Chevron Left
After the Arab Spring – Democratic Aspirations and State Failure(으)로 돌아가기

코펜하겐대학교의 After the Arab Spring – Democratic Aspirations and State Failure 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
215개의 평가
55개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Learn why the hope and excitement of the Arab Spring is gone, why so many Arab states are falling apart, why the youth are so frustrated, why there are so many refugees, and what can be done about it. The so-called Arab Spring appeared to end decades of exceptionalism and bring the Arab world back into the mainstream of global developments. The rebellions promised the return of politics and the reassertion of popular sovereignty against their corrupt and geriatric leaders. Much hope and flowery language greeted the young men and women who deposed their leaders and tried to build new, better societies. Today, the Arab world is in deep crisis. Of the 22 member states of the Arab League, at least five have essentially collapsed: Iraq, Libya, Yemen, Somalia and Syria exist only in name today, as their territories have fallen to competing, murderous armed groups. In the remaining countries, the old autocracies have reasserted themselves. The repression at home is now worsened by regional conflict on an unprecedented scale, and the resulting frustration has led to the biggest refugee flows in recent memory. What went wrong? This course offers an overview of the structural shortcomings of Arab states and societies, which help us understand why the democratic awakening did not happen but instead “has given way to civil wars, ethnic, sectarian and regional divisions and the reassertion of absolutism.” This raises the obvious and renewed question whether there is something inherent in the Arab, and by analogy Muslim, condition that makes them special. Does this condition make this part of the world impervious to generally observable trends towards greater accountability, popular participation in political decision-making, greater generation and fairer division of economic wealth? Join this course to find out!...

최상위 리뷰

LK

Oct 13, 2018

An eye opening experience. I really hope this becomes a mandated course among anyone participating in any diplomatic initiatives in the Middle East and the Arabic world.

BE

Sep 04, 2017

That is the second class I am taking with Professor Afsah and would love to take more. The class is interesting, engaging and relevant. Highly recommended!

필터링 기준:

After the Arab Spring – Democratic Aspirations and State Failure의 56개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: gigi n

Jun 20, 2019

Nice format to measure one's understanding of each subject matter. The course is thoughtfully intersectional; and its comprehensive in making good use of western political theories and concepts and how these idea have failed to develop or take root in Arab political history.

교육 기관: Rick a D N V

May 19, 2019

An useful overview of the Arab Spring events, its causes, consequences, and outlooks. A course which gives opportunity for rethinking the Arab world in a more profound perspective, without clichés and easy answers. A great course!

교육 기관: John L

Apr 29, 2019

A much simpler and shorter course than tghe Constitutional struggles course from the same stable, but well worth whole.

교육 기관: Mahmoud E

Apr 15, 2019

very good

교육 기관: Sujata A

Feb 27, 2019

Lucid and informative.

교육 기관: Katharina W

Feb 26, 2019

I gained enormous ins

교육 기관: Rebecca T

Feb 10, 2019

Overall, a very interesting and deep look at a the structural issues which plague the Arab Spring. The readings, however, consistently required more then the allotted 1 hour set in the course.

교육 기관: S M H s

Jan 06, 2019

Arab world systematically failed to produce the society which can yearn for the true democratic aspirations. The So-called "Arab Spring was absolutely clueless and leaderless. The leaders of Arab nations tried to mitigate the effect of uprisings by just giving them temporary comfort rather than installing democratic and sustainable economic system. Above all the "Political Islam" added insult to the injury which is most often misinterpreted in terms of bringing prosperity and justice in society. Consequently , producing vacuum for the group like "ISIS". Similarly, the purchased achievements in academia miserably led to rely on the family system nepotism. To sum up, It can be observed that pessimism seems to prevail in coming future for the democratic system in the future.

교육 기관: Noor

Dec 24, 2018

Very informative and eye opting for an Arab trying to understand why we r behind other countries and to realize how to go about it

교육 기관: Beatriz m D

Dec 13, 2018

Ha sido un gran curso.

