Chevron Left
After the Arab Spring – Democratic Aspirations and State Failure(으)로 돌아가기

코펜하겐대학교의 After the Arab Spring – Democratic Aspirations and State Failure 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
별점
474개의 평가
134개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Learn why the hope and excitement of the Arab Spring is gone, why so many Arab states are falling apart, why the youth are so frustrated, why there are so many refugees, and what can be done about it. The so-called Arab Spring appeared to end decades of exceptionalism and bring the Arab world back into the mainstream of global developments. The rebellions promised the return of politics and the reassertion of popular sovereignty against their corrupt and geriatric leaders. Much hope and flowery language greeted the young men and women who deposed their leaders and tried to build new, better societies. Today, the Arab world is in deep crisis. Of the 22 member states of the Arab League, at least five have essentially collapsed: Iraq, Libya, Yemen, Somalia and Syria exist only in name today, as their territories have fallen to competing, murderous armed groups. In the remaining countries, the old autocracies have reasserted themselves. The repression at home is now worsened by regional conflict on an unprecedented scale, and the resulting frustration has led to the biggest refugee flows in recent memory. What went wrong? This course offers an overview of the structural shortcomings of Arab states and societies, which help us understand why the democratic awakening did not happen but instead “has given way to civil wars, ethnic, sectarian and regional divisions and the reassertion of absolutism.” This raises the obvious and renewed question whether there is something inherent in the Arab, and by analogy Muslim, condition that makes them special. Does this condition make this part of the world impervious to generally observable trends towards greater accountability, popular participation in political decision-making, greater generation and fairer division of economic wealth? Join this course to find out!...

최상위 리뷰

JY
2020년 4월 14일

Provides a fascinating and important approach to studying this topic. The professor's framework and intellectual depth enriched my understanding of this important and enduring problem.

LK
2018년 10월 12일

An eye opening experience. I really hope this becomes a mandated course among anyone participating in any diplomatic initiatives in the Middle East and the Arabic world.

필터링 기준:

After the Arab Spring – Democratic Aspirations and State Failure의 135개 리뷰 중 76~100

교육 기관: Elizabeth B

2017년 9월 20일

Excellent and very informative course, makes you think critically about the situation in the Middle East.

교육 기관: Zeeshan I

2017년 7월 29일

quite unique in features and highly informative to those who have an interest in this part of the world.

교육 기관: Khalaf M I

2020년 5월 25일

one of the best ever courses I have done so far. deep knowledge especially for Middle East students.

교육 기관: Samah A J

2020년 8월 20일

Deep and productive course. Although the language is difficult, the information deserves the time.

교육 기관: Wendy M

2017년 9월 22일

Superb course that gave me lots to think about. Very grateful to the Professor and all concerned.

교육 기관: Joanna S

2017년 8월 21일

Very interesting and follows on nicely from Constitutional Struggles in the Muslim World.

교육 기관: Bruno V E

2020년 8월 4일

A complete course, that made me want to study the middle east conflicts in my masters!

교육 기관: Ilaria C

2017년 12월 20일

I've liked this course because it has been displayed in a very scientific way. Thanks!

교육 기관: Kalanyoo A

2021년 8월 28일

this is great, this course extended my background in Arab Studies from my BA (Arabic)

교육 기관: Radha M P

2020년 5월 23일

This course gives valuable insights into complex problems in society. I enjoyed it.

교육 기관: Manuel F G

2017년 12월 8일

Excellent course, full of information,

Academic reflections and useful bibliography.

교육 기관: Manole M

2020년 4월 27일

knowledgeable, comprehensive, gave me a new perspective on the matter discussed.

교육 기관: Andrés R

2020년 8월 7일

It is a great course, which answers many questions about the Arab Middle East.

교육 기관: allexandraach

2020년 6월 22일

Excellent; as a minus I'd say the long, complex and information-rich sentences

교육 기관: Ingmar S

2018년 11월 11일

pacing of this course was manageable with the tests coming after each video.

교육 기관: Ozge T

2020년 12월 26일

I am glad to have this wonderful course. instructor is great. Thanks a lot

교육 기관: Richard M

2017년 8월 7일

Another excellent and insightful course, very well delivered by Dr Afsah.

교육 기관: Jan S

2017년 11월 27일

Gives a great insight into the problems of the failing muslim states

교육 기관: Aline A A G

2020년 8월 7일

Nice course and great information. I really liked this course

교육 기관: Bernadette L

2018년 1월 27일

Outstanding lesson with profound knowledge of the lecturer.

교육 기관: María N T

2021년 8월 30일

Very accurate, interesting and stimulating. thank you.

교육 기관: Najmussaman P

2020년 9월 1일

REALLY VERY GOOD AND HARD EXPERIENCE. BUT ENJOYED.

교육 기관: Bryan A

2021년 9월 10일

Amazing, and a Wonderful teacher, thanks for all

교육 기관: Mohamed A

2020년 4월 16일

really insightful and progress and honest.

교육 기관: Amr A W

2017년 10월 11일

Excellent course. Greetings from Egypt. ;)