Chevron Left
The Modern World, Part One: Global History from 1760 to 1910(으)로 돌아가기

버지니아 대학교의 The Modern World, Part One: Global History from 1760 to 1910 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
1,484개의 평가
360개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This is a survey of modern history from a global perspective. Part One begins with the political and economic revolutions of the late 1700s and tracks the transformation of the world during the 1800s. Part One concludes as these bewildering changes seem to be running beyond the capacity of older institutions to handle them. Throughout the course we try to grasp what is happening and ask: Why? And the answers often turn on very human choices....

최상위 리뷰

MC

Nov 06, 2018

Dear Professor,\n\nI am fascinated with week one, even though I work in the scientific side, also like history, nothing more rewarding than visiting and ancient place and know what happened... Thanks

GW

Apr 16, 2017

Such an informative course, and it linked together different regions & events; that's something only top-level sources of education does. I will no doubt continue on with the course to Part 2.

필터링 기준:

The Modern World, Part One: Global History from 1760 to 1910의 350개 리뷰 중 226~250

교육 기관: Anton P

Jul 20, 2017

The best history course on Coursera!

교육 기관: Carlos R

Jan 21, 2016

This course gives you a very broad view of world History on a Global scale. It is very well taught. Professor Zelikow teaches history in a very engaging and understandable way.

교육 기관: Jacob F

Sep 24, 2015

I love it

교육 기관: Dennis N

Sep 14, 2017

Very enjoyable course, will definitely be taking Part 2

교육 기관: Geordie w

Jun 28, 2016

A great course on predominantly the western course of history from 1760 to 1910; one that focuses on ideas and movements that shaped the world, not a course that focuses on western history for reasons of eurocentrism alone. Where the course is eurocentric, it is so by necessity, a symptom of a well-balanced, well-structured course that strives for an approach that poses questions in an earnest and truthful manner.

The professor who runs this course is a highlight. His voice and presentation style makes the course that much easier to enjoy. I hope to later follow him and pay attention to his external writings and insights, even in my time beyond studying this online course.

교육 기관: Jennifer M

Nov 01, 2015

Great course. Interesting and engaging lectures. I enjoyed this professor's talks very much.

교육 기관: James G

Feb 07, 2016

Excellent insight, clearly understood broad presentation of ideas. Excellent communicator, this was by far the best course I have taken in Coursera.

교육 기관: Laurence G

May 20, 2018

I learned many new things from this course. I believe it will an excellent background to understanding the World Wars. I am particularly interested in World War II and the Holocaust. I look forward to the next course.

교육 기관: Edward S T W K

Jan 30, 2017

Very easy to follow yet imparts a deep understanding of the subject.

교육 기관: Iurii G

Aug 31, 2016

excellent

교육 기관: Michael H

Nov 17, 2015

Excellent gripping delivery of what otherwise could be simply a bunch of dull facts.

교육 기관: Admario L R

Dec 06, 2015

Great course: professor Zelikow puts into perspective facts that give us an understandable course of History and the role played by choices made by people rather than reviewing purely theoretical explanations or ideological trends to base conclusions. Really enjoyed it!

교육 기관: Jose A V B

Oct 04, 2015

Amazing content and the professor makes the lecture very friendly and interesting.

교육 기관: Carolina D C

Oct 31, 2016

Amazing!

교육 기관: Paranthaman

Nov 11, 2015

Clear explanation of global history.

교육 기관: Nicole V

Nov 24, 2017

Phenomenal.

교육 기관: Claudio F

Nov 20, 2015

Really great. A big thanks to the professor for the big effort and clarity of explanations

교육 기관: Kenneth M

Dec 08, 2015

really excellent . Looking forward to the second part

교육 기관: giovanni m

Nov 12, 2015

excellent teaching and interesting development of the history.

교육 기관: Dawn J

Jul 08, 2017

Fascinating and broad, I have studied this time period on two occasions at different educational establishments as part of other courses but I still found this course engaging. It gives a broad and fairly global view of events - and shows the interconnections, which I thought was very good. I hope to be able to find time to take the second part of this course in the near future.

교육 기관: Diana M

Feb 18, 2018

This course shows an excellent view of the main historical facts. I recommend this program who is interested to understand the current global movement.

Thanks professor Zelikow.

교육 기관: Natalia

Jan 06, 2016

very good overview of world history

교육 기관: rodrigo a m

Oct 26, 2015

Fantastic!!!

교육 기관: Joseph W

Dec 13, 2015

Very good course - ties many disparate threads together to make a cogent explanation of how and why the modern world came to be.

교육 기관: Ana C C

Oct 03, 2015

The course covers an extensive important period of time and in a very organized way. You never get lost. The quizzes are of remarkable level, very well-thought and never superficial. The way things get related and start making sense helped me get to another level in my knowledge of history. I will never study any subject without making reference to other important events that happened elsewhere. And will always refer my readings on this theme to what I learned in this course. Great chance to watch Professor Zelikow's classes from Brazil. Thanks Coursera!