교육 기관: Mohammed A A

Nov 19, 2018

thank you very very match

교육 기관: Ingmar S

Nov 11, 2018

pacing of this course was manageable with the tests coming after each video.

교육 기관: Leon K

Oct 13, 2018

An eye opening experience. I really hope this becomes a mandated course among anyone participating in any diplomatic initiatives in the Middle East and the Arabic world.

교육 기관: C.Winkel

Sep 29, 2018

Very interesting and enlightening course. The instructor is excellent and very well informed and engaging.

교육 기관: Jason B

Sep 11, 2018

Thank you Dr. Ebrahim Afsah for doing the research and disseminating all the information in a very presentable, and easy to understand fashion. I now have a much deeper understanding of the Arab Spring and the events that lead to the inevitable revolt. Great Course!

교육 기관: Akanksha S

Jul 27, 2018

I'm not much of a visuo-audio learner, so I mostly learnt through reading the transcripts. I have to say that the insight, the depth, the thorough and thought-provoking analysis offered by the professor is excellent, and truly made me love this course. I have been talking about it non-stop to my friends and family. I can't believe how much I have learnt about the Arab World and the Arab Spring through this one course, and it has been an extremely fulfilling experience. I am so glad I picked it, and I hope I can see more from Dr. Ebrahim Afsah. Thank you so much, it was a phenomenal experience!

교육 기관: Ruth J S H

Apr 12, 2018

Es una excelente herramienta para comprender los sucesos geopolíticos de la zona, además, se obtiene información sobre de política, democracia y gobernanza. La bibliografía es buena, si uno quiere ampliar los temas. ¡¡Gracias!!

It is an excellent tool to understand geopolitical events in the area, in addition, you get information about politics, democracy and governance. The bibliography is good, if one wants to expand the issues. Thank you!!

교육 기관: Sudhanshu M

Apr 01, 2018

This was a truly wonderful course! I took it as a high school student, and though the material was tough to comprehend at times - I was able to work through it. I truly learned so much about the Arab Spring. Our lecturer was fantastic and taught in a way that I didn't expect but grew to like. I recommend this course to anybody curious as to what the Arab future holds, and how this situation arose. Thank you to all!

교육 기관: Maren S

Apr 01, 2018

My sincerest thanks to Prof Afsah and the whole team. I wish I had more time at hand to participate in the discussion forum. The time factor has been the part I personally struggled most - but that´s maybe just me. I found the lectures highly informative and thought provoking. While suffering with a bad education system in my youth, I feel very fortunate having such an inspiring instructor as Prof Afsah.

교육 기관: Sara A M

Mar 29, 2018

the course is very good,I learned a lot of information I didn't know before .

although sometimes I felt that there is generalizations, and sometimes the instructor was biased.

I think they also should add the model answer and the justification

교육 기관: Kees S

Mar 01, 2018

Although I liked the course I found the quizes to be easy and it took me hardly any effort to pass. I would love to see the topics discussed in a far more indepth manner and reflecting course.

Thank you.

교육 기관: Afaque R A

Feb 24, 2018

An absolute masterpiece. Too many lessons, learnings and reasons for dysfunctional muslim and Arab societies mentioned and nicely explained in this course are directly applicable to the Pakistani case as well.

교육 기관: Gayatri V

Feb 22, 2018

Thank you very much for this course. I was always curious about the middle east and had a lot of pre-conceived notions. This course helped satiate my curiosity and correct a few assumptions I had. I like the way the course is structured. It is easy to understand and apply in real life. I liked the practical aspects of this course as well. Thanks, again, for teaching me, sir.

교육 기관: Hannah E

Feb 12, 2018

Not a very objective outlook on the Middle East after the Arab Spring. Quite disappointed to be honest as the University of Copenhagen is well known, and I expected their courses to be more informative instead of highly subjective.

교육 기관: Bernadette L

Jan 27, 2018

Outstanding lesson with profound knowledge of the lecturer.