Chevron Left
Writing for Young Readers: Opening the Treasure Chest(으)로 돌아가기

코먼웰스 교육 신뢰의 Writing for Young Readers: Opening the Treasure Chest 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
별점
1,147개의 평가
476개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course is for curious students and aspiring authors with a passion for writing for young readers. Participate in a dynamic online community of writers as you experiment with your own writing and develop your voice. This course will guide you with a combination of video lectures, online readings, peer reviews, and guest appearances from world-renowned children’s authors. As you work through the writing exercises, you will give and receive feedback from your peers and gain tools and techniques for improving your writing. During this course you will identify stories that matter to you, explore cultural significance and boundaries, and shape your identity as a writer; become familiar with standard elements of narrative (character, setting, plot, theme, language, dialogue, point of view); reflect on your own work and practice essential self-editing skills; see the different ways in which words and art interact, and the possibilities of longer narrative forms; come away with practical insights into publishing options; and create a plan for pursuing your enthusiasm for writing. By the end of the course, you will have ten to twelve extracts of writing that you can develop into a portfolio. Join a dynamic community of many voices from around the world. Find inspiration in your own voice, heart, and place so that you can tell the stories for young readers you’ve always wanted to tell....

최상위 리뷰

DB
2016년 2월 6일

I am a beginner wantabee author and publisher, first steps are elementary, as I need. Self paced, life can get in the way. Instructors are wonderful, as are the guest speakers and interviewees Thanks.

FO
2017년 7월 16일

This course introduces writing in an easy to understand way. The interviews with published authors are very insightful as well. The exercises are a great avenue to practice what the Mooc instruct

필터링 기준:

Writing for Young Readers: Opening the Treasure Chest의 468개 리뷰 중 451~468

교육 기관: Sue L

2016년 12월 12일

While I found the content and instructors to be very good, I don't feel I received any true constructive criticism that will help me with my writing. I would have preferred having an instructor review my work and provide proper feedback. I understand it costs to have someon

교육 기관: Alexander S

2016년 2월 5일

A good but simple introduction to writing. The instructors (particularly David) are friendly and helpful - it's just that nothing is dealt with in any great depth. However, that helps make it good as an introduction.

교육 기관: Around H

2020년 12월 22일

I enjoyed the assignments and reading the other peoples work. I would love to hear from the instructors personally on my work. It is good to read others writing and get some feed back.

교육 기관: Cristian S P

2016년 5월 30일

Kind of basic about the writing stuff, i wish it work more about audience and characteristics of each age. Very useful the second part of the course, about editing.

교육 기관: Marjolein D

2015년 12월 18일

Good videos but strucural info and help. Unfortunately , for me it wasn´t very exciting or motivating and perhaps that is because of my own interests.

교육 기관: Monica B C

2020년 5월 22일

Yo envío mis trabajos, pero dice que estoy atrasada y no se como revisar el porque del atraso. Necesito ayuda. Gracias

교육 기관: Eddie M

2015년 12월 21일

The last two weeks of this course held great information. However, the first three weeks seemed to lack focus.

교육 기관: Mogeeb A R M

2020년 2월 3일

Nice course for writers in the start of their career, specially those intending to write for children.

교육 기관: Ana O

2015년 9월 3일

I enjoyed the course but I would prefered it to be longer. I found the second part more useful.

교육 기관: Kate K

2021년 8월 20일

A very good introduction for writing stories. Lots of useful, practical advice. Thank you.

교육 기관: Annabelle k l

2015년 10월 26일

Its intresting but often feels repetitive and more like advertising.

교육 기관: Thomasybruce

2015년 9월 8일

The interviews and course discussion are invaluable in this course.

교육 기관: Amy

2016년 3월 24일

Pretty basi

교육 기관: STEPHEN E

2016년 10월 9일

Very generic advice although the interviews with children's writers were illuminating and helpful. The marking system was inaccurate, for example it deducted marks for submitting an assignment over word count when it wasn't! Good, solid advice about setting character, scene and place and ideas to help you out of writer's block. The two main presenters were very knowledgeable and it was pitched to an international audience. Some of the activities were repetitious but I guess the craft of writing is but there was a sense of the course tapering away at the end with a proposal letter to a publisher with very little exemplar material being provided to assist.

교육 기관: Maureen M

2021년 5월 1일

I really enjoyed this course and the others I have taken through Coursera as well, but I am frustrated with the marking system! Some peers don’t fully understand the criteria or they are scammers, give 0% and tell you to take their English as a second language course. The system should figure out how to flag these people somehow. If I got 100% from one and a 0% from another that should tell you something.

교육 기관: Bev G

2021년 7월 10일

This course is touted as being for beginners and people who have already done some writing. For beginners yes... and I'd put this at about a Grade 7-8 level of teaching, perhaps. Much to simplified and not enough details. People are not told that there are online resources to check spelling and grammar that are very helpful and writing programs, as well. I copied the transcripts for my own use later, only to find spelling errors, grammar mistakes and the wrong words being used, all things that were under the what not to do category in one of your modules. The only good thing about this course is that it kept my brain moving and motivated to write. So, if you're a beginner, you'll enjoy this course, but if you've been writing for awhile, don't waste your time, unless you have nothing better to do. Happy writing!

교육 기관: Mehdiya a

2020년 5월 19일

I'm thankful for their effort but it said I didn't submitted my assignment and the peers reviewed it and it said all of them I got 0 and not passed

교육 기관: Deleted A

2020년 8월 13일

Lot of trouble in submission of assignment