Chevron Left
Using Python to Access Web Data(으)로 돌아가기

미시건 대학교의 Using Python to Access Web Data 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
28,132개의 평가
5,070개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course will show how one can treat the Internet as a source of data. We will scrape, parse, and read web data as well as access data using web APIs. We will work with HTML, XML, and JSON data formats in Python. This course will cover Chapters 11-13 of the textbook “Python for Everybody”. To succeed in this course, you should be familiar with the material covered in Chapters 1-10 of the textbook and the first two courses in this specialization. These topics include variables and expressions, conditional execution (loops, branching, and try/except), functions, Python data structures (strings, lists, dictionaries, and tuples), and manipulating files. This course covers Python 3....
하이라이트
High quality content
(256개의 검토)
Practical assignments
(217개의 검토)

최상위 리뷰

DA

Apr 24, 2020

Great course. The lectures are clear and thorough. The assignments are challenging yet doable. The only thing I would like is to see more assignments to get more practice with the techniques learned.

JM

Dec 03, 2016

I have not found an easy way to learn how to code with python language. Mentor are really helpful and Dr Chuck is one of the most self explain professor that I have met in my three university career.

필터링 기준:

Using Python to Access Web Data의 4,943개 리뷰 중 51~75

교육 기관: Do H L

Jan 05, 2016

Dr. Chuck is an exceptionally-inspiring teacher. He explains complex concepts like XML, JSON, HTTP, API, RegEx in such an eloquent and down-to-earth fashion that despite having the videos at x2.0 speed, I can grasp everything he tries to deliver. Amazing! This course, and many other Dr. Chuck's courses, are really how online courses should be. Excellent instructor, fair share of hands-on programming assignments.

However, I just hope that there are many more programming assignments, maybe many optional challenging, extensive programming assignments or even projects would be an ultimate Coursera experience.

교육 기관: Sidra F A

May 31, 2018

There are times in this course when you would want to go and hug Dr Chuck for making it so simple and easy to understand few of the most complex concepts in language and specially for people having no prior knowledge of the subject. One gets this feeling quite often "keep going, you can do this, its easy".

Also, this will be my first ever course on coursera that I'll complete and not just leave in the middle because this is how an online course should be - doesn't waste time, has condense information in every minute of the video lectures and stays true to topics without going under/overboard.

교육 기관: Jenkins P S J

May 22, 2020

The course content is excellent. The way of teaching of the great Dr Chuck is very engaging. This is the third course I have taken under him and surely, he is one of the best teachers I ever had. He breaks down the contents into nice little pieces and presses one those areas which are important. The assignments are a bit challenging compared to the previous two courses and encompasses everything that are thought in the course. The bonus contents are awesome and love watching them after doing the assignments. Overall, as a great learning experience with Dr Chuck as it always will be.

교육 기관: Maksym S

Nov 16, 2015

I'm not exactly new to python, but my typical use-cases looked more like hacking rather then conscious programming.

Said all this, I've found the first block - introduction to Python, to be very basic and slow paced, but starting from the Web it is all good stuff only.

It deserves to become one of the coursera classics. Great combination of pedagogical talent, humor an knowledge of the subject. It also tremendously helps that the course is backed by the book so it is always possible to look back for that "Introduction to Python" part, that I've skipped ;)

교육 기관: beliefs22

Jan 01, 2016

I've taken a number of courses on Python through Coursera and this was the first course that I was able to follow through to completion, and I believe that is a combination of Dr. Chucks teaching style, and the activities he uses to convey the information. It was amazing to learn about things like using APIs and mixing python with Databases in a way I could understand at my level of programming knowledge, and it enabled me to start thinking about my own projects in a completely new way.

I'm really looking forward to completing the capstone project.

교육 기관: Michael R

Jun 07, 2016

This course has been a Godsend to me. I was so confused about so many things and all the other resources I could find out there just assumed that I knew things about which I was, in fact, clueless. I got the book and watched a lot of the lectures twice but in the end I really feel like I got it. The assignments were manageable and doable after the course lectures and I have gone back and done a number of them over again to solidify things in my mind. I feel like the web is my friend now, not a source of cheap tricks and booby traps. Thanks!

