Chevron Left
Data Manipulation at Scale: Systems and Algorithms(으)로 돌아가기

워싱턴 대학교의 Data Manipulation at Scale: Systems and Algorithms 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.3
697개의 평가
152개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Data analysis has replaced data acquisition as the bottleneck to evidence-based decision making --- we are drowning in it. Extracting knowledge from large, heterogeneous, and noisy datasets requires not only powerful computing resources, but the programming abstractions to use them effectively. The abstractions that emerged in the last decade blend ideas from parallel databases, distributed systems, and programming languages to create a new class of scalable data analytics platforms that form the foundation for data science at realistic scales. In this course, you will learn the landscape of relevant systems, the principles on which they rely, their tradeoffs, and how to evaluate their utility against your requirements. You will learn how practical systems were derived from the frontier of research in computer science and what systems are coming on the horizon. Cloud computing, SQL and NoSQL databases, MapReduce and the ecosystem it spawned, Spark and its contemporaries, and specialized systems for graphs and arrays will be covered. You will also learn the history and context of data science, the skills, challenges, and methodologies the term implies, and how to structure a data science project. At the end of this course, you will be able to: Learning Goals: 1. Describe common patterns, challenges, and approaches associated with data science projects, and what makes them different from projects in related fields. 2. Identify and use the programming models associated with scalable data manipulation, including relational algebra, mapreduce, and other data flow models. 3. Use database technology adapted for large-scale analytics, including the concepts driving parallel databases, parallel query processing, and in-database analytics 4. Evaluate key-value stores and NoSQL systems, describe their tradeoffs with comparable systems, the details of important examples in the space, and future trends. 5. “Think” in MapReduce to effectively write algorithms for systems including Hadoop and Spark. You will understand their limitations, design details, their relationship to databases, and their associated ecosystem of algorithms, extensions, and languages. write programs in Spark 6. Describe the landscape of specialized Big Data systems for graphs, arrays, and streams...

최상위 리뷰

HA

Jan 11, 2016

Great course that strikes a balance between teaching general principles and concepts, and providing hands-on technical skills and practice.\n\nThe lessons are well designed and clearly conveyed.

SL

May 28, 2016

I like the breadth of coverage of this class. Each of the exercise is a gem in that I get to learn something new also. I would highly recommend this even to experience practitioner also.

필터링 기준:

Data Manipulation at Scale: Systems and Algorithms의 148개 리뷰 중 26~50

교육 기관: Francisco A J

Mar 06, 2017

Overall, this was an excellent introductory course. The instructor presented the material in a very clear manner and introduced all topics using applied examples. The weekly assignments were aligned with the course content as well, allowing me to apply the knowledge learned in each lesson.

교육 기관: Jeffery L T

Jan 27, 2017

Great course!

교육 기관: Do H L

Jun 30, 2016

I had a lot, really, a lot of fun in this course.

The first week was really awesome! Although the debugging was very tedious and time-consuming, I felt a great deal of achievement first hand dealing with Twitter data and coded up text analytics algorithms from scratch.

Really a great introductory course to data science! Highly recommend because it's really fun. However, a great amount of comfort with coding and patience for working through ambiguous bug messages will be essential to completing this course :)

교육 기관: Kenneth P

Dec 06, 2015

Course is well structured, moving on with the lessons is a build up of techniques and concepts. Delivery of the course material is well paced and gives all the required information to grasp the concepts.

교육 기관: Korbinian K

Nov 07, 2016

Really useful course when you want to learn about big data management and need a starter. It is however definitely recommended to have some programming experience and knowledge about bash/command line. The course met all my expectations, but to make it perfect I would have wished for an extra exercise using Pig or Spark.

교육 기관: Wonjun L

Mar 06, 2016

If you are interested in data science then this course is the right one.

교육 기관: Ivan S

May 11, 2017

Nice !

교육 기관: kazım s

Sep 10, 2017

If you want to head into Data Science, this is a nice course that will help you.

교육 기관: Kevin R

Nov 12, 2015

Great exercises one can learn alot from.

교육 기관: Batt J

Apr 14, 2018

Very good course for understanding the underlying logic behind emerging big data technologies

교육 기관: Leonid G

Jun 20, 2017

Comprehensive and clear explanation of theory and interlinks of the up-to-date tools, languages, tendencies. Kudos and thanks to Bill Howe.

Highly recommended.

교육 기관: Menghe L

Jun 08, 2017

great for learner

교육 기관: Roland P

Jul 27, 2017

Great intro into wider aspects

교육 기관: Shivanand R K

Jun 18, 2016

Excellent thoughts and concepts presented.

교육 기관: Daniel A

Nov 21, 2015

This was a great course - well planned out and really informative. Thanks!

교육 기관: Bruno F S

Feb 15, 2016

Great course for those who want to know more about big data analysis.

교육 기관: NothingElse

Nov 06, 2015

speed is too fast, I can hard to keep pace with teacher's s

교육 기관: Ahmed M E E

Apr 14, 2017

Very good and informative course for data scientists and data engineers

교육 기관: Daniella B

Apr 21, 2016

Lectures are great and well structured. Programming assignments are just amazing and interesting. Great course!

교육 기관: Robert H S J

Feb 15, 2016

I learned so much from this course. In particular, I've got a much more solid grasp of SQL (even though I've been using it for 30 years), and much more clarity about "map/reduce". The lectures are clear, delivery is excellent, and the assignments are interesting.

교육 기관: Benjamin T

Feb 25, 2016

- great and very useful overview of concepts important in big data that does not get bogged down in random details

- interesting and sufficiently challenging assignments

교육 기관: Daniel W

Apr 26, 2017

For me, a really nice combination of

1. a theoretical overview of database and data processing concepts, MapReduce and the most important implementations of the various concepts (SQL and NoSQL databases),

2. practical application of these concepts in real-world programming exercises.

I like the way Bill explains, and I like the exercises - however, to complete those, you need to be ready to learn the technology on your own, the lectures are NOT about learning the technology (Python programming etc.) to do the exercises. For me, that's fine, but for people who have little or no programming experience it might be frustrating.

So, if you like the combined approach of this course, I can really recommend it!

교육 기관: devang

Oct 04, 2015

Amazing Course!

교육 기관: Roberto S

Jun 13, 2017

Very good introduction to the topic; requires quite an effort to complete the assignments, but the outcome is worth it.

교육 기관: Shambhu R

Jul 27, 2016

Very nice course!