Chevron Left
Mathematics for Machine Learning: Linear Algebra(으)로 돌아가기

임페리얼 칼리지 런던의 Mathematics for Machine Learning: Linear Algebra 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
별점
10,871개의 평가

강좌 소개

In this course on Linear Algebra we look at what linear algebra is and how it relates to vectors and matrices. Then we look through what vectors and matrices are and how to work with them, including the knotty problem of eigenvalues and eigenvectors, and how to use these to solve problems. Finally we look at how to use these to do fun things with datasets - like how to rotate images of faces and how to extract eigenvectors to look at how the Pagerank algorithm works. Since we're aiming at data-driven applications, we'll be implementing some of these ideas in code, not just on pencil and paper. Towards the end of the course, you'll write code blocks and encounter Jupyter notebooks in Python, but don't worry, these will be quite short, focussed on the concepts, and will guide you through if you’ve not coded before. At the end of this course you will have an intuitive understanding of vectors and matrices that will help you bridge the gap into linear algebra problems, and how to apply these concepts to machine learning....

최상위 리뷰

PL

2018년 8월 25일

Great way to learn about applied Linear Algebra. Should be fairly easy if you have any background with linear algebra, but looks at concepts through the scope of geometric application, which is fresh.

CS

2018년 3월 31일

Amazing course, great instructors. The amount of working linear algebra knowledge you get from this single course is substantial. It has already helped solidify my learning in other ML and AI courses.

필터링 기준:

Mathematics for Machine Learning: Linear Algebra의 2,180개 리뷰 중 2026~2050

교육 기관: Shreyas S

2020년 4월 30일

Fiirstly, going with the positives , the instructors were clear and effective in teaching the subject. Also,the feedback from the assignments were also good .Video quality was amazing.

I also felt that it was a very brief course, not worth an average Indian father's one week income.Also there was no option for Audit. Also, most assignment were substandard and involved lot of calculations which I felt is a waste of time. The coding assignments were also pretty simple and straight-forward.

교육 기관: Anweshita D

2018년 6월 29일

Your discussion forum really needs to be better. It seems to be the only place where any sort of doubt clearing can be done and very rarely have I seen TA's answering unless it's a grading issue. The problem with this sort of answering is that if any coding concepts are unclear, either they are solved by trial and error or after going through Google multiple times. And for a course that is paid for, I shouldn't have to make this much of an effort just to have my doubts cleared.

교육 기관: Steve

2020년 7월 4일

The course starts well and in general the first instructor does a good job trying to help the student develop an intuition of the concepts. However, weeks 4 and 5 are extremely weak. Very important concepts like eigenvalues and eigenvectors are poorly explained. The final quiz on these concepts asks questions that were never discussed or explained in the videos. I found I needed to go elsewhere on the Internet (like 3Brown1Blue) just to help me get through some of the quizes.

교육 기관: Alois H

2021년 2월 18일

Teaching quality is good overall, except for a few jumps towards the end, where it's hard to follow. Quizzes and assignments well designed.

Unfortunately, and contrary to other courses I've taken, the forum seems completely un-monitored (as of May 2019), so don't expect much help from there.

Overall it's a good start of the specialization. Sadly, the teaching quality of the other two courses (multivariate calculus and PCA) is way below the standards of this one.

교육 기관: k i

2021년 6월 28일

Without about intermediate knowledge on vectors, you would be having a tad difficult time doing this course. I have already studied Linear Algebra in my University, attaining an A grade and found the explanation for some of the parts a bit confusing. It is not bad by any means, but just that I believe a more structured/concise explanation for some of the terms might be more accessible for beginners or students who have never learned about Lin Alg before.

교육 기관: Adam T

2021년 11월 7일

The course was informative on most of the Linear Algebra you need for machine learning. The programming assignments and quizzes are mostly relevant to what you learn beforehand. However, some of the videos feel rushed and I found it difficult to take notes in time without having to replay the videos. There is also a lack of written content after each video describing the content covered, which would have been a godsend for me with my method of learning.

교육 기관: Matthew H

2021년 3월 16일

Definitely enjoyed some parts of the course but in general, the explanations are brief, requires spending significant time outside of videos on Youtube, discussion boards etc as they skip or miss key points for a beginner to grasp Linear Algebra concepts. Happy that I completed the course, but a lot of improvements should be made by including course notes that supplement common queries/misunderstandings students have in relation to the course materials.