교육 기관: Joe W

Jun 15, 2017

While I'm an experienced programmer I'm relatively new to Python and had never done anything with either XML or JSON before this course. Yet here I am understanding it all and successfully doing genuinely useful things with them in Python.

There can't be that many courses that can get a beginner useful in just six sets of lessons. Novice programmers should take this at the recommended pace and do not move on until you have 100% on all assessment items. Experienced programmers should be able to complete this in a couple of days. I did. :)

교육 기관: Jarosław G

Oct 14, 2018

I am totally new to programming. I have experience working in a technical environment

and have a lot to do with IT in my daily job, but I wanted to learn something new. I made

different attempts to learn to programm, but all of them failed. Now, I have been doing the whole module

of Python for Everybody (5 courses) and I am enjoying it a lot. Lectures by Dr Chuck are really insporational, well prepared and

easy to understand to a person who does not have any experience with programming.

I am becoming more and more involved into python:).

교육 기관: Juan O L

Jan 20, 2016

I think this course is a really good overview of how to use Python to retrieve web data using the two most common data interchange formats: XML and JSON. Not only that, but you also get a brief yet good introduction to what XML and JSON are, as well as the basics of network communication and regular expressions. I was hoping the assignments would be a bit more challenging, but the free textbook provides additional exercises to practice with. As always, Dr. Chuck's style helps makes this course (and his other ones) a great one.

교육 기관: Juan D

Jul 08, 2016

I learnt Python with the introductory course "Programming for Everybody". Then, I completed this course and it added a whole lot of tools to my knowledge. It is amazing how much you can accomplish in such a short course. The assignments are very well oriented, so by basically modifying the code you wrote for this class you can already do a lot. It also gives you a very good basic knowledge about web programming, so you can now understand and interpret many things and concepts you are seeing all the time. I recommend it a lot.

교육 기관: Derek O

Oct 16, 2017

Great course all around, truly feel like I learned a lot! Really appreciate how Dr. Chuck takes concepts and topics that could easily get mixed up or "over-thought" (my bad habit haha) and orders them in a way that flows well and makes sense to the relative rookie like myself. Thanks so much for making someone who used to think he'd never be able to code feel like "Hey I can do this stuff!" It will make a huge difference in my career and my personal confidence. Please keep making great courses! =) - Kind regards, Derek

교육 기관: Anand B S

Oct 17, 2016

The Teacher made me thirsty of more work. Especially in the last chapter, I was looking for more challenging work. The way the assignment was designed and the topics were taught made me think, the assignment for the last week was quite easier and I was expecting something more challenging. This proves the beauty of this class. I wish I have a trainer like this always with me, at least as long as I cannot go out and look for work myself.

Thanks a million to Dr. Charles Severance. This is a very positive experience.

교육 기관: Jonpaul W

Mar 02, 2016

Good initial overview to the topic. Most code is actually provided to the student, preventing deeper learning via trial & error. However, it is a tradeoff of making the course accessible to a large number of students versus being too challenging and preventing newcomers from enjoying the subject. Dr. Severance is excellent -- entertaining and clearly very knowledgable. For any novice programmers looking to understand how Python can be used to access the web and scrape its data, this is the best place to start.

교육 기관: Leonard M

Sep 13, 2018

This is the 3rd course of the "Python for Everybody" specialisation in Coursera.While the first 2 courses were too easy, I found that things started to get more interesting with this one. We learn about Webservices, XML and JSON manipulation and web scraping with Python. The level is still easy but the teacher is engaging and the code examples are well done. With some imagination, one can easily reuse this knowledge and go to the next level.This is a good course to learn the basis of web services with Python.

교육 기관: Vitalii U

May 27, 2018

Excellent course as the previous Python for Everybody courses I have taken before. It gave good understanding on how programming languages interact with web services. On top of this it gives good introduction to API. Examples and assignments really help not only to get theory, but ho to use the knowledge in practice. In addition this helps better to remember the materials of the course. Great initiative and really good introduction to programming which could help to take more advanced courses in data science.

