Chevron Left
Exploring Beethoven’s Piano Sonatas(으)로 돌아가기

커티스음악원의 Exploring Beethoven’s Piano Sonatas 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
524개의 평가
124개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Our relationship to Beethoven is a deep and paradoxical one. For many musicians, he represents a kind of holy grail: His music has an intensity, rigor, and profundity which keep us in its thrall, and it is perhaps unequalled in the interpretive, technical, and even spiritual challenges it poses to performers. At the same time, Beethoven’s music is casually familiar to millions of people who do not attend concerts or consider themselves musically inclined. Two hundred years after his death, he is everywhere in the culture, yet still represents its summit. This course takes an inside-out look at the 32 piano sonatas from the point of view of a performer. Each lecture will focus on one sonata and an aspect of Beethoven’s music exemplified by it. (These might include: the relationship between Beethoven the pianist and Beethoven the composer; the critical role improvisation plays in his highly structured music; his mixing of extremely refined music with rougher elements; and the often surprising ways in which the events of his life influenced his compositional process and the character of the music he was writing.) The course will feature some analysis and historical background, but its perspective is that of a player, not a musicologist. Its main aim is to explore and demystify the work of the performer, even while embracing the eternal mystery of Beethoven’s music itself. This season's Curtis courses are sponsored by Linda Richardson in loving memory of her husband, Dr. Paul Richardson. The Dolfinger-McMahon Foundation supports Curtis's lifelong learning initiatives....

최상위 리뷰

JR

Aug 23, 2016

Fascinating trip through the marvellous Beethoven sonatas.\n\nAlthough I love them since many years, I'm very happy to see that It's always possible to progress.\n\nMany thanks Jonathan.

JM

Oct 16, 2015

I highly recommend this course to anyone that wants to look DEEPER into music. Believe me, after you are done with this course. You will see classical music completely different.

필터링 기준:

Exploring Beethoven’s Piano Sonatas의 123개 리뷰 중 26~50

교육 기관: Percy Y

Nov 01, 2015

Exciting and Clear !

교육 기관: Tomas B

Nov 13, 2015

Wonderful course, thank you professor Biss

교육 기관: Eamonn P

Nov 04, 2015

Wonderful journey getting to know these sonatas with a very enthusiastic and knowledgeable guide. Thank you for this.

교육 기관: Ashley

Dec 01, 2015

I am only halfway through this course and it is already a favorite out of the handful of courses I've successfully completed through Coursera. Jonathan Biss's passion for the subject matter brought me from an infatuation with Beethoven to a full-on heed over heels love. I am a vocalist, I was classically trained as a child (lately a lot more bluesy) but do not have a strong background in theory. Most of what I know is through an innate understanding of harmony, structure, etc. This is whetting my appetite for musical structure and thoroughly illustrating that musical analysis is so very exciting. There really aren't words for how much I love this course. It has really brought me joy.

교육 기관: sean f

Sep 19, 2015

thanks.

교육 기관: Cheryl L D

Mar 31, 2016

MORE, MORE, MORE Please

Please make another MOOC, I am dying to hear from you again, Mr. Biss. Thank you for making this learning experience so enjoyable. Your playing is wonderful, and your explanations are clear and concise, making this course a real pleasure to take. Great job, and please do it again!

교육 기관: Marina S

Nov 01, 2015

I am learning a interesting things about the sonatas I love, even though some musical terminology is above my head. I would prefer a course, where the musical terminology was explained first (tonic, dominant, key, harmony and so on). Still, I am grateful for what I could glimpse though.

교육 기관: Ats A

Aug 27, 2015

This is a great course! I Highly recommend it to anyone like me struggling to find meaning in musical harmony in general. The interest in sonatas is a great side effect! And the way Mr. Biss emphasizes and explained the passages, this is just extraordinary. I am looking forward to any new courses from this great teacher!

교육 기관: Ronald J B

Apr 23, 2016

This course was excellent and I enjoyed it, but I was done with it when they offered more lessons and was very annoyed to get multiple emails telling me I needed to complete the course. I did complete it, as originally offered, and think that should be noted on my record.

교육 기관: Rogerio A G F

Aug 28, 2015

Awesome!!!

교육 기관: Luis C P D l R

Aug 14, 2015

A must-take for all classical music lovers.

교육 기관: Lauren L

Aug 15, 2015

I am about three-quarters of the way through this course and I am completely enamoured with Beethoven in ways that were impossible before taking this course. I love the depth that Professor Biss imparts without ever getting pedantic or overwhelming. I have now listened to all 32 sonatas, some several times more over the past several weeks and I feel so fortunate that I can love this music in a deeper, more passionate way because of the understanding I have gleaned from this class. Highly recommended for all musicians and music-lovers.

교육 기관: William D

May 19, 2016

Outstanding introduction to Beethoven's Piano Sonatas. It has sparked a great interest in me for these pieces.

교육 기관: eugenia g c t

Jan 05, 2017

muy pronto regresare a terminarlo solo que primero debo estudiar ingles para entender el idioma

교육 기관: Ji Y

Aug 15, 2015

Pretty good!

교육 기관: isabella

Nov 07, 2015

Amazing course! I can now understand Beethoven's Sonatas in a much deeper level, as well as how performance and innovation evolved throughout time.

교육 기관: Anna W

Jan 08, 2016

Excellent course. I think I began to understand and — what is most important for me — feel the music. Thank you!

교육 기관: Nenad R

Jan 15, 2018

Excellent lectures by excellent professor

교육 기관: Jacob F

Aug 15, 2015

great teacher

교육 기관: Peter E

Sep 02, 2015

Just superb. Is there a better, more passionate and lucid guide to this extraordinary music than Jonathan Biss? The whole series is utterly compelling. It's made me listen to and absorb the sonatas in a whole new way, and it's opened my eyes to the full scope and scale, beauty and humour of Beethoven's genius in a way I'd never imagined possible. Can't wait for more new lectures in the future.

교육 기관: Marion C

Oct 16, 2016

This is a great class to understand Beethoven. Thanks.

교육 기관: Luis L

Aug 28, 2015

A great pianist and teacher, bravo Maestro

교육 기관: Ignacio T A

Oct 18, 2016

Excellent.

교육 기관: Maria E H

May 08, 2017

One of the best courses I have taken online! Whether you are a musician or not, this course will improve your appreciation of classical music!

교육 기관: Miguel A V

Aug 21, 2015

amazing