Chevron Left
An Introduction to the U.S. Food System: Perspectives from Public Health(으)로 돌아가기

존스홉킨스대학교의 An Introduction to the U.S. Food System: Perspectives from Public Health 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
별점
113개의 평가
26개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

A food system encompasses the activities, people and resources involved in getting food from field to plate. Along the way, it intersects with aspects of public health, equity and the environment. In this course, we will provide a brief introduction to the U.S. food system and how food production practices and what we choose to eat impacts the world in which we live. We will discuss some key historical and political factors that have helped shape the current food system and consider alternative approaches from farm to fork. The course will be led by a team of faculty and staff from the Johns Hopkins Center for a Livable Future. Guest lecturers will include experts from a variety of disciplines, including public health, policy and agriculture....

최상위 리뷰

RD
2018년 4월 28일

Loved it! I recommend it to anyone new to public health, horticulture, agriculture, farming, agroecology and the like. I wish I took this course sooner. A+

YF
2017년 8월 27일

I really enjoyed learning about all the different aspect surrounding the U.S. food system. The video lectures were very clear and informative!

필터링 기준:

An Introduction to the U.S. Food System: Perspectives from Public Health의 26개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: Andrea B

2017년 12월 31일

This was an interesting course and wasn't what I expected when I first signed up. I think I was expecting a more dry course on the US food system, but it actually ended up being quite interesting and focused a lot on different aspects of the food system which are problematic. For an introductory course into the food system it covered many different topics without getting too focused on any one thing, and I hope they decide to add more courses that focus on these different topics so we can learn about them on a deeper level.

교육 기관: Milonee

2018년 3월 15일

Excellent primer into the history of the U.S. Food System, the problems associated with industrial agriculture, and the efforts which are currently underway to address these problems. Highly recommend for someone who has little experience in this field and wants to learn more. Lectures are engaging and taught by a variety of experienced professionals, many of whom have books/essays which you can follow up with if you find their lectures engaging.

교육 기관: Nehleen A

2017년 11월 28일

One of the best classes I have taken in Coursera. Amazingly informative and comprehensive lectures, yet understandable to the lay person. I learned a lot and grateful for all the information about our food systems. This class gave me a broad perspective and understanding of our food system, something that I need

교육 기관: Reshama D

2018년 4월 28일

Loved it! I recommend it to anyone new to public health, horticulture, agriculture, farming, agroecology and the like. I wish I took this course sooner. A+

교육 기관: Beatriz E

2020년 7월 14일

This has been one of the best courses that I have encountered as it provides a lot of information. And this information would help me apply the concepts to my field, as well as raising awareness to positive and negative impacts of food to nutrition, public health, agriculture, aquaculture, economics, society, and the environment.

Thank you to this course! I am hoping for more courses relating to food.

교육 기관: Matthew L

2020년 10월 31일

This course is an excellent series of lectures that provide essential information to anyone who is interested in understanding how our national food system developed over time. Moreover, the instructors provide recommendations for how we can thwart further harm and rebuild our food system into a more resilient one.

교육 기관: Ava R

2018년 1월 13일

This course contains a wealth of information concerning the U.S. food policies from the history of the Farm Bill to cultural and subjective norms that determine our food choices. I would recommend this course for anyone interested in environmental sustainability,

교육 기관: Claude C

2020년 1월 9일

Excellent course for both the uninformed and those familiar with food system work. Highly recommend to anyone seeking to deepen their understanding of the relationship between food and health, climate and equity.

교육 기관: Yotam F

2017년 8월 27일

I really enjoyed learning about all the different aspect surrounding the U.S. food system. The video lectures were very clear and informative!

교육 기관: Nancy Y M

2020년 8월 11일

Thank you for the insight into the present state of our food system and for showing me the opportunities for advocacy. I loved the course !

교육 기관: TIgba T C

2020년 11월 10일

Wonderful experience. Impactful and so exposing to importance of a transformed global food system inferred from the US food policy

교육 기관: Eleonora N

2019년 4월 20일

Great course full of deep, provocative and sometimes even shocking insights about the subject. We all should now these things!

교육 기관: Biswajit D

2018년 4월 18일

The learnings from this course will me more healthier and I will apply these concept to my family members .

교육 기관: Gedaliah R

2018년 4월 11일

life changing subject matter - excellently presented. highly recommended

교육 기관: Josh L

2018년 9월 7일

Great introduction to an extremely complicated topic

교육 기관: Rachel B

2017년 11월 21일

A great foundation for thinking about food systems.

교육 기관: Candace T

2020년 4월 20일

So very interesting.. particularly the Farm Bill

교육 기관: Milan S

2018년 2월 1일

Thank you -I learned a lot

교육 기관: Besto J

2020년 10월 6일

Loved the course

교육 기관: Emanuelle L

2017년 5월 30일

Very good!

교육 기관: Mona A A

2020년 7월 1일

good

교육 기관: Javier M

2017년 8월 1일

The course was comprehensive and interesting overall. I do have some criticisms: genetic engineering is viewed in a very negative light as well as conventional farming. The arguments that were presented resemble rhetoric from certain consumer groups, instead of sound science. I think it's important to get rid of this false dichotomy between scientific innovation and sustainability as these can come together to provide actual solutions to the problems facing the food system today.

교육 기관: Maria C Z

2018년 1월 25일

I enjoy the lectures. Although, the information in some cases are not very up to date. Some of the slides are more that 5 years old. i don´t know if it is becuase new data has not been updated. Great for introduction to beginners.

교육 기관: Jonathan G

2018년 2월 2일

Great course. I learned a lot although I found the last module to be somewhat redundant and philosophical and had nothing to do with the running and operation of a farm

교육 기관: Ajeeth A

2019년 9월 21일

Good, basic course for someone not familiar with the US food system. Very fact-based with easy to understand discussion of scientific and economic topics.