Chevron Left
Introduction to Philosophy(으)로 돌아가기

에든버러대학교의 Introduction to Philosophy 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
3,738개의 평가
849개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course will introduce you to some of the main areas of research in contemporary philosophy. Each module a different philosopher will talk you through some of the most important questions and issues in their area of expertise. We’ll begin by trying to understand what philosophy is – what are its characteristic aims and methods, and how does it differ from other subjects? Then we’ll spend the rest of the course gaining an introductory overview of several different areas of philosophy. Topics you’ll learn about will include: Epistemology, where we’ll consider what our knowledge of the world and ourselves consists in, and how we come to have it; Philosophy of science, where we’ll investigate foundational conceptual issues in scientific research and practice; Philosophy of Mind, where we’ll ask questions about what it means for something to have a mind, and how minds should be understood and explained; Political Philosophy, where we'll investigate whether we have an obligation to obey the law; Moral Philosophy, where we’ll attempt to understand the nature of our moral judgements and reactions – whether they aim at some objective moral truth, or are mere personal or cultural preferences, and; Metaphysics, where we’ll think through some fundamental conceptual questions about free will and the nature of reality. The development of this MOOC has been led by the University of Edinburgh's Eidyn research centre. To accompany 'Introduction to Philosophy', we are pleased to announce a tie-in book from Routledge entitled 'Philosophy for Everyone'. This course companion to the 'Introduction to Philosophy' course was written by the Edinburgh Philosophy team expressly with the needs of MOOC students in mind. 'Philosophy for Everyone' contains clear and user-friendly chapters, chapter summaries, glossary, study questions, suggestions for further reading and guides to online resources. Please click "Start Here" and navigate to the "Optional Reading" page for more information....

최상위 리뷰

LT

Sep 02, 2015

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and find that it encouragingly sets some directions, and of course, raises my excitement for further study into some of the different fields of philosophy. Thank you.

CC

Oct 08, 2015

Great explanations that is broken down with examples for understanding. Quizzes test for your understanding of the topic rather than just the textbook explanations. Challenging and thought revoking.

필터링 기준:

Introduction to Philosophy의 836개 리뷰 중 226~250

교육 기관: Gabriel R

Sep 13, 2015

Really enjoyed the methodology and the subjects. For me that didn't know anything about the topic, it opened up a whole new world.

교육 기관: danielle m

Aug 28, 2015

love the course.

교육 기관: Gustavo B R B

Nov 11, 2015

Very good course, the classes were very elusive and the teacher is amazing.

교육 기관: Roberto G F O

Oct 26, 2015

Great course!

교육 기관: Sávio S R M

Oct 05, 2015

Sensacional....

교육 기관: Osman A A R O

Feb 12, 2016

Good!!!

교육 기관: Luis M

Nov 13, 2015

Excelente curso para aprender lo básico, me gusto mucho y lo recomiendo a quien quiera adentrarse a este inmenso mundo :3

교육 기관: Jean D B D

Sep 13, 2016

Very interesting

교육 기관: AI L

Sep 16, 2015

So clear and objective. Love it.

교육 기관: Vibert A M

Sep 18, 2015

A basic teaching of Philosophy. The idea of having specialists lecture in thei indivvidual concepts was a direct enhancement in the themes presented. I consider that the course will be repeated ,for several years.

교육 기관: Patrick K

Jan 12, 2016

Great presentation of the history of philosophical thinking with a focus on how to find your way through competing and contradictory arguments.

교육 기관: Mariana B

Aug 22, 2015

I really love it.

교육 기관: Karolina K

Feb 07, 2018

Such a shame that my previous philosophy lessons were focusing on ancient philosophers only. This course gives you a whole new perspective, covering many philosophical questions from diverse points of view, including those ancients and the very modern ones. It makes you want to dig dipper! :)

교육 기관: Chris

Aug 23, 2015

Good course,i absolutely gained more knowledge about human beliefs and thoughts.Thank you instructors.

교육 기관: Nico S

Sep 24, 2015

Muy bueno!

교육 기관: Alexis O

Dec 14, 2015

I love the way this course let you embrace the basics notions of philosophy.

The only bad thing it's that I haven't found a course like this (That talks of philosophy) in this site, so I think Coursera need more of this courses.

교육 기관: 方冠华

Aug 26, 2017

A great introductory course. It makes me really curious about the answers to many fundamental questions, and also challenges the way I used to think about other things.

교육 기관: x

Jan 16, 2016

Very interesting class with very competence professional!

Was a honor learn introduction to Philosophy offer by the university of Edinburg, see u guys in next courses!

Edvim Borges

교육 기관: Florence V

Aug 17, 2015

It is interesting. Thank you !

교육 기관: Leonardo C

May 09, 2018

Very interesting course! I've learned a lot... and it changed the way I thin

교육 기관: Sascha R

Aug 21, 2015

Great course to introduce non-professionals/beginners into major fields or topics of philosophy. Excellent quality of lessons: teachers were always good to understand, even for non-native speakers, and eager to get across main themes to disciples inexperienced in philosophical studies. Only critique: difficulty levels of exams could have been more evenly balanced.

I can only recommend this course to anyone interested in the study of philosophy; great job by the University of Edinburgh and its staff for organizing this on Coursera.

교육 기관: Horacio L

Oct 24, 2015

Very good teaching strategy. Takes you through ideas and gives you examples. Has a couple of questions each video to keep your attention. It is a very interesting subject, even if the teaching was bad, but the lectures add even more by taking their time with concepts. Keep doing what you're doing. I would take other courses by this school if they were similarly designed. Thank you.

교육 기관: Annie W

Aug 26, 2015

Excellent course, interesting topics, the instructors all teach in a clear but professional way. Thank you Professor Richmond for spending so much time helping us on the discussion boards! In the future, I would love it if there was more recommended reading, and not just strictly related to the topics in the lectures. Thank you very much!

교육 기관: Eliud V H V

Aug 10, 2017

Excellent program to introduce several contemporary themes of philosophy, with a broad perspective but at the same time accessible and rigorous.

교육 기관: Pablo G A

Jun 05, 2017

I think this course is interesting and well structured. I think it is a good introduction to philosophy. I learned a lot about morality, knowledge, laws, politics, minds, science, free will, and time travel.

The course also helped me to practice English :-)

Thanks!