교육 기관: Joseph G

May 09, 2017

This is a very good course. My goal from this course was to get knowledge about using python to extract data from websites and apis. I come with a business intelligence background and I found this course very useful and is definitely going to add value in my career. The professor was great and it was a pleasure to watch his videos and hear his knowledge. I will recommend this course to anyone who is interested in making use of a beautiful language (-Python) to extract data from the internet. FIVE STAR

교육 기관: Edward F

May 31, 2017

I took the Python Specialization, which included this course, so I'm going to provide the same review for each of the component courses.

I think this is an excellent course for beginning programmers. Python is a great language for someone starting out - easy to learn - with a lot of power available for more advanced projects (e.g., machine learning).

But, most of all, you have to love Dr. Serverance. I can't think of a more entertaining and enjoyable person to teach programming. Thanks, Dr. Chuck.

교육 기관: Aitor J G

Jul 23, 2018

Wonderful course, the way Chuck explains it is the cherry on the cake that makes all the specialisation even more valuable. The content itself is really useful and a good starting point for projects that require the use of APIs. If something I wish there was a video explaining how to understand the "def augment" that Dr-Chuck did, referring to the "oAuth.py" of the twitter API but overall I'm really happy with all I've learnt and I would definitely recommend this to all curious people out there.

교육 기관: Alan P

Oct 30, 2015

Awesome.

Truly awesome.

Professor Severance (a.k.a. 'Dr Chuck') is an amazing teacher, explaining the content in a clear yet engaging way - truth is, it gives the impression of being a wonderful human being tout-court. The coding exercises are very well crafted, and show how to use tiny Python snippets to carry out heavy tasks.

So if you've never really sat down to learn regexes, or if you want to have a minimal web crawler/scraper running in less than one hour, this class might be your cup of tea.

교육 기관: Christopher T

Dec 20, 2017

Dr. Chuck's courses are great!! I am enjoying them immensely. I had the pleasure of meeting Dr. Chuck in person. He is personable and engaging. Take the chance to meet him if he hosts live office hours near you. These Cousera MOOCs are easy to navigate and provide a wealth of valuable material for people at all levels. The first assignment of week 6 was the hardest yet, but following Dr. Chuck's lectures and with the help of some very wise mentors and tutors the code problems are easily solved.

교육 기관: Venugopal A

Feb 05, 2016

It was really helpful. I have 18 years of software development experience, but never learnt python and after going through this course, I could understand the power of it and how it can be used. I could learn the concepts very well and of course had to google to refresh myself, but its well organized and put together in a way we can learn easier and faster.

Thanks to Dr Chuck. Sometimes your comedy was above and beyond, but at the end of the day, it was a good course and learned quite a bit.

교육 기관: Manuel A A T

Jul 20, 2016

Absolutely a MUST for anyone looking for a smooth intro into APIs, HTTP requests, and data exchange on the web. As always, Dr. Charles' magnificent pedagogy will guide you step by step up to the point where you will be sending requests and fetching data from your Twitter account. Create one if yo do not have it yet. :-)

It will be absolutely beneficial to update this course to discuss the Twitter library available in Python, wish is far easier to use than the currently explained method.

교육 기관: Jeff N

Feb 07, 2016

Outstanding Course for a newby. All about programming. Lectures and problems are clear and relate directly to the subject not related topics like statistics and other disciplines which add nothing to the Python and Python programming focus. Dr. Severance has built a great specialization here. Problems can be challenging but doable within the time frame represented by the course description (give or take a couple hours on some of the more challenging ones. I've learned alot! Thanks

교육 기관: Ian S F

Apr 22, 2020

Great course. A lot of fun!. I'm a finance guy that knew a little bit about data structure only in MS Access that could modify the sql in there a little bit. I figured I could use the quarantine to learn something new at night and on the weekends.

I started the first class to get an understanding of python so I could take the statistics classes with python. Decided to try and finish out the specialization first. Glad I did. On to the next...

Thanks Dr. Chuck and support team!

교육 기관: Artjom S

Jan 18, 2016

I like this course, but for me it was a little bit harder to understand some basic stuff. Ie, in JSON for me was confusing to hear "a list of dictionaries".

Furthermore I didn't know what kind of operations I need to apply to them -- therefore I was checking for types of integers and even "brute forcing" a combinations of possible operations.

As I have finished this course, I'l definitely check again previous chapters to build a better fundamentals in my head.

Thank you dr Chuck!