Chevron Left
Exploring Beethoven’s Piano Sonatas(으)로 돌아가기

커티스음악원의 Exploring Beethoven’s Piano Sonatas 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
517개의 평가
121개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Our relationship to Beethoven is a deep and paradoxical one. For many musicians, he represents a kind of holy grail: His music has an intensity, rigor, and profundity which keep us in its thrall, and it is perhaps unequalled in the interpretive, technical, and even spiritual challenges it poses to performers. At the same time, Beethoven’s music is casually familiar to millions of people who do not attend concerts or consider themselves musically inclined. Two hundred years after his death, he is everywhere in the culture, yet still represents its summit. This course takes an inside-out look at the 32 piano sonatas from the point of view of a performer. Each lecture will focus on one sonata and an aspect of Beethoven’s music exemplified by it. (These might include: the relationship between Beethoven the pianist and Beethoven the composer; the critical role improvisation plays in his highly structured music; his mixing of extremely refined music with rougher elements; and the often surprising ways in which the events of his life influenced his compositional process and the character of the music he was writing.) The course will feature some analysis and historical background, but its perspective is that of a player, not a musicologist. Its main aim is to explore and demystify the work of the performer, even while embracing the eternal mystery of Beethoven’s music itself. This season's Curtis courses are sponsored by Linda Richardson in loving memory of her husband, Dr. Paul Richardson. The Dolfinger-McMahon Foundation supports Curtis's lifelong learning initiatives....

최상위 리뷰

JR

Aug 23, 2016

Fascinating trip through the marvellous Beethoven sonatas.\n\nAlthough I love them since many years, I'm very happy to see that It's always possible to progress.\n\nMany thanks Jonathan.

JM

Oct 16, 2015

I highly recommend this course to anyone that wants to look DEEPER into music. Believe me, after you are done with this course. You will see classical music completely different.

필터링 기준:

Exploring Beethoven’s Piano Sonatas의 120개 리뷰 중 76~100

교육 기관: Chris M

Sep 24, 2015

A fascinating course for any classical musician, or keen listener of classical music. Jonathan Biss' passion for his subject, his rich language and his emotion-laden playing combine to engage the participant, so that one is left with not just a better intellectual understanding of Beethoven's Piano Sonatas, but also, a much greater appreciation of the pieces themselves and the man who wrote them. Thank you to Coursera, Jonathan Biss and the Curtis Institute of Music for making this course available.

교육 기관: Dongfang S

May 10, 2016

Super good

교육 기관: Emily F

Jul 05, 2017

Excellent course that is accessible and easy to understand. A wonderful combination of music history and listening.

교육 기관: Michael M

Sep 01, 2015

I'm not a musician and have little knowledge of classical music, but I figured that an on-line course would be a great way to gain some understanding of this type of music. Mr. Biss made the course both enjoyable and educational. While I wasn't able to comprehend all of the concepts, it wasn't for lack of a clear explanation and demonstration. Somehow, I managed to pass all of the quizzes and came away with an appreciation of Beethoven's music.

교육 기관: Wan Y

Sep 01, 2016

excellent!

교육 기관: Joy S

Dec 18, 2017

I signed up for this because I took a longer class on classical music and loved Beethoven week. This course did not disappoint: instructor's knowledge is comprehensive and his ability to just sit down and play any bit of Beethoven at whim is impressive. Truly enjoyed by me.

교육 기관: Indwen G

Mar 01, 2016

I like this course a lot so far. Thanks Mr. Biss.

교육 기관: Kam C F

Jun 24, 2016

In discussing modulation in classical music, one of my classmates said that Beethoven's piano sonatas are bizarre in their styles compared with those Romantic composers like Liszt and Chopin. I don't agree with him, but I don't have enough knowledge to analyze Beethoven's work. The course titled "Exploring Beethoven's Piano Sonatas" provides such a high-level overview of Beethoven's Piano music, I should say Thank you to the instructor!

교육 기관: STANISLAV S

Nov 03, 2015

For true Beethoven lovers and others as well

교육 기관: Benjamin G

Mar 11, 2017

organized, insightful. Mr. Biss clearly has a passion for the music which comes through in his teaching

,

교육 기관: Vedran S

Sep 13, 2015

Jonathan Biss is a superb musician and instructor! This course is a wonderful resource!

교육 기관: Ni H

Aug 19, 2015

Very insightful and inspiring

교육 기관: AIDA B S H

Aug 17, 2015

Instructor is amazing! The best!

교육 기관: Miriam P S

Jan 30, 2016

Fantastic, excellent musician and incredible mastery of the subject. I enjoyed it enormously.

교육 기관: Konrad

Jan 12, 2016

Outstanding course! Tremendous insight, extremely well articulated, and explained with real passion and depth! Would highly recommend this course to anyone who appreciates this kind of music; particularly those seeking to understand Beethoven's idiom better.

교육 기관: Patricia A C

Sep 19, 2015

Excellent course. Jonathan is a great pianist and a great instructor.

교육 기관: Mario H A L

Aug 31, 2015

Excelente maestro... recomendable 100%

교육 기관: Axel E M A

Oct 27, 2015

Fantastic course. Thank you so much for sharing all this wonderful insight into Beethoven's works.

교육 기관: Karim T R

Feb 09, 2017

Incredible class.

교육 기관: Grace V

May 01, 2016

Going through it for the second time this summer. My all time favorite Coursera course, and I've done almost ten...

교육 기관: Kari M J

Aug 23, 2015

This is, out of all the courses/studies I have done in my whole life, my favourite of all time. Mr Biss is a a wonderful lecturer.

교육 기관: John R

Oct 01, 2015

Enjoyed this course. Looking forward to listening to Beethoven's piano sonatas with a slightly more educated ear.

교육 기관: Thaís F L

Jun 28, 2016

great

교육 기관: Gerardo C

Sep 21, 2015

Amazing course!!! Would definitely recommend it to everyone.

교육 기관: Sebastian F

Aug 09, 2015

This is one of the best music courses in Coursera. Jonathan Biss is not only one of the great players of our time, but also manages to simplify and deliver outstanding quality content for learners in any theroetical