Chevron Left
Introduction to Data Engineering(으)로 돌아가기

IBM의 Introduction to Data Engineering 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
413개의 평가
92개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course introduces you to the core concepts, processes, and tools you need to know in order to get a foundational knowledge of data engineering. You will gain an understanding of the modern data ecosystem and the role Data Engineers, Data Scientists, and Data Analysts play in this ecosystem. The Data Engineering Ecosystem includes several different components. It includes disparate data types, formats, and sources of data. Data Pipelines gather data from multiple sources, transform it into analytics-ready data, and make it available to data consumers for analytics and decision-making. Data repositories, such as relational and non-relational databases, data warehouses, data marts, data lakes, and big data stores process and store this data. Data Integration Platforms combine disparate data into a unified view for the data consumers. You will learn about each of these components in this course. You will also learn about Big Data and the use of some of the Big Data processing tools. A typical Data Engineering lifecycle includes architecting data platforms, designing data stores, and gathering, importing, wrangling, querying, and analyzing data. It also includes performance monitoring and finetuning to ensure systems are performing at optimal levels. In this course, you will learn about the data engineering lifecycle. You will also learn about security, governance, and compliance. Data Engineering is recognized as one of the fastest-growing fields today. The career opportunities available in the field and the different paths you can take to enter this field are discussed in the course. The course also includes hands-on labs that guide you to create your IBM Cloud Lite account, provision a database instance, load data into the database instance, and perform some basic querying operations that help you understand your dataset....

최상위 리뷰

OL
2021년 10월 12일

I am currently studying Chemical Engineering. However, after going for industry training as a data analyst, I decided to venture more in this direction and I really learn a lot from this course.

AR
2021년 9월 25일

I felt the course was the perfect introduction for someone like me that has been on the sales side of most software. I feel that it wasnt ovewhelming at all, and I mostly enjoyed the labs.

필터링 기준:

Introduction to Data Engineering의 95개 리뷰 중 76~95

교육 기관: Domenic S

2021년 11월 2일

I​ really enjoyed the Introduction to Data Engineering from IBM's Professional Certificate offering. As I continue with my academic pursuits, I will work at building my practical experience in the data science field. I will probably start out as a junior data analyst or programmer and from there, learn as much as I can about databases and data consumers to hopefully gain better insight into database administration.

교육 기관: Marta L

2021년 8월 26일

Very useful insights into the basics of engineering, just enough to be able to navigate within more technical conversations as a project manager of any IT manager without tangible technical educational/professional background. However some videos were repeating topics several times, which was a bit boring on one side, on the other side helped to memorize the material.

교육 기관: Sandeep P

2021년 8월 25일

This course is suitable for beginners who want to start on Data Engineering.The expertise insight on specific topics are useful for beginners who have enrolled for this course.IBM designed this course for Data Engineers who want to start the career into Data Engineering who have less or no experience in this field.

교육 기관: Jonathan P

2021년 9월 19일

Right level of detail for an introductory course; I appreciated the repetition as this helped to solidify the learning. My only suggestion would be to have longer quizzes / more assignments, as these were very short; sometimes 2 or 3 questions whereas Id recommend 10-15.

교육 기관: fateme t

2021년 5월 9일

I think more hands on experience is required. And the course was pretty short. But the fact that they repeated things several times was very helpful to stick into mind.

교육 기관: Vedant B

2021년 7월 19일

I thought it would cover more technical things, but otherwise it was a great course and gave me vast knowledge about data engineering.

교육 기관: Camilo J

2021년 8월 25일

content was great, but there were some technical issues such lab not working or coursera website links not working properly

교육 기관: Natsga

2021년 11월 30일

Good to earn , im happy to learn easyinstraction and video great !.

keep earning .

thank you!

교육 기관: Jorge C

2021년 7월 11일

It's a good introduction material, you can't expect nothing more in a introduction course.

교육 기관: Ahmed B

2021년 10월 27일

best for a all round starting course

교육 기관: Hopeton M

2021년 10월 25일

loved the course

교육 기관: Sheraz M

2021년 8월 13일

I​nformative

교육 기관: Nadia A H P

2021년 7월 11일

Amazing

교육 기관: Colleen O

2021년 10월 17일

This is listed as a "Beginner" course, but I don't think so. They use terminology, and then don't explain what that terminology means in the moment...if at all. (e.g. API, Relational Database, NonRelational Database, Data Warehouse, Data Mart, Data Lake. Their explanation of Delimeter wasn't good). I have at least a dozen things I had to Google, and I marked them as such.

Things that don't need repeating or further explanation get exactly that...it's very odd.

Also, One of the Practice Quizzes contradicts the Graded Quiz re: whether XML format is used by APIs (I have a screenshot.)

Advice to the Creators:

It's October 2021. Nobody has the bandwidth, spoons, or patience anymore. Hell, we only have the Bones a few days a week, at most. (Pending confirmation from Noodle, of course). TL;DR as much as possible, and CLEARLY EXPLAIN the rest IN THE MOMENT, TO PEOPLE WHO ARE BEGINNERS TO TECH.

Thank you.

교육 기관: William W

2021년 8월 5일

I​ thought this course was a pretty insightful introduction, but the process of provisioning a DB2 instance on IBM cloud was terrible. The instructions given were simple and straightforward, but my DB2 provisioning process kept failing, and when I went on Coursera's forums, I saw that many others were having this same problem. Eventually I followed some of their advice (that they had acquired through trial and error), and I did successfully provision a database. But when I went to the db's "manage" tab, there was no option to "Open Console."

T​his is a shame because it made it impossible to do some of the later labs, and honestly it did give me a bit of a negative impression of IBM's cloud services.

교육 기관: Der H

2021년 9월 9일

T​he videos are very nice and give a good introduction into Data Engineering. Unfortunately, literally none of the hands-on exercises worked. In every single one the IBM cloud returned errors and I couldn't proceed. The tutors in the forum suggested to delete the DB and create it from scratch. I learned the basics of data engineering in this course and I learned that the IBM cloud is probably not an reasonable tool to use for it.

교육 기관: Mayank R

2021년 3월 10일

A lot of content and time is about Data Engineering careers, etc. including quiz questions. These are good to know as a FYI but I don't think it should be included in course quizzes.

교육 기관: Richárd S

2021년 11월 19일

The basic material would be good, but the presentation and quality is poor. No resources added, the IBM service (IBM cloud) you should use for lab assignments needs a credit card, which was no problem for me, but my account got deactivated for no reason, and I would say customer care is non existing at IBM as they don't give you any kind of information. I had the feeling who ever created this material is an expert on its field, but had not much to do with teaching.

교육 기관: Vishmi H R

2021년 11월 15일

Giving 1 star because there is no notification before being charged for subscription. I have totally lost interest in completing anymore IBM courses on coursera for this reason. The subscription is not cheap.

교육 기관: Carlos v

2021년 8월 2일

it repeat the same thing over and over.