Chevron Left
Economics of Money and Banking(으)로 돌아가기

컬럼비아대학교의 Economics of Money and Banking 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.9
별점
1,223개의 평가
339개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

The last three or four decades have seen a remarkable evolution in the institutions that comprise the modern monetary system. The financial crisis of 2007-2009 is a wakeup call that we need a similar evolution in the analytical apparatus and theories that we use to understand that system. Produced and sponsored by the Institute for New Economic Thinking, this course is an attempt to begin the process of new economic thinking by reviving and updating some forgotten traditions in monetary thought that have become newly relevant. Three features of the new system are central. Most important, the intertwining of previously separate capital markets and money markets has produced a system with new dynamics as well as new vulnerabilities. The financial crisis revealed those vulnerabilities for all to see. The result was two years of desperate innovation by central banking authorities as they tried first this, and then that, in an effort to stem the collapse. Second, the global character of the crisis has revealed the global character of the system, which is something new in postwar history but not at all new from a longer time perspective. Central bank cooperation was key to stemming the collapse, and the details of that cooperation hint at the outlines of an emerging new international monetary order. Third, absolutely central to the crisis was the operation of key derivative contracts, most importantly credit default swaps and foreign exchange swaps. Modern money cannot be understood separately from modern finance, nor can modern monetary theory be constructed separately from modern financial theory. That's the reason this course places dealers, in both capital markets and money markets, at the very center of the picture, as profit-seeking suppliers of market liquidity to the new system of market-based credit....

최상위 리뷰

BG
2017년 7월 16일

An intellectually engaging course opening a debate about how we think about markets and how we should tackle the current challenges. Accessible to non-economists. I warmly recommend it to everyone.

PM
2020년 6월 26일

Extremely helpful is understanding the money view of banking system. One of the best courses. A small suggestion - it can be interspersed with more examples especially from the emerging markets.

필터링 기준:

Economics of Money and Banking의 334개 리뷰 중 151~175

교육 기관: callum s

2020년 8월 14일

Builds from initial concepts and history to explain how money and finance work at a global level today.

교육 기관: Edi P

2020년 8월 7일

Well explained, I like the "balance sheet" approach to explaining various topics covered in the course

교육 기관: Alan F

2019년 5월 3일

So far just extremely insightful, inspiring and life-changing. Plus well-organized and well-explained.

교육 기관: Sebastian A H

2019년 9월 9일

This course gives a very broad framework of banking with a clear explanation of how the system works.

교육 기관: de f h

2018년 8월 10일

The best course I've ever had. When will Prof. Mehrling's History of Economic Thought be broadcasted?

교육 기관: Aarav M

2021년 2월 23일

Excellent has lead me to understand the markets and systems in an intuitive and professional manner.

교육 기관: Cheng Z

2020년 5월 31일

Best money and banking course ever from someone working in the industry for years after granudation

교육 기관: advet g

2020년 11월 22일

my experience was so good . i suggest you everyone , please join this course for successful future

교육 기관: Jeremy A

2019년 4월 28일

Excellent course! Highly recommended for anyone interested in understanding the financial crisis.

교육 기관: Jagannathan I

2018년 6월 21일

Amazing course to learn more about the nitty gritty of money markets that keep the world running!

교육 기관: Luc M

2017년 10월 12일

This is one of the most favourite course I have ever come across in Coursera. Highly recommend!!!

교육 기관: Zongxi Y

2017년 5월 19일

This course is really useful and help me know more about the relationship between Money and Banks

교육 기관: Roussille A

2017년 5월 6일

Great course !! Very interesting and the teacher is great. The understanding is quick and simple.

교육 기관: Matheus C

2020년 6월 21일

Ótimo curso para pessoas que estão buscando aprimorar seus conhecimentos em economia mundial.

교육 기관: antonio b

2020년 6월 3일

Amazing Course on finance! It should be available to all graduate student in all disciplines!

교육 기관: Cristian E E N

2020년 2월 11일

Very good course and excellent teacher! You can see his passion for the subjects he teaches.

교육 기관: Shahab M

2019년 1월 23일

Exceptional. Really fascinating course for a regular person to understand money and banking.

교육 기관: Jesus P S

2020년 5월 1일

Impresionante el curso, la mejor formación sobre el negocio bancario que he podido tener.

교육 기관: Joviano C d P J

2019년 12월 23일

This is a very good course, with a whole perspective about how the banking system works.

교육 기관: John B

2021년 5월 12일

Fantastic. Excellent teacher, I learned a lot. Thanks for putting this course together.

교육 기관: MUSLIUDEEN T A

2020년 5월 16일

It is an eye opener for me essentially as regards how banking system works in our world

교육 기관: Rene F

2019년 12월 8일

A staple for those that want to understand the current mechanics of money and banking

교육 기관: Gustavo G

2018년 10월 29일

Es excelente. Por su teoría, por su fundamentación y por la metodología de enseñanza.

교육 기관: Ruperto U

2021년 3월 18일

Really interesting topic and very well explained by Prof. Mehrling. Congratulations

교육 기관: Panchio R

2019년 4월 4일

Such great and complete course. Professor extremely professional and knowledgeable.