Chevron Left
The Modern World, Part One: Global History from 1760 to 1910(으)로 돌아가기

버지니아 대학교의 The Modern World, Part One: Global History from 1760 to 1910 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
1,485개의 평가
360개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This is a survey of modern history from a global perspective. Part One begins with the political and economic revolutions of the late 1700s and tracks the transformation of the world during the 1800s. Part One concludes as these bewildering changes seem to be running beyond the capacity of older institutions to handle them. Throughout the course we try to grasp what is happening and ask: Why? And the answers often turn on very human choices....

최상위 리뷰

MC

Nov 06, 2018

Dear Professor,\n\nI am fascinated with week one, even though I work in the scientific side, also like history, nothing more rewarding than visiting and ancient place and know what happened... Thanks

GW

Apr 16, 2017

Such an informative course, and it linked together different regions & events; that's something only top-level sources of education does. I will no doubt continue on with the course to Part 2.

필터링 기준:

The Modern World, Part One: Global History from 1760 to 1910의 352개 리뷰 중 326~350

교육 기관: Haihang W

Oct 19, 2015

Would be great to have slides available to help for future review.

교육 기관: Muhammad A F

Feb 18, 2016

A much much valuable course...

교육 기관: Cheryl L D

Feb 26, 2016

Another great course from a professor at UVA! Almost all of the lectures were engaging. He teaches history in an easily accessible way, using very good maps, diagrams, paintings, and clear illustrations of his topics. I would recommend this course everyone, but especially folks who find history to be a dry, dusty thing, as he breathes life into the material.

교육 기관: Rui F V

Aug 01, 2017

Great contents. Great professor. Loved it.

교육 기관: Michael L

Mar 26, 2016

Overall good class--instructor is lively and engaging

교육 기관: Johannes Z

Apr 22, 2016

Great overview showing the real movements and influences that spurn history!

교육 기관: Johann Q

Aug 28, 2015

Good lectures, although I prefer application based courses.

교육 기관: ana b

Nov 02, 2015

Being a professor as well (though in computer science), I know how hard it is to get the full attention of the students. I congratulate Prof. Zelikow for his achievements. This course has capture my attention and I was eager to watch the next presentation. I learned a lot and I just have a single point (actually a suggestion), which is that each module should finish with a list of literature for those seeking more info on particular topics. Apart from this, a well balanced course. Not easy to put together stuff about 250 years of History.

교육 기관: Virginia C

Jun 18, 2017

Dr. Zelikow is a fairly engaging lecturer. I like his emphasis on the why things occurred and the focus on the situation and decisions people were making which made the course much more interesting than just reciting the facts. I would encourage him to consider making fuller use of the media available for online courses which I think could increase student engagement. I plan to take the second half of this course.

교육 기관: Laura B

Jul 07, 2016

The course was very interesting and the professor explained really well in simple ways.

교육 기관: Clifford L B

Sep 22, 2016

Interesting course, well presented with just the right amount of charts and graphics, a talk and chalk approach. Some of the diagrams could have been higher resolution to enable better understanding on a first run through

교육 기관: Liju G

Nov 26, 2015

I liked the approach of the topic and the narration style. The focus on finding reasons behind historical moments is a good feature of this course.

교육 기관: Nora B R

Sep 11, 2016

Someone who doesn't know history is destined to repeat it. I'm not a fan of history, so why take this class? Because I believe in the first statement and wanted an overview of how we got to where we are. This is a great course for that.

교육 기관: Vikash R P

Oct 09, 2015

Excellent Oration packed with wonderful analysis. History has never been so much fun.

교육 기관: Lukas S

Jan 07, 2018

Interesting take on history

교육 기관: Ricardo C

Jun 27, 2019

Course presentations are very, very interesting. However, quizzes only very poorly assess the knowledge of the participants.

교육 기관: Bonnie L

Jul 29, 2019

I thought the instructor was excellent. He engaged with the viewer in the video and was not dry and boring. He really kept my attention and framed information well. Some prompting questions once a week for discussion in the work forum might be nice.

교육 기관: Benjamin W

Dec 21, 2015

There is much to praise: nice mapwork, a steady and organized march through time, and some interesting case studies (I especially enjoyed the lecture on Henry Adams).

However, the title is a complete misnomer, as the course is regrettably white bread history. I found the approach stale and western-centric, as the content actually covers western Europe and the stretch of its influence through the time period. I also found myself questioning the veracity of many conclusions, as the lecture often had difficulty citing more than a couple specific points of evidence for his arguments.

교육 기관: Katie D

Apr 19, 2017

You have to pay to take the the tests. You might as well watch videos on YouTube or better yet get on Khan Academy. I did like the instructor. Even though he takes a while to warm up, he's really good at showing the big picture connections of why things happened.

교육 기관: Julie C

Mar 08, 2016

I believe the assessments focus on insignificant details mentioned in the presentations rather than the big ideas that I believed was the crux of the course.

교육 기관: jay w

May 11, 2017

It's not a very good compromise to offer the quizzes for free but not the grades.

교육 기관: Kelly C

Mar 20, 2017

It does not let it show as completed unless you purchase the course and take the quizzes. Quizzes cannot be taken unless you purchase the course.

교육 기관: Романенков В А

Dec 12, 2017

So, I like it, but I'm not sure it ever useful to me. Although, it was interesting :)

교육 기관: John T

Feb 25, 2016

8 hour waiting period after 3 tries is a pain in the arse. One more try and i would have had it.

교육 기관: Brann R

May 26, 2017

Can not submit quizzes without purchase of certificate... Boo