Chevron Left
Build a Modern Computer from First Principles: From Nand to Tetris (Project-Centered Course)(으)로 돌아가기

히브리대학교의 Build a Modern Computer from First Principles: From Nand to Tetris (Project-Centered Course) 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.9
1,469개의 평가
443개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

What you’ll achieve: In this project-centered course* you will build a modern computer system, from the ground up. We’ll divide this fascinating journey into six hands-on projects that will take you from constructing elementary logic gates all the way through creating a fully functioning general purpose computer. In the process, you will learn - in the most direct and constructive way - how computers work, and how they are designed. What you’ll need: This is a self-contained course: all the knowledge necessary to succeed in the course and build the computer system will be given as part of the learning experience. Therefore, we assume no previous computer science or engineering knowledge, and all learners are welcome aboard. You will need no physical materials, since you will build the computer on your own PC, using a software-based hardware simulator, just like real computers are designed by computer engineers in the field. The hardware simulator, as well as other software tools, will be supplied freely after you enroll in the course. Course format: The course consists of six modules, each comprising a series of video lectures, and a project. You will need about 2-3 hours to watch each module's lectures, and about 5-10 hours to complete each one of the six projects. The course can be completed in six weeks, but you are welcome to take it at your own pace. You can watch a TED talk about this course by Googling "nand2tetris TED talk". *About Project-Centered Courses: Project-centered courses are designed to help you complete a personally meaningful real-world project, with your instructor and a community of learners with similar goals providing guidance and suggestions along the way. By actively applying new concepts as you learn, you’ll master the course content more efficiently; you’ll also get a head start on using the skills you gain to make positive changes in your life and career. When you complete the course, you’ll have a finished project that you’ll be proud to use and share....

최상위 리뷰

MM

Feb 18, 2017

An excellent course provided by phenomenal professors! Everything is broken down into simple, easily understandable portions, and leaves you with a clear idea how to proceed to solve a given problem.

BC

Oct 12, 2017

Really good course. Great explanations of everything and the tools provided make it very easy to implement some very high levels ideas. Would recommend this to anyone interested in how a CPU works

필터링 기준:

Build a Modern Computer from First Principles: From Nand to Tetris (Project-Centered Course)의 442개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: Sean E

May 14, 2019

A fascinating and incredibly well-made course. Check out my Medium article as to why you should be taking this course: https://medium.com/@seandlg/what-nand2tetris-has-taught-me-about-computers-and-more-importantly-about-learning-aebc84af3030

교육 기관: 你的我怪

May 31, 2019

any CS people should take this course. the way it delivers is just amazing.

교육 기관: Peter K

Jan 27, 2019

This was just a wonderful course - exciting, challenging, well organized, and a ton of fun. I really enjoyed every week of it and will recommend it to friends. Thanks so much to Shimon and Noam!

교육 기관: Branko B

Jul 17, 2019

This course was really great and covered everything it aimed to. Noam and Shimon broke down concepts simply and made them easy to understand. I'm moving on right away to the second part of this course!

교육 기관: Michele R

Jul 14, 2019

Finally I have the great vision of all those courses I had to take during my bachelor and which relations between them were not always so clear. Recommended, I'm going to start the 2nd party with joy and curiosity

교육 기관: Himanshu V

Jul 09, 2019

One of the best courses I have ever been through. If you like learning along with getting hands-on experience and the joy of building something ground-up, this course is definitely for you. I like how the designs are so simple yet completely functional. Thoroughly enjoyed making all the projects especially week 6 (Assembler).

교육 기관: Bongjo J

Jul 09, 2019

Very satisfied.

교육 기관: Vinicius G d R

Jul 08, 2019

Very nice course on how to build a computer from elementary circuits up. It's a simplified computer, but gives you a good sense of how actual computer work. It has exercises that are good for retaining the contents and making sure you understand the concepts. I definitely recommend for someone that wants to understand what happens between the assembly language and the computer circuits.

교육 기관: Tao S

Jul 02, 2019

Very clear and comprehensive explanation about computer hardware system.

교육 기관: Dimitry

Jun 29, 2019

So nice!

교육 기관: Rahul D

Jun 24, 2019

A course Must for students in the field of Computer Science.

교육 기관: Shi Z

Jun 21, 2019

excellent course taught by a true master.

교육 기관: Sun B

Jun 21, 2019

Great Course!

교육 기관: oualid r

Jun 20, 2019

Merci Beaucoup un cours super

교육 기관: Peter S

Jun 17, 2019

Great course.

교육 기관: Eisenhower R G

Jun 17, 2019

excelent course!!!

교육 기관: Jay P

Jun 15, 2019

Awesome course - well worth the time and such a fun experience!

교육 기관: xiehui

Jun 14, 2019

very good course , i like it ...

교육 기관: Aidan R

Jun 11, 2019

A great starting point for anyone with an interest in computer programming its easy to follow and well planned although the partner website could be a little cleaner but i found everything i needed fairly quickly. Thanks Guys

교육 기관: Benjamin W

Jun 11, 2019

At this point I don't think there's terribly much I could add to the many other stellar reviews this course has received. However, the development of this course is such a great accomplishment and participating in it such a joy that I feel compelled to further reinforce the opinions of most of the other reviewers here.

The instructors have clearly put in a great deal of thought and effort into designing this course. This means not only writing a book and slides and recording hours of lectures, but also designing an entire computer architecture and corresponding machine language suitable for pedagogy as well as a a suite of software tools (hardware simulator, CPU emulator, etc.) and an automated grader to help students see the results of their efforts.

I would advise anyone with even the slightest interest in understanding how computers work to go ahead and take this course. What's there to lose? There is certainly a good amount of work involved but for the most part, due to the detailed and helpful guiding explanations provided, the tasks are exercises in detailed and precise thinking (as one should expect when building a computer from elementary logic gates).

This course is a model for what educators should strive for.

교육 기관: Shawn Z

Jun 11, 2019

Excellent way to really grasp the fundamental building blocks for how computers work.

교육 기관: Han Q

Jun 10, 2019

Very informative and interesting ,besides these programming assignments are excellent !

교육 기관: Nenad S

Jun 09, 2019

I loved this course, thanks to the instructors who paid great attention to details and made sure that every question is answered!

교육 기관: Alex C

Jun 08, 2019

Absolutely wonderful. I'm a boot camp grad who's been working as a software engineer for about a year now and want to start learning fundamental computer science and this course has been a great help. Thanks for a great course!

교육 기관: dd3334

Jun 08, 2019

非常不错的课程,适合作为计算机的入门。