Chevron Left
Introduction to Big Data(으)로 돌아가기

캘리포니아 샌디에고 대학교의 Introduction to Big Data 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
5,167개의 평가
1,266개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Interested in increasing your knowledge of the Big Data landscape? This course is for those new to data science and interested in understanding why the Big Data Era has come to be. It is for those who want to become conversant with the terminology and the core concepts behind big data problems, applications, and systems. It is for those who want to start thinking about how Big Data might be useful in their business or career. It provides an introduction to one of the most common frameworks, Hadoop, that has made big data analysis easier and more accessible -- increasing the potential for data to transform our world! At the end of this course, you will be able to: * Describe the Big Data landscape including examples of real world big data problems including the three key sources of Big Data: people, organizations, and sensors. * Explain the V’s of Big Data (volume, velocity, variety, veracity, valence, and value) and why each impacts data collection, monitoring, storage, analysis and reporting. * Get value out of Big Data by using a 5-step process to structure your analysis. * Identify what are and what are not big data problems and be able to recast big data problems as data science questions. * Provide an explanation of the architectural components and programming models used for scalable big data analysis. * Summarize the features and value of core Hadoop stack components including the YARN resource and job management system, the HDFS file system and the MapReduce programming model. * Install and run a program using Hadoop! This course is for those new to data science. No prior programming experience is needed, although the ability to install applications and utilize a virtual machine is necessary to complete the hands-on assignments. Hardware Requirements: (A) Quad Core Processor (VT-x or AMD-V support recommended), 64-bit; (B) 8 GB RAM; (C) 20 GB disk free. How to find your hardware information: (Windows): Open System by clicking the Start button, right-clicking Computer, and then clicking Properties; (Mac): Open Overview by clicking on the Apple menu and clicking “About This Mac.” Most computers with 8 GB RAM purchased in the last 3 years will meet the minimum requirements.You will need a high speed internet connection because you will be downloading files up to 4 Gb in size. Software Requirements: This course relies on several open-source software tools, including Apache Hadoop. All required software can be downloaded and installed free of charge. Software requirements include: Windows 7+, Mac OS X 10.10+, Ubuntu 14.04+ or CentOS 6+ VirtualBox 5+....

최상위 리뷰

PB

May 25, 2018

A step by step approach stating from basic big data concept extending to Hadoop framework and hands on mapping and simple MapReduce application development effort.\n\nVery smooth learning experience.

RG

Jul 14, 2017

First of all i would like to take this opportunity to thanks the instructors the course is well structured and explained the foundations with real world problems with easy to understand the concepts.

필터링 기준:

Introduction to Big Data의 1,216개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: Isara A

Oct 05, 2018

I think the course could be shorten by half. The instructors extended the course into 3 weeks, but I think the real meat can fit into just 2 weeks. They use too many examples and several similar case studies to make the same points about why big data is important and beneficial -- repeatedly.

I know why it is important, that's why I took the course! Just give a few mins intro and move on already.

They even have a session discussing why should learn basic tools and theory and have a quiz about that; A quiz about why should you learn how to add and subtract before using a calculator. They can just explain once and people would understand.

Anyhow, I feel like I learned quite a lot, but those I can do my reading just first chapter of big data book or watch 1-2 YouTube tutorials.

Should not waste so many hours watching the course.

교육 기관: Abdul K

Sep 27, 2016

The course provided almost no value , and there was almost nothing covered that you couldn't find online for free. The presentation was probably the worst part of the course: It was extremely boring and made it hard to get through the videos.

I didn't expect much practical parts in the course, but there was even less than what I expected: What was described as setting up a hadoop cluster consisted of downloading a preconfigured VM image and running it, and then typing in a couple of commands that were provided to you. Again, nothing of value was added, and quickly going over the FAQ page of any of the products mentioned would be more helpful, faster and a lot more interesting.

교육 기관: Rongon C

May 14, 2019

Perfect for starters!

교육 기관: Matthew L M

May 11, 2019

Good intro that also helped me understand some of my previous assumptions

교육 기관: Pranav V

Mar 07, 2019

This was absolutely useless. Lots of definitions with no motivation. The one saving grace is that the slides are comprehensive.

교육 기관: Raivis J

Feb 05, 2019

The general concepts of big data (week 1 and week 2) seemed a bit drawn out, much of the same was repeated over and over again. This was not necessary. The peer-graded assignment needs more detailed instructions - like mentioning that it is ok to resize the fields, and that shapes need to be copy/pasted as much as needed.

교육 기관: Catherine B

Nov 08, 2018

Very interesting course. Explained concepts I'd heard of but didn't really know about. It is a foundation course for a specialization, it's not enough by itself but very good as a foundation course.

교육 기관: Patricia P

Nov 07, 2018

The intro part is too long. You will not start with the practice till the end of next week and I find that the lectures and videos by then are a lot less complete even when the content is harder. I would have prefer is the theoretical part was shorter and there was more support when we start learning about hadoop

교육 기관: Hendrik B

Dec 01, 2017

I have participated in better courses on Coursera. I think the power point presentations are very very ugly. The colors really don't match well. This could be a lot more visually appealing. Also, for self learners, a bit more text would be cool, even though I know that not having too much text, but rather pictures, is beneficial. The presenter could speak a bit more natural. At the moment, it is very obvious that she reads text aloud. Also, there need to be some more FAQs in the practical parts, because there can be quite a few problems when trying to run mapreduce. I was only able to do it using Google, because I also had to install another hadoop version (5.12.) because my Intel Chipset was not compatible with the version you wanted me to download. There, the file path to map reduce was different from the example you proviided. To be honest, I did not check the Discussion Forums because I was not aware there were any. Maybe I could have gotten help there.

교육 기관: Manish K

Jul 22, 2019

Awesome experience

교육 기관: Babar B

Jul 20, 2019

A perfect introductory course for beginners in the big data field.

교육 기관: Rafa G

Jul 18, 2019

I looked for many sources to get started in Big Data and, after a lot of filtering, I opted for UC San Diego. I am very satisfied although in the final exercise of this first course I found problems outside the script.

교육 기관: Sakshi M K

Jul 17, 2019

I think there should be more handson rather than theory

교육 기관: Math E

Jul 13, 2019

Nice course to start my journey on Big Data.

교육 기관: BRUNO P D O

Jul 09, 2019

Great course!

교육 기관: Ajay S R

Jul 09, 2019

good course

교육 기관: Renjith

Jul 03, 2019

Very beneficial course for big data beginners. It gave a great interest to learn more.

교육 기관: Rahul P

Jun 30, 2019

The assignments and the quizes seemed pretty shallow...

교육 기관: Nikhar M

Jun 28, 2019

nice but need to include more technical informative lectures.

교육 기관: Joel F

Jun 28, 2019

Amazing lectures!!!!

교육 기관: Sarvar N

Jun 27, 2019

just one word Amazing

best teaching and understanding !!!!!

교육 기관: touzani y

Jun 24, 2019

Excelent course

교육 기관: MEGAT A F A S

Jun 23, 2019

This is an excellent introductory course on Big Data in general and introduce to basic usage of Hadoop using Cloudera on a virtual machine. This course could be improved further especially to working professionals by spreading the course over 4 - 6 weeks instead as the 3 weeks duration is very short as the coverage of this course is quite broad. Thank you to the course instructors for preparing this wonderful course.

교육 기관: Emmanuel H A

Jun 20, 2019

Fantastic course that gives a boost to understanding big data

교육 기관: Raghavendra P

Jun 20, 2019

Nice study material, easy and lucid explanation. Covers the basic concepts and gives necessary overview. Teachers are excellent.