Chevron Left
Writing for Young Readers: Opening the Treasure Chest(으)로 돌아가기

코먼웰스 교육 신뢰의 Writing for Young Readers: Opening the Treasure Chest 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
863개의 평가
334개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course is for curious students and aspiring authors with a passion for writing for young readers. Participate in a dynamic online community of writers as you experiment with your own writing and develop your voice. This course will guide you with a combination of video lectures, online readings, peer reviews, and guest appearances from world-renowned children’s authors. As you work through the writing exercises, you will give and receive feedback from your peers and gain tools and techniques for improving your writing. During this course you will identify stories that matter to you, explore cultural significance and boundaries, and shape your identity as a writer; become familiar with standard elements of narrative (character, setting, plot, theme, language, dialogue, point of view); reflect on your own work and practice essential self-editing skills; see the different ways in which words and art interact, and the possibilities of longer narrative forms; come away with practical insights into publishing options; and create a plan for pursuing your enthusiasm for writing. By the end of the course, you will have ten to twelve extracts of writing that you can develop into a portfolio. Join a dynamic community of many voices from around the world. Find inspiration in your own voice, heart, and place so that you can tell the stories for young readers you’ve always wanted to tell....

최상위 리뷰

DB

Feb 07, 2016

I am a beginner wantabee author and publisher, first steps are elementary, as I need. Self paced, life can get in the way. Instructors are wonderful, as are the guest speakers and interviewees Thanks.

FO

Jul 17, 2017

This course introduces writing in an easy to understand way. The interviews with published authors are very insightful as well. The exercises are a great avenue to practice what the Mooc instruct

필터링 기준:

Writing for Young Readers: Opening the Treasure Chest의 327개 리뷰 중 251~275

교육 기관: Jane K

Dec 09, 2016

This is the first MOOC I did and it was a great experience. The instructors and guests were pleasant and informative. The assignments were fun to do and the peer reviews were all respectful, most were very constructive.

Would recommend!

교육 기관: Kajol B

Oct 18, 2015

Basic course for budding writers.

Good practice.

Also, excellent interviews with other published writers, editors and playwrights. It was the highlight of the course for me.

교육 기관: Aaliya T

Nov 29, 2015

I am loving this course and it feels liberating to write again, after so many months of idleness.

교육 기관: Kattia C

Sep 01, 2015

Very good Training! Lots of examples and practical knowledge.

교육 기관: Kim S

Jan 14, 2016

This is a great course to get you writing. The interviews with writers are particularly helpful. The assignments are well thought out though there was some confusion when it came to peer reviews and how to assess word count which the staff are trying to sort out. Peer reviews were very varied as some people just wrote one word down which was no help at all, while someone inexperienced wil struggle with this I think the course should include an early module on reading and critically as reviewing someone's work is a great aid to writing and editing your own work. Course paperwork could include a critical checklist to help with peer reviews. I would have found that helpful so that I could be confident Of doing a good job. I think you should also be able to edit your reviews as a mistake will mean your fellow writer could be marked down. All in all though well worth doing. Many Thanks to the tutors, staff and guest writers.

교육 기관: Edima

Jul 03, 2016

Pro

Great introductory creative writing course.

Con

Need to create a more structured approach for people when they are giving feedback.

교육 기관: Elisa B

Jan 28, 2016

I did the MOOC just to break the ice and have a general idea about this world of writing for young audiences. I think the course is fair and quite complete, has some very interesting insights, and the videos as very informative and the perfect lenght (by the time your head can't take more info, they are over). Thank you very much, it has been a pleasure.

교육 기관: Ananda M

Oct 29, 2015

Overall an enjoyable course. I do find that the evaluation rubrics provided were a little bit unsatisfactory. In addition to improved rubrics, clearer instructions on how to use the rubrics would have been helpful.

교육 기관: Paulo S

Nov 25, 2015

I learned some helpful tips on how to edit and how to better structure a story. But there were assignments particularly on the last two that should have used assignment two or three.

교육 기관: Hanaa A

Sep 13, 2015

I love this course. I learned a lot. It ignited my passion for writing again.

교육 기관: Nguyễn M T

Nov 10, 2015

Great, this course upgraded my view.

교육 기관: Alexandra L

Aug 31, 2015

This was a very helpful course, as well as entertaining.

교육 기관: Dorothy E

Jan 14, 2017

Great course to learn the basics of writing and to get a broader view on what i means to be an author of children's fiction.

교육 기관: Ann K

Jul 14, 2017

I particularly enjoyed the writing prompts and Maria Gill's portions of the course.

교육 기관: Suranjana R

Jun 22, 2016

I had a great time learning . It was fun as well as informative. Maybe we can have a story competition in another of your courses.

교육 기관: Cátia B

Jun 27, 2016

I loved it all!

교육 기관: Grace M

Oct 27, 2015

A pretty basic but very enjoyable and thorough course in writing for younger readers. I really enjoyed my time on this course.

교육 기관: Luis F d C C G

Mar 01, 2016

This course was very nice, its objectives were clear and it gave a good panorama of the writing experience. The interviews with writers were interesting and some tips about editing and publishing were really valuable.

교육 기관: CLauder

Oct 04, 2015

I'm learning to write a book which is great.

교육 기관: Punam P

Aug 21, 2015

An excellent course. The inclusion of excerpts allows one to develop a greater understanding of the different topics dealt in the MOOC. Also, several excerpts are from stories written by authors based in different continents; this makes reading the excerpts all the more interesting. Also, the course allows one to adjust the deadlines for submitting assignments, which is a good thing.

교육 기관: Shaini K

Nov 21, 2015

Great introductory course for writing for children. Comprehensive topic coverage, however not too much detail.

교육 기관: Lino C

Dec 11, 2015

The instructors are great and the interviews are very useful. I would have liked to learn about tone and pacing of the stories. Is there a common structure (at least a basic one that we can later break?). Hollywood uses the three-act structure. Is this also useful for stories for young readers?

I learned a lot but perhaps there should be a second course. I'd be interested.

교육 기관: DEBRA

Jun 27, 2016

I found this course a very inspiring a thoughtful experience. It gives you direction provides you a meaningful path to follow.

교육 기관: PATRICIA J R

Jun 01, 2017

I'm an English teacher, so much of this was second-hand to me. However, I'm sure it would be hugely beneficial to others.

교육 기관: Ekaterina K

Sep 05, 2015

The course is helpful for begining writers. Thank you.