Chevron Left
After the Arab Spring – Democratic Aspirations and State Failure(으)로 돌아가기

코펜하겐대학교의 After the Arab Spring – Democratic Aspirations and State Failure 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
별점
474개의 평가
134개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Learn why the hope and excitement of the Arab Spring is gone, why so many Arab states are falling apart, why the youth are so frustrated, why there are so many refugees, and what can be done about it. The so-called Arab Spring appeared to end decades of exceptionalism and bring the Arab world back into the mainstream of global developments. The rebellions promised the return of politics and the reassertion of popular sovereignty against their corrupt and geriatric leaders. Much hope and flowery language greeted the young men and women who deposed their leaders and tried to build new, better societies. Today, the Arab world is in deep crisis. Of the 22 member states of the Arab League, at least five have essentially collapsed: Iraq, Libya, Yemen, Somalia and Syria exist only in name today, as their territories have fallen to competing, murderous armed groups. In the remaining countries, the old autocracies have reasserted themselves. The repression at home is now worsened by regional conflict on an unprecedented scale, and the resulting frustration has led to the biggest refugee flows in recent memory. What went wrong? This course offers an overview of the structural shortcomings of Arab states and societies, which help us understand why the democratic awakening did not happen but instead “has given way to civil wars, ethnic, sectarian and regional divisions and the reassertion of absolutism.” This raises the obvious and renewed question whether there is something inherent in the Arab, and by analogy Muslim, condition that makes them special. Does this condition make this part of the world impervious to generally observable trends towards greater accountability, popular participation in political decision-making, greater generation and fairer division of economic wealth? Join this course to find out!...

최상위 리뷰

JY
2020년 4월 14일

Provides a fascinating and important approach to studying this topic. The professor's framework and intellectual depth enriched my understanding of this important and enduring problem.

LK
2018년 10월 12일

An eye opening experience. I really hope this becomes a mandated course among anyone participating in any diplomatic initiatives in the Middle East and the Arabic world.

필터링 기준:

After the Arab Spring – Democratic Aspirations and State Failure의 135개 리뷰 중 51~75

교육 기관: Tracy B V

2020년 6월 21일

Working for government and being focused on the Middle East, I found it validating and articulating thoughts and observations much more clearly than I ever could. Even with 16 years of experience!

I recommend this course to all.

교육 기관: Amani E A

2017년 8월 29일

This is one of the most informative, authentic and analytical courses. The examples given by the amazing Dr. Ibrahim are true and to the point. All my respect to the sincere Professor and to the wonderful crew of Coursera.

교육 기관: Mohammed A R B

2020년 3월 21일

For any one want to study politics, law etc. Or want to know why Arab countries have collapsed and the reasons that led to Arab Spring. This great course will give you the knowledge and the information that you need.

교육 기관: Afaque R A

2018년 2월 24일

An absolute masterpiece. Too many lessons, learnings and reasons for dysfunctional muslim and Arab societies mentioned and nicely explained in this course are directly applicable to the Pakistani case as well.

교육 기관: Kees S

2018년 3월 1일

Although I liked the course I found the quizes to be easy and it took me hardly any effort to pass. I would love to see the topics discussed in a far more indepth manner and reflecting course.

Thank you.

교육 기관: James W

2017년 8월 10일

After taking the earlier course and learning so much I didn't expect this to be as informative and thought provoking I was wrong it was possibly the best MOOC I have taken of many.

It was excellent.

교육 기관: May d p

2020년 5월 18일

very insightful course for me. Learning the facts of the failure and significance of the Arab world is so fascinating and new subject for me. Thank you very much.

교육 기관: Alison S

2021년 5월 25일

Dr. Afsah is my favorite professor on this platform. This course is well balanced, well explained and overall very engaging, I had a fantastic time learning

교육 기관: Jeffrey S

2021년 3월 31일

Clear and concise lectures, useful charts and photos, the course was a pleasure to listen to and tremendously beneficial to my understanding of the region.

교육 기관: Coline C

2020년 9월 16일

This is a compelling course that articulated state failure in Arab nations as objectively as possible. I learned more than I expected from this course. 10/5

교육 기관: Weronika D T

2020년 2월 23일

Really interesting course on the modern Middle East. The recommended readings are very good. The lectures and the readings are very thought provoking.

교육 기관: Mohanad A

2019년 12월 27일

Very important course, it presents the deep reasons to understand why the Arab Spring have failed to achieve Arab people hopes.

Thank you Dr, Afsah

교육 기관: Zachary P S

2020년 11월 12일

As a Senior POL/MIL Analyst for Egypt this course was simply amazing, hands down one of the better courses of study I have ever taken. Thanks!

교육 기관: Toka S

2020년 7월 13일

The professor is amazing and you'll just want to hear everything he has to say. The reading material and discussion forums are also great.

교육 기관: Susan D

2021년 1월 5일

This course has been superb! The professor and the content he presented could not have been more interesting or informative! Amazing!

교육 기관: Russell W

2020년 6월 29일

Very interesting and thought provoking perspective on the region, its economies, governments / ruling institutions and societies.

교육 기관: David H

2020년 6월 18일

A very enjoyable course - tightly focused, insightful and linked to both historical and contemporary sources. Highly recommended.

교육 기관: Dina R

2020년 3월 26일

This was an excellent sequel to the previous course by the same lecturer on Constitutional problems in the Muslim world.

교육 기관: John L

2020년 4월 1일

A much simpler and shorter course than the Constitutional struggles course from the same stable, but well worth whole.

교육 기관: Vedrana G

2020년 6월 29일

Another excellent, analytical and in-depth course from one of the best lecturers on Middle East. Highly recommended.

교육 기관: Ms. A L

2020년 8월 5일

I have learned an in depth knowledge of the theoretical perspectives of Arab Spring and the informal outcomes.

교육 기관: Ekaterina G

2020년 7월 20일

Very interesting and well paced course! I will definitely consider taking another course by this instructor.

교육 기관: shivam g

2020년 5월 13일

A detailed and very interesting insight into the polity of the Middle East and intricacies of it's society.

교육 기관: C.Winkel

2018년 9월 29일

Very interesting and enlightening course. The instructor is excellent and very well informed and engaging.