교육 기관: Xinhui Y

2020년 9월 8일

This course is not very hard for students with some maths foundations like me, but the programming assignment is too hard, even though I knew some basic Python knowledge. Two lecturers sometimes could not explain one concept clearly with some typical examples. I could only learn by doing assignments or use formulas to calculate without real understanding. This course is only for some basic concepts but not solid learning.

교육 기관: Chika

2019년 6월 13일

The videos were well structured, but the quiz sometimes were far more difficult than the practice questions in video. I had posted on forum but no comment nor reply. Quiz answers were not elaborate enough to understand after making mistakes. So I had to ask my father who's extremely good at maths many times, for explanations. Without hi help I might not have been able to understand as well. Need improvement.

교육 기관: Zax

2021년 4월 13일

This class fluctuates between impossibly hard, because a lack of instruction and examples were provided and too simple, because the same question is asked repeatedly. There is also very little mention of machine learning, despite the name of the specialization/course. That said, it was still the best survey course of the linear algebra concepts most relevant to machine learning.

교육 기관: Ali R A

2020년 5월 10일

The course starts off well enough, but by week 4 the intuition for certain concepts is not imparted well at all, and the correspondence between notation from the lectures and that used in the practice quizzes breaks down badly.

I gave it 3 stars instead of 2 stars because the geometric intuition that is imparted is quite good, even though at times the notation is sloppy!

교육 기관: Nate C

2019년 1월 26일

Having no background in linear Algebra made it difficult to complete the quizzes, assignments and exams. Even with the instruction (which was good) I found the hands on portions to be different from what was being explained in the videos. I will instead have to take the key concepts and do more research on my own to fully understand them.

교육 기관: Eslam A

2022년 5월 14일

Let me first thank you all for the effeors that you put to make this course avaialbe on Coursera. The teachers are passionate and they have their unique ways of sharing their knowledge. However, I think some warp ups are needed after each cocept as at some point i got confused and did not know what we were doing this and that.

교육 기관: Fernando B d M

2018년 5월 14일

Like most of Coursera's courses there are no staff members available in the forums (which is extremely shameful for Coursera - repeating the same boring pattern over the years). Don't even try it if you have never seen linear algebra or python before. Otherwise, it's useful for practicing a few concepts or refreshing others.

교육 기관: Mattia P

2018년 3월 30일

Nice course, with many insights. Sometimes the topics are given too quickly, I would have rather preferred less arguments but discussed more thoroughly. Nevertheless, I think this is a good one, especially if you've already got some background and you're looking for some general content to build upon it using academic books.

교육 기관: Huy T

2021년 6월 17일

Overall, I learned some new stuff in this course. The programming exercises were interesting. However, the instructors really should provide more explanations regarding the calculations, formulas, and exercises' instructions and feedbacks. In many occasions, I had to looked up explanations online to solve the homework.

교육 기관: Anais P

2020년 5월 7일

Very challenging and interesting. However, the last module was a bit confussing and needed to look for materials on the Internet to really grasp a bit of understanding on the subject. Although sometimes frustrating, I think it is a good start to recap mathematics with a very practical approach.

교육 기관: Faye M

2020년 1월 16일

Overall, it was a good summary to understand linear algebra. To get into the topic, I had to read through additional material as the videos and tasks provided in this course were a little shallow to my liking. I, personally would have liked more applicable machine learning examples.

교육 기관: Ilaria G

2019년 10월 24일

I believe that the programming required in the assignments are not beginner level. I had never coded on Python before and I thought that there wasn't enough support on how to test my code before submitting, for example. On the other hand, the math topics were really interesting.

교육 기관: Thomas S

2020년 10월 16일

I give this a three because the course focuses on themes with a macro lens while not giving the microdetails much explanation. Good foundation and interesting topic, but it seems counterintuitive for me to have to supplement the lectures with youtube lectures...

교육 기관: Chakravarthy R

2019년 9월 16일

It was too fast for me. I answered many questions just by chance. But i got an overview of the concepts like diagonalisation , inverse, transpose, basis, span , eigen and so on. I am hoping that i will build on this.

교육 기관: Denys H

2022년 8월 6일

I searched a lot of additional information in order to understand something. This is the most disadvantage of this course. Nevertheless, the course have many exercise and labs, which were interesting.

교육 기관: G V

2022년 1월 23일

The course objectives, aims, and motives were very clear but after mid week 3, the teaching became abstract and the professors should have given little more explanation about the advanced topics.

교육 기관: Meng H P

2020년 2월 1일

I am feeling like something is missing during the last part of the course when it comes to Page Rank Algorithm. There should be more explanation to how the math works or comes to its formula.