Chevron Left
The Blues: Understanding and Performing an American Art Form(으)로 돌아가기

로체스터 대학교의 The Blues: Understanding and Performing an American Art Form 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
454개의 평가
186개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

The blues is an American art form and the most important musical form in jazz. Although there are other formal paradigms of the blues, such as 8-bar or 16-bar, this course focuses on different incarnations of the 12-bar blues. There are considerable differences between Early Jazz blues, Swing blues, Bebop blues, Modal blues, and Post Bop blues. Each type has its unique harmonic syntax, melodic vocabulary and, associated with them, improvisational techniques. While other aspects of jazz performance practice have been constantly changing from one stylistic convention to another, the blues has never lost its identity and expressive power, and continues to exert a powerful influence on the harmonic and melodic syntax of jazz. This seven-week course explores important aspects of the blues, blues improvisation, basic keyboard textures, jazz harmonic and melodic syntax. Topics include: (1) Blues Progressions; (2) Blues and Other Scales; (3) Improvisational Tools, and others. This course will also cover valuable theoretical concepts enabling the student to master the art of jazz improvisation. Each topic will be introduced from a practical perspective with the clearly stated goal: to improve one’s improvisational skills. Jazz improvisation is rooted in spontaneity, creativity, self-expression and, at the same time, self-control and order. A unique pedagogical approach based on a one-to-one musical interaction conducted with different instrumentalists will help to reinforce many of the concepts introduced in this course and realize its stated objectives....

최상위 리뷰

JB

Jul 28, 2020

Very good and enjoyable mix of practice and theory - from basics to more advanced with good explanations throughout. I just wish I was a better piano player to be able to take full advantage of it!

AN

May 10, 2020

This course is really interesting. I would like to recommend this course to those who genuinely loves music. Thanks to the University of Rochester for launching this wonderful masterpiece.

필터링 기준:

The Blues: Understanding and Performing an American Art Form의 183개 리뷰 중 51~75

교육 기관: Ben S

Jan 28, 2017

This course presents the relationships between various aspects of composition and performance in a clearly structured manner, demystifying much about blues jazz that had confused me before. This has improved my musicianship, but more so my music appreciation.

교육 기관: Sofia K

May 16, 2016

Although I don't have any musical background I really enjoyed this course and have learned and understood a bit more about the blues.

Thanks to the Professor and the musicians for giving their time and effort to make this MOOC a reality.

Much appreciated.

교육 기관: Linda Y

Aug 30, 2020

The Lecturer was amazing in his teaching technique but also his talent. My one suggestion is that many of the written notes are not written correctly. This can be confusing at times. Other than that I loved the course and would highly recommend it.

교육 기관: Robert B

Oct 02, 2018

Very interesting and informative course. The theory was a bit over my head, I did not know what the pre requisites were. I did not fully understand most of it but it sounded so good to me. I am sure it will sink in if I take the course again later.

교육 기관: Jean P G C

Jul 14, 2020

Excelente curso. Un curso completísimo para gente interesada en relacionar la teoría musical con la música popular. Sirve para comprender de buena manera los alcances del blues y su desarrollo en el jazz, rock y en gran parte de la música popular.

교육 기관: Michael C

Jul 20, 2017

Excellent. I've learned a lot and got lots of opportunity to see not only the harmonic content on a page, but listening examples and "play-alongs." I'd definitely recommend this course to someone else and already have!! Thanks for the great class!

교육 기관: Francois B

Jun 15, 2018

Good focus on theoretical content plus practice tips and how to apply the knowledge. Very interesting.I would have liked more advanced examples on piano from the teacher to show case how far you can get with his teaching.

교육 기관: Anthony R J

Feb 08, 2019

Thank you for the excellent method of educating and presenting examples of how to understand and play music and especially The Blues. The Instructor was simply Grand in his delivery and structure.

Anthony Ray Johnson

교육 기관: Ralitsa N

Sep 12, 2017

A course I would recommend to anyone who wants to dig into blues origins and forms. I ended up with some very valuable improvisational tools as well! Thanks to all the people involved into making this couse available!

교육 기관: Pavel T

Dec 29, 2017

I expected to see the content different from what was in the course but nevertheless it was great. Quite challenging, more jazz then blues, in my opinion, but a lot of great ideas and techniques for improvisation.

교육 기관: Anne E

Jun 03, 2017

Excellent teacher; a delight to take the lessons and absorb the concepts involved in improving my improvisation skills. Many thanks; I'm thrilled to have had the opportunity to take this very worthy course.

교육 기관: John B

Jul 28, 2020

Very good and enjoyable mix of practice and theory - from basics to more advanced with good explanations throughout. I just wish I was a better piano player to be able to take full advantage of it!

교육 기관: Azajul I N

May 10, 2020

This course is really interesting. I would like to recommend this course to those who genuinely loves music. Thanks to the University of Rochester for launching this wonderful masterpiece.

교육 기관: Jack

Sep 18, 2017

Thanks so much to all involved - I found the material to be clearly presented and rich in content. It really helped me to understand how to grow in my jazz exploration.

교육 기관: Sandro V O d M

Apr 02, 2017

Thanks a lot, Dariusz Terefenko! You are a terrific teaching and outstanding musician! This course changed the way I thought about music, it really made the difference!

교육 기관: Marek J

Jun 27, 2016

Very good course for all musicians. Explains advanced blues and jazz theory in easy way. Very interesting material about the music history and harmony evaluation.

교육 기관: Christos H

Jul 13, 2017

(my-spacebar-does-not-work)---anyway-excellent-course-tought-by-a-knowledgable-instructor.-A-tremendous-amount-of-information-and-insight.-Highly-recommended.

교육 기관: Martin B

May 04, 2020

Great teaching needed to go through each lesson a few times to maximise information transfer and now need to practice the theory! Thanks for this course.

교육 기관: Dmitry A

Dec 31, 2016

The most interesting and complete course about the blues I've have ever seen! Structured, clear and very kind form of teaching. Thank you, Dariusz!

교육 기관: Jordi F

Jun 30, 2017

All you need to know about how blues works. You won't be a blues musician after seven weeks but you've got a big step in the way to got it.

교육 기관: Massiel

May 15, 2019

Very nice and genial course. I learned some new aspects i didnot know or which i had dute. More course like this please. Thank very much

교육 기관: Lekhan

May 08, 2016

Excellent content and faculty ! thoroughly enjoying it : )

Thanks a lot to all who have worked towadrds making this material available

교육 기관: Herman J V

Jun 25, 2018

Very well explained, step by step, increasing difficulty and suitable for different levels of music theory knowledge. Great teacher.

교육 기관: John P

Dec 04, 2016

Compact and informative lectures that de-mystify the art form. Thank you!

(Will need to practice a lot for it all to sink in though)

교육 기관: Catherine C

Oct 27, 2017

Everything is clearly explained and demonstrated. It was great being able to downloads course videos and transcripts for reference.