Chevron Left
History of Rock, Part One(으)로 돌아가기

로체스터 대학교의 History of Rock, Part One 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
1,037개의 평가
300개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course, part 1 of a 2-course sequence, examines the history of rock, primarily as it unfolded in the United States, from the days before rock (pre-1955) to the end of the 1960s. This course covers the music of Elvis Presley, Chuck Berry, Phil Spector, Bob Dylan, the Beatles, the Rolling Stones, Jimi Hendrix, Cream, and many more artists, with an emphasis both on cultural context and on the music itself. We will also explore how developments in the music business and in technology helped shape the ways in which styles developed. Rock emerged in the mid 1950s as a blending of mainstream pop, rhythm and blues, and country and western--styles that previously had remained relatively separate. This new style became the music of the emerging youth culture and was often associated with teen rebellion. We will follow the story of how this rowdy first wave of rock and roll (1955-59) was tamed in the early 60s but came roaring back with the Beatles and the Rolling Stones and then went psychedelic by the end of the decade....

최상위 리뷰

BL
2018년 3월 12일

Provided insight into what I was listening to as a pre-teen. I didn't have the exposure to some of the older roots or the an understanding of the business forces that shaped the music I had access to.

SM
2016년 10월 1일

This course has really helped to fill out my piecemeal understanding of the development of rock music. The pace and content of learning has been well considered and Prof Covach is to be congratulated.

필터링 기준:

History of Rock, Part One의 301개 리뷰 중 101~125

교육 기관: Gustavo N S

2019년 7월 30일

I really enjoyed with this course, It was very informative, interesting and a great source of information about rock and roll music.

교육 기관: Anuj P N L

2019년 4월 4일

It was an awesome experience of Learning history of Rock. Thank You Prof. John Covach. I learnt a lot of stuff from your Videos.

교육 기관: Carolina A V S

2018년 8월 18일

El mejor curso sobre la historia del rock. Excelente profesor, detalles e información, entretenido, buenos ejemplos musicales.

교육 기관: Henry J A T

2016년 1월 12일

Great course! Great instructor!, thanks a lot to John Covach and to the University Of Rochester, for this pleasant experience!.

교육 기관: Panagiotis K

2020년 8월 9일

Well-organised, not boring at all. Dr. Covach is great in transmitting his knowledge. I am looking forward to the second part!

교육 기관: Nicholas S

2020년 5월 24일

This was a fantastic course! I can't wait for Part 2! If you are considering taking this course, I would highly recommend it.

교육 기관: Ramiro M

2017년 1월 4일

Sheds a lot of light on this fascinating subject! Highly recommendable, amusing talks and nice quizzes. A defintely must-try.

교육 기관: John C P

2020년 6월 7일

Me encantó, aprendí mucho de de un tema que siempre me interesó. Lo recomiendo para todos aquellos que le encanta la música.

교육 기관: Ryan M

2017년 1월 11일

Not finished, but great the way he explains the origins of so much and ties things together. I've already learned so much.

교육 기관: Bill G

2015년 10월 6일

Great course. Very informative and helps me put together all that was happening during my youth and teen age years. Bravo!

교육 기관: Adrian H

2021년 5월 15일

I thought I knew quite a bit about Rock Music....how wrong was ?!!?....thoroughly informative and thoroughly enjoyable

교육 기관: Garrett F

2020년 6월 7일

What a great course. John is so interesting and knowledgeable. I would love to take a course of his in person one day.

교육 기관: Alexis M

2020년 6월 23일

Very informative and interesting. Professor is entertaining and incredibly knowledgable. Quizzes are very specific.

교육 기관: Bida L W

2020년 2월 3일

A wonderful course and some ideas of John Covach was quite personal thoughts, I don’t agree with some answers

교육 기관: jiong s

2018년 4월 7일

great course with all those details to help to understand more about the history of rock music. many thanks .

교육 기관: Juan C V L

2016년 4월 2일

Great course. Greetings from Colombia. With this course I've found the best lessons about Rock Music. Thanks

교육 기관: Jhose A G

2015년 12월 6일

Thanks for this interesting and enjoyable course. I´m looking forward to do the part two of History of Rock.

교육 기관: John R

2015년 11월 2일

This course rocks! (no pun intended). Great professor, fun and relevant content, and excellent presentation.

교육 기관: Esteban M

2020년 10월 14일

Excelent! John Covach is a wise, tranquil and amazing teacher. I will do the second part. Thank You, John!

교육 기관: Jeff K

2020년 5월 6일

Such a good course! It only makes you wish there was time to go more in depth about every topic covered!

교육 기관: Niki

2020년 5월 6일

Great Teacher :) Really enjoyed this course. It was well-rounded, clear and very interesting. Thank you !

교육 기관: Franc M

2020년 10월 6일

I have enjoyed a lot this course and learned a lot of things. Hoping to start part 2 as soon as I can!

교육 기관: Ricardo J P D L T

2021년 5월 16일

An excellent course where you can learn how rock starts and takes form!! I can't wait to take part 2!

교육 기관: Mauricio A S P

2019년 8월 14일

Te entrega mucho conocimiento de la historia del rock y en realidad de la música en general, muy bueo