Chevron Left
Magic in the Middle Ages(으)로 돌아가기

바르셀로나 대학교의 Magic in the Middle Ages 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
별점
1,278개의 평가
408개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Magical thought has always attracted human imagination. In this course we will introduce you to the Middle Ages through a wide conception of magic. Students will have an approach to medieval culture, beliefs and practices from the perspective of History and History of Science. Popular magic, as well as learned magic (alchemy, geomancy and necromancy) will be addressed. Moreover, we will also deal with how eastern practices and texts influenced western culture. In July 2016, the course will contain a brand-new module devoted to astrology. Magic in the Middle Ages offers a captivating overview of medieval society and promotes reflection about certain stereotypes associated with this period. At the end of the course, the students: a) will have overcome the usual prejudices about the Middle Ages, b) will be able to analyze historical documentation from the Middle Ages and recognize the most common patterns of juridical documents regarding witchcraft, and c) will be capable of distinguishing between popular magic and the magic of the learned people; will have a notion of which spiritual practices were allowed in medieval Europe and which ones were related to the devil, and will be aware of the link between a cultural product and the society that produced it. This course is taught in English, although subtitles in English, Catalan and Spanish will also be provided. COURSE SYLLABUS Week 1. Introduction to medieval magic (Pau Castell). Week 2. Magic & Heresy (Delfi I. Nieto-Isabel). Week 3. From Magic to Witchcraft (Pau Castell). Week 4. Magic in Islam (Godefroid de Callataÿ and Sébastien Moureau). Week 5. Astrology & Geomancy (Theo Loinaz, Delfi I. Nieto-Isabel, Godefroid de Callataÿ and Blanca Villuendas). © Gemma Pellissa Prades (coord.), Delfi I. Nieto-Isabel and Joana Palau Mumany Magic in the Middle Ages by Gemma Pellissa Prades (coord.), Delfi I. Nieto-Isabel and Joana Palau Mumany is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License....

최상위 리뷰

BW
2018년 3월 23일

Helpful and insightful. I try to learn as much about witchcraft and all religions as I can. The first set of videos were well lit and well read. I recommend this for anyone who wants to learn more.

NM
2020년 7월 14일

This course was really thorough and interesting. I liked how it covered a range of religions and regions and I think it's great how there are interactive assignments which judge out writing.

필터링 기준:

Magic in the Middle Ages의 404개 리뷰 중 76~100

교육 기관: Margarita L

2020년 10월 13일

This was a fantastic course. Thank you so much! I loved your work so much that I jumped directly to your Women's Spirituality course and am keeping my fingers crossed for more after that. You have enriched my life. Thank you.

교육 기관: Christine L C

2019년 3월 1일

This was a fantastic course! It was about the history of the relationship between magic and various religions. It makes me eager to learn more about several tangent subjects. Thank you for offering this as a MOOC! I loved it.

교육 기관: Aaron A J

2018년 11월 20일

Very informative! Crucial to the understanding of ancient beliefs and modern alike. A wonderful course, thank you for offering this. I really enjoyed it, and I absolutely recommend this course for anyone who loves HISTORY! 😀

교육 기관: István Ő

2019년 10월 28일

I really loved the videos, and the entire course was really informing. I got a complex picture of how people in the Middle Ages thought about magic and witchraft. I can recommend it to anyone who is interested in this topic.

교육 기관: Sumor S

2017년 2월 18일

Very interesting and objective class. I think I will take it again because I learned so much about something I needed to study a bit. also it is shot so well! And I love the bibliographies… they may be a favorite of mine...

교육 기관: Ingrid M P

2020년 6월 18일

Estuvo genial, solo que deberia de ser en español y mas por que es de la universidad de barcelona! muchas gracias! ahora mi pregunta es, si compro el diploma sale con el sello de la universitat de barcelona o de coursera

교육 기관: Gregg H

2017년 1월 10일

Fascinating course from two incredible institutions, an opportunity at Christian, Islamic and Jewish magic of the Middle Ages and think about the historical relationships of not only religion but also science to magic.

교육 기관: Fernanda B

2017년 10월 14일

I'm really enjoying all the information received on this course.

I can definitely understand a lot about this world we live in by going through all that happened in the past. And this contend is highly determinant.

교육 기관: María S M T

2020년 5월 4일

The course is fantastic, I really like everything related to magic and its history, I would like to know if there are more courses of this type that you offer, I would do it without thinking twice, thank you!!

교육 기관: Tina R

2016년 10월 2일

Great learning experience!

I enjoyed all the videos, the presented material, and the interaction with other students enrolled in the course... I will recommend this course to anyone interested in this topic :-)

교육 기관: Ana L M G

2020년 6월 8일

Aprendes muchísimo si realmente tomas notas y pones atención en las unidades. Tiene bastante información que no se encuentra fácilmente en la web pero no por eso se ponen estrictos al momento de calificar :D

교육 기관: Angel H

2020년 9월 15일

Curso excelente y excelentes colaboraciones de la universidad católica de Lovaina sobre la magia en el Islam y sobre Geomancia de la Sra.Villuendas. Gracias a todos los profesores.

Un saludo.

Angel Hualda

교육 기관: Antonio R

2017년 8월 13일

Un curso muy interesante! es maravilloso tener otra visión de la edad media, no solo hablar de el papel fundamental de la iglesia en esta época de la historia, sino de la vida que se llevaba.

교육 기관: María B B

2020년 5월 26일

I loved this course, it was explained very easy and I learned a lot about Magic in the Middle Ages that I had never learned before in another courses. I recommend this course for everyone.

교육 기관: Delia G P S

2019년 6월 21일

Muy buen curso, ya que ofrece desde una perspectiva histórica y de contexto los cambios y relaciones que se dieron en la Edad Media en torno a la magia. Lo recomiendo mucho!

교육 기관: Giovanna G

2020년 4월 22일

Very well planned and filled with all the important information, even though I’m not a historian myself I was able to learn and reflect on the subjects. Highly recommend!

교육 기관: Clara M R E

2019년 9월 6일

Excelente curso, magníficos profesores, muy preparados, me encantaría que el material opcional tuviera subtítulos en español, y que los cuestionarios pudieran traducirse.

교육 기관: Hansel R Z L

2020년 9월 26일

ENCANTAdor curso, las referencias bibliografias excelentes, una aventura magica, esto da para mas profundidad sobre el tema excelente universidad y excelente profesores.

교육 기관: amyra j

2019년 8월 26일

Overall I like this course because I interest in this topic, and love historical. I can't wait to attend another course about demonology, and hidden/ unsolved history.

교육 기관: Manu B

2016년 12월 2일

Very recommended, especially to those with little idea about the idea of magic in the Middle Ages. Learnt a lot and added much knowledge that I needed for a project.

교육 기관: Melissa ( C

2017년 8월 7일

The materials in this course gave me a lot to think about. The effects of the ideas and attitudes towards medieval "magic" are still affecting modern thought today.

교육 기관: Isidora D

2020년 4월 9일

Excellent and realistic window in lives and believes of medieval people. Course covers variety of topics presented by different lecturers, what is always fun!

교육 기관: Janeth C M Y

2016년 12월 26일

Me agrado el curso, los temas seleccionados fueron de gran interés. Además las actividades realizadas ayudaron en gran medida a entender cada unidad del curso.

교육 기관: Matheus V

2017년 1월 20일

Very nice and insightful, we learned with the past how to face the problems of the present. What was their means of control? To exterminate the different...

교육 기관: Melinda D A B

2017년 10월 24일

Amazing course! The material is interesting and enjoyable. The instructors are very passionate. I had so much fun taking this course, I'd highly recommend!