Chevron Left
Writing for Young Readers: Opening the Treasure Chest(으)로 돌아가기

코먼웰스 교육 신뢰의 Writing for Young Readers: Opening the Treasure Chest 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
별점
938개의 평가
368개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course is for curious students and aspiring authors with a passion for writing for young readers. Participate in a dynamic online community of writers as you experiment with your own writing and develop your voice. This course will guide you with a combination of video lectures, online readings, peer reviews, and guest appearances from world-renowned children’s authors. As you work through the writing exercises, you will give and receive feedback from your peers and gain tools and techniques for improving your writing. During this course you will identify stories that matter to you, explore cultural significance and boundaries, and shape your identity as a writer; become familiar with standard elements of narrative (character, setting, plot, theme, language, dialogue, point of view); reflect on your own work and practice essential self-editing skills; see the different ways in which words and art interact, and the possibilities of longer narrative forms; come away with practical insights into publishing options; and create a plan for pursuing your enthusiasm for writing. By the end of the course, you will have ten to twelve extracts of writing that you can develop into a portfolio. Join a dynamic community of many voices from around the world. Find inspiration in your own voice, heart, and place so that you can tell the stories for young readers you’ve always wanted to tell....

최상위 리뷰

DB

Feb 07, 2016

I am a beginner wantabee author and publisher, first steps are elementary, as I need. Self paced, life can get in the way. Instructors are wonderful, as are the guest speakers and interviewees Thanks.

FO

Jul 17, 2017

This course introduces writing in an easy to understand way. The interviews with published authors are very insightful as well. The exercises are a great avenue to practice what the Mooc instruct

필터링 기준:

Writing for Young Readers: Opening the Treasure Chest의 361개 리뷰 중 301~325

교육 기관: Kristen H

Mar 15, 2019

Excellent information and overview from first draft to writing a query letter. I work in publishing but not in children's publishing, and I picked up a lot of new tricks from this course.

교육 기관: Lianne

Jul 13, 2017

Very fun, and interesting. Only thing that was lacklustre for me was the peer-feedback. I gave a lot of specific feedback and didn't really get anything back. Other than that, awesome.

교육 기관: Paulo S

Nov 25, 2015

I learned some helpful tips on how to edit and how to better structure a story. But there were assignments particularly on the last two that should have used assignment two or three.

교육 기관: Rhiannon D

Feb 18, 2016

Very simplistic in places and preaches their style as if it is the only way sometimes too. However it's a good grounding in the basics and there are some useful exercises.

교육 기관: Kajol B

Oct 18, 2015

Basic course for budding writers.

Good practice.

Also, excellent interviews with other published writers, editors and playwrights. It was the highlight of the course for me.

교육 기관: Ejikeme J O

Aug 14, 2016

I Love this Course. It challenges me to write. It makes me believe I can be a good writer, may be an author.

Thank you Commonwealth Education Trust Team.

교육 기관: Bunly M

Jan 06, 2018

This course is fun but informative. It gives practical knowledge of writing skill for a very curious group of readers, the children. Recommended.

교육 기관: Heissell R

Oct 08, 2018

I enjoyed the guess interviews. A few times I looked them up on google to see what other books they had written. It was nice to see real life ex

교육 기관: Nazanin M

Aug 16, 2016

Loved this course! I just wished there was a better system for peer reviews, because I couldn't get any helpful tips or feedbackthrough them.

교육 기관: Edima

Jul 03, 2016

Pro

Great introductory creative writing course.

Con

Need to create a more structured approach for people when they are giving feedback.

교육 기관: Shirley J

Sep 15, 2017

This course is incredibly helpful on many levels. The advice given from the course instructors and guest instructors is very good.

교육 기관: Suranjana R

Jun 22, 2016

I had a great time learning . It was fun as well as informative. Maybe we can have a story competition in another of your courses.

교육 기관: Johana T M K

Aug 24, 2015

It was good tips. it has really interesting interviews. It was been really positive experience and encouraging to keep writing.

교육 기관: Ranjeeta R

Jan 04, 2018

Loved the course! It would have been perfect if along with peer reviews we could have been reviewed by famous writers as well!

교육 기관: DEBRA

Jun 27, 2016

I found this course a very inspiring a thoughtful experience. It gives you direction provides you a meaningful path to follow.

교육 기관: Grace M

Oct 27, 2015

A pretty basic but very enjoyable and thorough course in writing for younger readers. I really enjoyed my time on this course.

교육 기관: Dorothy E

Jan 14, 2017

Great course to learn the basics of writing and to get a broader view on what i means to be an author of children's fiction.

교육 기관: PATRICIA J R

Jun 01, 2017

I'm an English teacher, so much of this was second-hand to me. However, I'm sure it would be hugely beneficial to others.

교육 기관: Safen R

Jun 02, 2016

A very introductory course that helps in getting an idea on how to write for young readers. I found it quite useful.

교육 기관: Shaini K

Nov 21, 2015

Great introductory course for writing for children. Comprehensive topic coverage, however not too much detail.

교육 기관: Hasan F

Dec 16, 2015

A great tool for beginner writes, but not very good at showing you how to write SPECIFICALLY for children.

교육 기관: Aaliya T

Nov 29, 2015

I am loving this course and it feels liberating to write again, after so many months of idleness.

교육 기관: Ann K

Jul 14, 2017

I particularly enjoyed the writing prompts and Maria Gill's portions of the course.

교육 기관: Mamotheba M

May 11, 2017

I am finding this course helpful. The presentations are simple and easy to follow

교육 기관: Yan O L

Dec 24, 2019

The course materials are very informative and useful. Thanks for the good work.