Chevron Left
Internet History, Technology, and Security(으)로 돌아가기

미시건 대학교의 Internet History, Technology, and Security 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
2,367개의 평가
626개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

The impact of technology and networks on our lives, culture, and society continues to increase. The very fact that you can take this course from anywhere in the world requires a technological infrastructure that was designed, engineered, and built over the past sixty years. To function in an information-centric world, we need to understand the workings of network technology. This course will open up the Internet and show you how it was created, who created it and how it works. Along the way we will meet many of the innovators who developed the Internet and Web technologies that we use today. What You Will Learn: After this course you will not take the Internet and Web for granted. You will be better informed about important technological issues currently facing society. You will realize that the Internet and Web are spaces for innovation and you will get a better understanding of how you might fit into that innovation. If you get excited about the material in this course, it is a great lead-in to taking a course in Web design, Web development, programming, or even network administration. At a minimum, you will be a much wiser network citizen....

최상위 리뷰

TR
2020년 8월 11일

This course was awesome. A combination of the history, sociology and practical architectural / implementation elements of modern digital and internet technology. I enjoyed it thoroughly. Thanks Chuck!

SB
2016년 1월 6일

This is an extremely important course. I would love to see it taught in high schools or in the first year of university. We should all understand how the Internet was developed and how it functions.

필터링 기준:

Internet History, Technology, and Security의 617개 리뷰 중 526~550

교육 기관: MRS. D S

2020년 5월 29일

Nice

교육 기관: Dr V S S

2020년 5월 22일

Good

교육 기관: Akshay K M

2020년 4월 26일

good

교육 기관: tom

2015년 8월 24일

goog

교육 기관: 凌乱亲

2020년 6월 15일

完美

교육 기관: Uma S

2016년 12월 17일

V

교육 기관: Alan S

2016년 1월 13일

G

교육 기관: Dong H S

2015년 12월 6일

G

교육 기관: Rose K

2015년 10월 9일

T

교육 기관: Pratyush S

2015년 10월 2일

Dear Dr Chuck (If you're reading this)

Firstly thank you so much. I am currently in my 3rd year of B.E in Information Technology and wish that networking was taught to me like this from the start. Not just how we use protocols, standards and Layers but the reason and history of their existence. It was a lovely experience even though I didn't maximize any of your tests. Just a few things that I thought you could have covered in the course. From the first internet to the web servers and world wide web, you covered all aspects of the currently visible web. However we know that the internet is not only limited to that. If you would've given an insight on how the the deep/dark web came into being, that in my mind would cover every portion of the net today.

Regardless of that, it was a lovely course and I really admire your way of teaching !

However I still have no clue how I could have answered the number of hops from Michigan to Harvard !

교육 기관: Andrey S

2021년 4월 1일

The Internet History part of this course is amazing! What's really great is that you get to listen to a lot of people who were behind key Internet technologies (you'd probably want to have a bit of a technical background though as they sometimes delve into details not immediately understandable by a layman). Sadly, Technology and Security parts aren't that great. Dr. Chuck is a charismatic lecturer, but the information could have been more condensed, the slides look downright archaic in 2021, and the "crap password" thing probably already wasn't relevant at the time this course was shot.

교육 기관: David F W

2020년 10월 3일

A really interesting and relevant course and a highly engaging lecturer. The course content is excellent and well-structured. On the down side, the software-generated transcription of the lectures is poor and needs a lot of reformatting, numerous error corrections and conversion to standard English (for the vast majority of us who do not use the US sub-version of the language). However, this tidy-up process is a great learning tool in its own right, and creates a valuable reference document for ongoing use.

교육 기관: Aaron K

2016년 4월 27일

A lot of the assessments for the "history" section of the course are needless factual-item recall, and not very cognitively challenging or engaging. The combination of history/technology/security could be more tightly integrated, it feels like three discrete courses just merged together into one. Good material overall, just not sure the scale/scope is appropriate to one course.

교육 기관: Roberto Z

2018년 3월 18일

A very intriguing course that explores the beginnings of computers and Internet.

If you like technology you will love this course and you will get to know a lot of interesting anecdotes, but do not expect to get practical abilities for today; take it like you would read an interesting novel or history book. This is not a manual of how internet and security works.

교육 기관: dave b

2015년 11월 28일

A fun journey through the history and structure of the internet. This is a thorough but brief introduction. Well worth your time to check out if you're interested in history, technology, programming or just finding out something new. The diversity of interviews is impressive, although there is overlap with Dr. Chuck's other courses.

교육 기관: Opeyemi O O

2015년 9월 24일

This course enables you to have basic knowledge into the what we call the internet, how it started, what technologies, protocols and how much research work has gone into the internet. also gives you an insight into the security aspect of the web which i believe every learned person should know.

교육 기관: Charles R K

2016년 9월 3일

I had so many "a-ha moments" in this class. I recommend for anyone interested in how the Internet works and why. The interviews with the people that were there at the moment of create really helped not just to humanize this historic achievement, but also to provide context. Well done!

교육 기관: Phuoc N

2015년 8월 26일

This course is quite interesting for people who want to understand the development of the biggest network in the world - the Internet, understand the basics of network-related technology, and security techniques for digital transaction. However, the review questions are fairly easy.

교육 기관: Troy E

2019년 12월 15일

Wow! This is course is actually "living" history. It should be taught in schools. It really brings alive and makes real the application of maths, sciences, communication, solving problems etc....and how we got to the present, but where we going in 100 years from now.

교육 기관: Martin W

2015년 10월 23일

I enjoyed learning more about the technology we take for granted and how we got to where we're at. I thought Dr. Chuck presented the material in a very relatable and engaging manner and I would recommend other courses offered by him. Thank you for the education!

교육 기관: Mario R P F

2017년 10월 19일

Interesting course, you will learn how computer networks were created, the security concerns and many of the invertors who contributed for the currents networks technologies like protocols and topology. Must-take course, surely...

교육 기관: 费菲

2016년 12월 1일

good for those who gets start to learn the internet, also helpful to clear up knowledge while reading relevant books.

but some of the courses are still a little bit messy to me, which need to be learnt by myself further after class

교육 기관: Jasper d W

2015년 9월 13일

Nice course! Provides a good basis in understanding the Internet, where it originated from and how it works. Mr. Severance is an excellent tutor and I really liked his videos and keynotes. He makes the material come to live.

교육 기관: Yash S

2016년 10월 27일

Dr. Chuck has created a great course for those interested in learning the basics of Internet History, technology, and security, that is approachable even for those who aren't well versed in computer science.

교육 기관: ALFONSO N J C

2017년 11월 12일

Dr. Chuck is the best teacher who explains the Internet History and the main concepts on technologý and security so single and kind, I enjoyed learning so much with this course, thanks to everyone!