Chevron Left
Java Programming: Arrays, Lists, and Structured Data(으)로 돌아가기

듀크대학교의 Java Programming: Arrays, Lists, and Structured Data 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
1,590개의 평가
280개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Build on the software engineering skills you learned in “Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software” by learning new data structures. Use these data structures to build more complex programs that use Java’s object-oriented features. At the end of the course you will write an encryption program and a program to break your encryption algorithm. After completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Read and write data from/to files; 2. Solve problems involving data files; 3. Perform quantitative analyses of data (e.g., finding maximums, minimums, averages); 4. Store and manipulate data in an array or ArrayList; 5. Combine multiple classes to solve larger problems; 6. Use iterables and collections (including maps) in Java....

최상위 리뷰

CT

Jul 20, 2018

The course was pretty challenging (and occasionally frustrating) for a novice programmer, but doable.\n\nI enjoyed the course, and came away with a greater understanding of computers and programming.

LB

Jan 10, 2020

Actually, before I start this course I had not a good idea about OOP concept such as constructors, HashMap.now I have fair confidence about that. thank you duke university making such an arrangement.

필터링 기준:

Java Programming: Arrays, Lists, and Structured Data의 275개 리뷰 중 201~225

교육 기관: Chiazo A

Jul 27, 2018

As someone who had slight knowledge of Java and who is looking to study computer science, this course filled in the gap that IB Computer Science 1st Year couldn't do - I actually got to code and apply concepts like writing private vs public methods or using getters or for loops. I also had the luxury of having a free summer to complete this and with days of work ranging from 3-6 hours, I managed to finish the course in 26 days. I believe it relies a bit too much on its previous courses at times and the time needed to complete assignments is very off but this is a great way to actually see a project through and push yourself. Thank you Duke!

교육 기관: Krisztian T

Oct 14, 2018

Great problem sets for a beginner. Teaching good approach to the problems, good algorithm design and build technics. It has to added to all those previous thoguhts that they are hard not easy, so a lot of commitment is needed. This course is not about to make programming sympathatic but to show how to approach a seemingly impossible problem. A definite con of the course is that somewhat unreal with the BlueJ and custom edu libraries, but you can substitute those with real features if you have the commitment to do it by yourself.

교육 기관: Boğaçhan A

May 24, 2017

This course is an excellent opportunity to gain some skills that are essential to coding. Other than teaching the methods to code, the course is also highly focused on how to approach a complicated problem. It gives you valuable insight on breaking down these problems and develop an algorithm. The only bad side of the course is that if you are stuck, i.e. getting a wrong answer on a practice quiz or an example, you are going to have to find the error by yourself since the forum is not that active.

교육 기관: Trần C L

Oct 26, 2019

This is a Dark Souls among courses, I git gud and failed lots of time which enhances my learning so I can debug, look up to stackoverflow and dissussion forums(but yeah I still mostly fail) . This time I passed, feel like a boss! 8/10 would recommend this to my fellow casual programmers what the hardcore one is.

(Edited) Did you guys set this course difficulty as beginner? Wait, that 's illegal!

교육 기관: Kanstantsya Z R

May 04, 2016

I liked this course, because it was very well focused on one area of Java (Data Structures) and not focused on some specific library. However, I wish they didn't rely so much on their custom classes (readers, parsers), instead they could have explained how they work, so we could learn about Java native readers, parsers. Overall, however, I am very satisfied.

교육 기관: João T

Mar 15, 2019

This course optimizes your basics skills concerning programming with java and take you to the nest level. This course increases the workload, practicing and debugging your code.

New concepts are introduced like, Arrays, HashMaps, and object-oriented-programming.

Once more, the professors bring the extra quality and professionalism to this subject.

교육 기관: Bealfan H

Aug 06, 2018

I found some of the questions quite challenging as opposed to the programming concepts. The questions specifically in the 4th week Quiz need to be reworded as they are a confusing bunch. But thanks for making a great content and giving me the right amount of information and domain knowledge to understand some important Java concepts.

교육 기관: Urmi L

Aug 20, 2018

The content of the course was great! The instructional videos taught a lot of concepts in detail, but some more, optional, assignments could have enhanced the course by providing extra practice for the concepts. Overall, I felt like I learned a lot in this course and would like to take the next one!

교육 기관: Hanqi Z

Apr 25, 2019

Useful course. Helped me gain a solid understanding of OO programming in Java, though I feel that the part where HashSet came up was too rushed (might want to reassure students that they will learn about why HashSet is faster when they learn about data structure in the future)

교육 기관: Jose U

May 18, 2017

I found this course particularly tough. I had to take it slow because of work and family and rather than 4 weeks it took me 4 months. But in the end I felt I got the intended knowledge.

Some sections are hard without knowledgeable mentors in the discussion forums.

교육 기관: Konstantin

Jul 20, 2016

Thank you for the course. The professors explain things with great enthusiasm and artistry. The main topic of the course - breaking ciphers is very interesting for me. Because of this interest I was completely involved into the course.

Thank you again!

교육 기관: Bryan Y

Dec 13, 2016

The amount of learning in this module is huge! If you have never worked with HashMaps and don't know what this is, you may spend quite a bit of time trying to understand. That time will probably be spent reading material external to the course.

교육 기관: Pawel D

Dec 13, 2015

The course is ok, but some lectures seems to be too slow paced, while the programming assignments tend to be difficult for a beginner programmer, since some issues are not covered in the lectures.

교육 기관: Kipp M

Jan 22, 2019

Very difficult material in week 2. Took a lot of effort to get through, but was worth it. I am continuing to learn about Java and writing more fluid programs in this specialization.

교육 기관: Difan G

Jan 06, 2020

Great course with clear level of difficulties laid out for each sub courses. But the course content jumped between cryptography and other materials making things hard to remember.

교육 기관: Goodwill T K

Dec 30, 2019

The assignments were not clear and I didn't know if i should go back and use my Caesar code to get some of the answers for the assignment. it would be nice to hint a bit more

교육 기관: María V D

May 08, 2018

Maybe this course for me are the most difficult, but the teachers, the teaching method and the spirit of Coursera in the mate´s class are the best.

교육 기관: Denis G

Mar 22, 2018

6th question in final quiz is really hard for non native english speakers. Please avoid questions with multiple selection and with lots of text.

교육 기관: Joselito P S J

Nov 26, 2018

Some concepts used in Week 2 were introduced/ explained in more detail in Week 3 so I struggled in Week 2 but Week 3 was a breeze.

교육 기관: Chongjun H

Sep 29, 2017

Useful and helpful, a millstone in the specialization path, but not so preferable if you only enroll this single course.

교육 기관: Dieter R

Nov 25, 2018

The final quiz has 3 difficult questions for which I could not find a good answer. Luckily my guesses were good enough.

교육 기관: Zakir S

Jan 23, 2020

Good course but not much help is available to complete assignments and hints are not very helpful when taking quizzes

교육 기관: Cyan C

Oct 09, 2017

Hope the mentor can be more responsive on forum, as the quiz is getting tougher and need more help on it

교육 기관: Shridhar S

Aug 09, 2017

It would be helpful if explanations of the problems in the quiz were made available after passing them.

교육 기관: Ashutosh D

May 23, 2017

A nice course on cryptography. Learned many new data structures like HashMap, HashSet and ArrayList.