Chevron Left
Improving your statistical inferences(으)로 돌아가기

아이트호벤 공과 대학의 Improving your statistical inferences 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.9
별점
703개의 평가
234개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course aims to help you to draw better statistical inferences from empirical research. First, we will discuss how to correctly interpret p-values, effect sizes, confidence intervals, Bayes Factors, and likelihood ratios, and how these statistics answer different questions you might be interested in. Then, you will learn how to design experiments where the false positive rate is controlled, and how to decide upon the sample size for your study, for example in order to achieve high statistical power. Subsequently, you will learn how to interpret evidence in the scientific literature given widespread publication bias, for example by learning about p-curve analysis. Finally, we will talk about how to do philosophy of science, theory construction, and cumulative science, including how to perform replication studies, why and how to pre-register your experiment, and how to share your results following Open Science principles. In practical, hands on assignments, you will learn how to simulate t-tests to learn which p-values you can expect, calculate likelihood ratio's and get an introduction the binomial Bayesian statistics, and learn about the positive predictive value which expresses the probability published research findings are true. We will experience the problems with optional stopping and learn how to prevent these problems by using sequential analyses. You will calculate effect sizes, see how confidence intervals work through simulations, and practice doing a-priori power analyses. Finally, you will learn how to examine whether the null hypothesis is true using equivalence testing and Bayesian statistics, and how to pre-register a study, and share your data on the Open Science Framework. All videos now have Chinese subtitles. More than 30.000 learners have enrolled so far! If you enjoyed this course, I can recommend following it up with me new course "Improving Your Statistical Questions"...

최상위 리뷰

MS
2021년 5월 13일

Eye opening course. My first introduction to some of the issues surrounding p-values as well as how to better utilize them and what they truly represent. My first introduction to effect sizes as well.

YK
2017년 3월 1일

Excellent course. The lecturer has written code snippets that let the students visualize the meaning and interrelationship of p-values confidence-intervals power effect-size bayesian-inference.

필터링 기준:

Improving your statistical inferences의 232개 리뷰 중 101~125

교육 기관: Oleksandr H

2016년 11월 25일

Some courses are useful in the short run while others can challenge your way of thinking for the rest of your professional life. This course is the latter!

교육 기관: Wilte Z

2016년 10월 23일

Clear explanations of the concepts of statistics, without too much emphasis on the formulas. With handy references to online tools, like power calculators.

교육 기관: Iván Z A

2017년 2월 15일

Wonderful course: very interesting, and very well explained. Also, the teacher is a very kind and helpful person (at least in Twitter ;-P). Thanks Daniël.

교육 기관: Ernesto M

2018년 7월 30일

Excellent course that changed my views on interpreting p-values, confidence intervals, etc. and will surely make my statistical inferences much better.

교육 기관: Muhammad T S

2017년 11월 8일

This is a very powerful course. Simple content but with lots of depth and newer perspective on statistical testing. Learned a lot. Highly recommended.

교육 기관: Moos L

2016년 11월 6일

Excellent, may I say indispensable course for every social scientist out there to improve their statistical skills. Very coherent and comprehensive!

교육 기관: Eloy A O

2020년 6월 23일

Very complete course, I learned a lot with the videos and assignments. Professor Daniel explains very well too . I recommend it completely.

Thanks!

교육 기관: Nicholas

2019년 4월 28일

Fantastic course on inference, difference between frequentist and Bayesian concepts like p-values, confidence and credible intervals, and validity.

교육 기관: Sanjeev P

2016년 11월 13일

Fantastic, enjoyable, entertaining with a dash of humor. Highly recommended for non-statisticians interested in improving their grasp of the field.

교육 기관: Sebastian U

2018년 3월 26일

The course gave me useful insight into interpreting and handling statistical parameters. Information and methods were well balanced. Thank you.

교육 기관: Tyron J

2022년 1월 8일

Really interesting course that dives into how to do proper statistics. Professor Lakens is one of the best instructors I've seen on Coursera.

교육 기관: Ted T

2020년 3월 29일

Top quality course. Learnt a lot thanks to the very helpful and clear teaching. Put the equivalent course at my actual university to shame.

교육 기관: Michael E

2017년 6월 25일

Thank you. This course represents a great deal of important work for me to continue to revisit and incorporate in my efforts moving forward.

교육 기관: Ляшенко І В

2020년 8월 6일

This was an incredibly fresh eye-opener course with a load of practical invaluable skills for my professional activity! Highly recommended!

교육 기관: Kathryn S

2017년 12월 9일

I absolutely loved Prof Lakens' clarity! The effort he put into making the material and the assignments easy to understand is astounding.

교육 기관: Jingbo H

2018년 6월 12일

very good course! The teaching style is good and the assignment in R is very helpful for me to understand the main ideas of this course.

교육 기관: Mathew L

2017년 6월 4일

One of the best courses I've ever done. Fundamentally practical. I learned a great deal and challenged a lot of my implicit assumptions.

교육 기관: Jana H

2017년 3월 4일

Wonderful course! It was really well-conceived and I learned a lot. Would definitely recommend it to everyone interested in statistics!

교육 기관: Romain R

2019년 1월 10일

Great overview of statistics and philosophy of science. Now I know what to tell my students when they ask me about p-values. At last !

교육 기관: Munzar A S

2020년 4월 10일

Fabulous course! Points out a lot of the nonsense going on in psychological research, how we can spot it, and how we can do better!

교육 기관: marcus n

2017년 2월 4일

Great high level overview of intermediate applied statistics. The instructors presentation skills and pace are very good as well.

교육 기관: Maxim P

2020년 3월 22일

Such a wonderful course, I really enjoyed the walkthrough. Also, I'd like to note the perfect English language of the lecturer.

교육 기관: Dennis H

2018년 12월 4일

excellent refresher and expansion on frequentists stats (interpretation) and nice intro to bayesian stats. highly recommended.

교육 기관: Katia D

2018년 2월 11일

Great course! Although I was struggling with lecture 2 (Bayesian Statistics)––It was very mathsy and a bit difficult to follow.

교육 기관: Ester N

2022년 1월 24일

L​earned a lot during this course and it left me with a lot of challenges with planning my own research. I am very grateful.