Chevron Left
Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization(으)로 돌아가기

펜실베이니아 대학교의 Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
1,199개의 평가
342개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Colossal pyramids, imposing temples, golden treasures, enigmatic hieroglyphs, powerful pharaohs, strange gods, and mysterious mummies are features of Ancient Egyptian culture that have fascinated people over the millennia. The Bible refers to its gods, rulers, and pyramids. Neighboring cultures in the ancient Near East and Mediterranean wrote about its god-like kings and its seemingly endless supply of gold. The Greeks and Romans describe aspects of Egypt's culture and history. As the 19th century began, the Napoleonic campaign in Egypt highlighted the wonders of this ancient land, and public interest soared. Not long after, Champollion deciphered Egypt's hieroglyphs and paved the way for other scholars to reveal that Egyptian texts dealt with medicine, dentistry, veterinary practices, mathematics, literature, and accounting, and many other topics. Then, early in the 20th century, Howard Carter discovered the tomb of Tutankhamun and its fabulous contents. Exhibitions of this treasure a few decades later resulted in the world's first blockbuster, and its revival in the 21st century has kept interest alive. Join Dr. David Silverman, Professor of Egyptology at Penn, Curator in Charge of the Egyptian Section of the Penn Museum, and curator of the Tutankhamun exhibitions on a guided tour of the mysteries and wonders of this ancient land. He has developed this online course and set it in the galleries of the world famous Penn Museum. He uses many original Egyptian artifacts to illustrate his lectures as he guides students as they make their own discovery of this fascinating culture....

최상위 리뷰

SD

May 28, 2018

This is indeed a great course. It is very simply put and very easy to follow up.\n\nDo join without any hesitancy if you have a genuine interest in learning about the history of ancient Egypt!

MC

Feb 17, 2020

This is a great course about Ancient Egypt. I went right into the next course "Wonders of Egypt". I also love the Penn Museum in Philadelphia which inspired me to take this course!

필터링 기준:

Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization의 338개 리뷰 중 101~125

교육 기관: Julia C

Jun 14, 2017

I loved this course. It was taught with enthusiasm and there were lots of illustrative examples of objects

교육 기관: Lillianne d H G

Apr 25, 2019

An interesting course very well organised and led by professor David P. Silverman. I highly recommend it.

교육 기관: Rummenigge S d N

Dec 11, 2016

Dr. David Silverman is just great. I learned much about Ancient Egypt, even in an introductory course.

교육 기관: Deleted A

Jan 28, 2018

COURS INTERRESSANT , CONSTRUCTIF, AGREABLE A SUIVRE .

MERCI A MONSIEUR LE PROFESSEUR david SILVERMAN

교육 기관: Francis C

Jul 21, 2017

Very lively and documented course.

English slow enough for good understanding by foreigners.

Enjoyable.

교육 기관: İrem Y

Jul 20, 2017

ı really like the course and the professor Silverman. ı learnt a lot from him. thanks for everything.

교육 기관: Mary R

Aug 14, 2017

Very informative and interesting! I would love more courses on Ancient Egypt from this University

교육 기관: zcecily

Dec 06, 2016

very intesting. what i like most is the collateral readings, very helpful for ancient egypt fans.

교육 기관: daniel e

Nov 13, 2017

This was very interesting and informative course on Egyptian mystery and purpose of their faith.

교육 기관: Nicola R

Feb 18, 2018

Good course - interesting information giving a broad background of key topics in Ancient Egypt.

교육 기관: Mary J B

Jun 30, 2019

This course is Informative, fascinating and interesting. I enjoyed it and plan to take another

교육 기관: Luis L

Nov 26, 2018

Excellent teacher and to be able to see important pieces in the Penn Museum was a plus. Thanks

교육 기관: Theresa N

Sep 11, 2018

An excellent introduction to the huge topic of Ancient Egypt. I plan to take the next course.

교육 기관: Susan B

Feb 28, 2017

Very interesting course. I was surprised to find how little I knew about Ancient Egyptians.

교육 기관: Aura M S A

Jan 14, 2020

It has a lot of interesting information and make me to be a more curious person about Egipt

교육 기관: Krystyna S

Jun 07, 2019

Loved this course! There is loads of information, very detailed and well paced delivery.

교육 기관: Brent M

May 13, 2017

Course is a great introduction to Ancient Egypt, format and outline is well thought out.

교육 기관: Philopatear A B S

Jan 18, 2020

a perfect and quick course about ancient Egypt .. very recommended as an introduction

교육 기관: Lucy I D L R T

Jan 03, 2018

Excelente la información proporcionada de una manera muy didáctica, amena y sencilla

교육 기관: Deborah B

Oct 16, 2019

Amazing course! I would definitely recommend people taking this wonderful course.

교육 기관: Roshan V P

Feb 20, 2018

Very Systematic structure of the course, very simplified , easily understandable.

교육 기관: Mia O

Aug 01, 2017

Really enjoyed taking this course it was very fascinating but easy to understand.

교육 기관: Rizwaana H

Dec 17, 2016

A great introduction - very enjoyable! Would definitely like to continue further.

교육 기관: Antonina Z

Dec 12, 2016

Very nice and interesting course, to learn more about Egypt history and culture.