Chevron Left
Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments(으)로 돌아가기

듀크대학교의 Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
1,303개의 평가
351개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

How to Understand Arguments Think Again: How to Reason and Argue Reasoning is important. This series of four short courses will teach you how to do it well. You will learn simple but vital rules to follow in thinking about any topic at all and common and tempting mistakes to avoid in reasoning. We will discuss how to identify, analyze, and evaluate arguments by other people (including politicians, used car salesmen, and teachers) and how to construct arguments of your own in order to help you decide what to believe or what to do. These skills will be useful in dealing with whatever matters most to you. Courses at a Glance: All four courses in this series are offered through sessions which run every four weeks. We suggest sticking to the weekly schedule to the best of your ability. If for whatever reason you fall behind, feel free to re-enroll in the next session.We also suggest that you start each course close to the beginning of a month in order to increase the number of peers in the discussion forums who are working on the same material as you are. While each course can be taken independently, we suggest you take the four courses in order. Course 1 - Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments Course 2 - Think Again II: How to Reason Deductively Course 3 - Think Again III: How to Reason Inductively Course 4 - Think Again IV: How to Avoid Fallacies About This Course in the Series: When is someone giving an argument instead of just yelling? Which parts of what they say contribute to the argument? Why are they arguing instead of fighting? What are arguments made of? What forms do they take? Think Again: How to Understand Arguments will answer these questions a more. In this course, you will learn what an argument is. The definition of argument will enable students to identify when speakers are giving arguments and when they are not. Next, we will learn how to break an argument into its essential parts, how to put them in order to reveal their connections, and how to fill in gaps in an argument. By the end of this course, students will be better able to understand and appreciate arguments that they and other people present. Suggested Readings: Students who want more detailed explanations or additional exercises or who want to explore these topics in more depth should consult Understanding Arguments: An Introduction to Informal Logic, Ninth Edition, Concise, Chapters 1-5, by Walter Sinnott-Armstrong and Robert Fogelin. Course Format: Each week will be divided into multiple video segments that can be viewed separately or in groups. There will be short ungraded quizzes after each segment (to check comprehension) and a longer graded quiz at the end of the course....

최상위 리뷰

FY

Jul 06, 2018

I found this course very challenging as I find critical thinking very difficult. However this course was extremely rewarding and I will be taking the other three modules in the Think Again series.

RH

Feb 16, 2017

This is a very very engaging and applicable course, and is truly presented with 10/10 efficacy! I couldn't be more sincere and adamant in my recommendation, no matter who you are or what you do.

필터링 기준:

Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments의 343개 리뷰 중 76~100

교육 기관: Orlando M

Feb 02, 2017

Este curso me ha ayudado mucho en mi vida personal y profesional. Gracias a todos los responsable de la preparación de este valioso material didáctico.

Saludos,

Orlando Maldoando

교육 기관: Fran R

Jan 24, 2020

To me, this course is a Coursera classic. I really want to see the rest of the lectures related to this one, and it's a personal goal of mine to do so. Such a pleasant class!

교육 기관: Achal M

Feb 27, 2019

It is really appreciating to coursera for framing such a good course and very intellectually designed , you need to very attentive and analytical to understand and crack the

교육 기관: emilio

Sep 16, 2019

A must for anyone looking for better writing or maths in reading proofs certainly is helpful to know what people is assuming in the proof so it is easier to understand it.

교육 기관: Cynthia W

Jun 03, 2018

Brilliant course. The professor is engaging, the material is well organised and detailed without being obtuse or intimidating. One of my favourite Coursera courses so far.

교육 기관: VINAYAK K

May 11, 2017

While I did previously realize the importance of presumptions in arguments, the course explained the importance of suppressed premises well. This course was really useful.

교육 기관: MUGANZI A K

Jun 02, 2017

The instructor and the course content are excellent. The instructor is very knowledgeable and lively. The course content is well designed and very much on point.

교육 기관: Alain E M M

Jul 22, 2018

Excellent course! It really makes a difference in providing you tool to analyze arguments. I recommend to buy the course book to better understand the clasess.

교육 기관: 魏傑夫

Oct 18, 2016

The professor really inspired me of critical thinking. The professor is knowledgeable and humorous. I'll certainly suggest my classmates to take this course.

교육 기관: Mohammed S

Jun 19, 2017

this is very interesting way of learning

this is my first course in Corsera and it giving me a lot of information and am still in the first week out of four.

교육 기관: Sarah C

Oct 23, 2016

An excellent course that everyone should take. It teaches you how to organize arguments so that you can see the faults and the underlying morals behind them.

교육 기관: Deborah C

Jun 11, 2017

This is a good course if you want to learn how to break down arguments or just the words people use. It made me learn and it was well worth it. Thank you

교육 기관: Carlos A R F

Jan 09, 2018

It's an excellent course. If you finish this course, you could validate and analize arguments. The teacher is funny and his explanations are pretty good.

교육 기관: REGES D P

Aug 27, 2019

I thought it would be something much more fast and simple to conclude but I'm very impressed by the quality and density of the informations. Loved it!!!

교육 기관: John M

Jun 25, 2018

OUTSTANDING COURSE! The content provided directly influenced my writing/communicating skills through elements of arguments to show a person's reasons.

교육 기관: Farooq H S

Oct 06, 2018

I really enjoyed learning under the supervision of respected Sir. He has a wonderful way of explaining arguments. I love it, and thank you very much.

교육 기관: Heinz H

Oct 01, 2019

I like the concept and the profound analysis of language and speech very much. I have just glanced over the course so far, but I want to finish it.

교육 기관: Amy ( Q

Mar 04, 2018

Great, quizs while learning helps to understand bette^_^ And the teacher is humourous.

Thanks to Dr. Walter and thousands of likes for Coursera.

교육 기관: Henault A

Sep 19, 2019

Very interesting curse, because in my technological carrier nobody give me the reflexe to thinking about arguments and how to use it to progress

교육 기관: JoAnn A

Apr 10, 2017

Although I had some background "noise" that made this course challenging, it was a good learning experience! The professors made it interesting.

교육 기관: Mary A

Sep 20, 2017

It is a great course. The instructor is excellent , he tries his best to make it easy and fun though the subject is not easy . Thank you all

교육 기관: Yiye D

Mar 13, 2017

This course is awesome! I really appreciate the time and effort devoted to make this course such a great introduction to critical thinking!

교육 기관: Matthew K

May 15, 2017

I very much appreciated the material collected and presented for this first in the Think Again series. The course was quite enjoyable too.

교육 기관: Luis A

Jan 15, 2018

This course was very clear for me, it gives a lot of examples and it gives very good explanations for the correct choices in the quizzes.

교육 기관: YL Z

Jun 28, 2018

This is an interesting , easy-to-understand and useful course to understand arguments, and to put thinking into a rational perspective.