome lectures from both professors. So glad there are courses like this out there to open our minds and broaden our perspectives.

교육 기관: Deleted A

2017년 1월 3일

Great course, also very good example for interdisciplinary communication to solve some of the riddles

we call existence/life

교육 기관: Marina

2015년 12월 25일

very nice course, except for the name. causes is ok, but consequences doesnt receive the importante that the title implies.

교육 기관: Louis E K

2015년 9월 11일

The most interesting class I've ever taken. The material covers everything from psychology to sociology and then adds more.

교육 기관: Angeles E

2015년 11월 5일

I think it is a very interesting course. And one can feel the passion that the teachers have in doing it.

Thank you

교육 기관: razi h

2015년 12월 19일

a thought provoking course .. the prof. has an amusing personality which makes it easy to go through the lecture

교육 기관: Khaled A A

2016년 12월 17일

This is a truly unique course, covering an essential but largely neglected part of human nature and history.

교육 기관: Rosane d A P

2015년 9월 3일

So interesting, getting religion discussions with differents perspectives and the teachers are amazing !

교육 기관: Alexey K

2016년 8월 26일

A introduction into the history of beliefs. It was kind of frustrating the way Buddhism was covered.

교육 기관: Eugenio D P

2018년 6월 5일

Excellent, very didactic, teachers are very experienced, i enjoyed it very much. Highly recommended

교육 기관: Rosalee C

2016년 9월 1일

This is an eye opening course. However I'm not willing to give up my belief in my Catholic faith.

교육 기관: Илья К

2015년 8월 28일

Must see for everyone who wants to understand religion much better from scientific point of view.

교육 기관: D.Scott V

2017년 7월 6일

Should be considered standard for all first year college students. A great course! Many thanks!

교육 기관: Atul B

2019년 4월 30일

Great course. Complete all three parts to have a grip over genesis and utility of religion.

교육 기관: Erlan B D L

2017년 9월 28일

Curso excelente. Super recomendado para quem se interessa sobre Psicologia das Religiões.

교육 기관: Camila B

2016년 11월 20일

Excellent course, taught by absolutely amazing and intellectually stimulating professors.

교육 기관: Carlos D

2016년 2월 9일

I found it really amazing... i wish i could have been present in the classroom :)

교육 기관: Oscar A G B

2015년 9월 15일

The course gives a lot of interesting information in a entertain way of learning.

교육 기관: REBECCA G

2016년 1월 24일

This is a great course. Profs have an interesting way of getting info to us.

교육 기관: julio s

2016년 6월 13일

Excelent, a deep view about the origin of religions and the things they share

교육 기관: Gianpiero L

2016년 4월 7일

I just love this course. It is funny, easy to follow and really interesting.