Chevron Left
Calculus: Single Variable Part 1 - Functions(으)로 돌아가기

펜실베이니아 대학교의 Calculus: Single Variable Part 1 - Functions 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
별점
1,813개의 평가
496개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Calculus is one of the grandest achievements of human thought, explaining everything from planetary orbits to the optimal size of a city to the periodicity of a heartbeat. This brisk course covers the core ideas of single-variable Calculus with emphases on conceptual understanding and applications. The course is ideal for students beginning in the engineering, physical, and social sciences. Distinguishing features of the course include: 1) the introduction and use of Taylor series and approximations from the beginning; 2) a novel synthesis of discrete and continuous forms of Calculus; 3) an emphasis on the conceptual over the computational; and 4) a clear, dynamic, unified approach. In this first part--part one of five--you will extend your understanding of Taylor series, review limits, learn the *why* behind l'Hopital's rule, and, most importantly, learn a new language for describing growth and decay of functions: the BIG O....

최상위 리뷰

YG

2018년 7월 2일

Very well structured for a refresher course. Thank you Professor Ghrist for your effort in putting this course together. A little additional outside research was required but well worth the effort.

NL

2021년 2월 9일

Excellent introduction to Calculus, I wanted to review the material to tutor my child but I am very happy that I learned a whole new way of looking at Calculus.\n\nThank you so much Prof. Ghrist.

필터링 기준:

Calculus: Single Variable Part 1 - Functions의 488개 리뷰 중 76~100

교육 기관: Meysam N

2021년 5월 9일

It is a little bit difficult to follow the course since it is not clear what are the learning objectives. However, once I insisted on following the material and forcing myself into it I had the opportunity to learn so many beautiful concepts that were totally new to me in mathematics.

교육 기관: Kannadasan P S

2020년 7월 15일

Got to know to some of the crucial concepts like Big-O which was a base for complex computation in the calculation of time for programmes. And the lectures were very interesting as they were explained with application. The overall feel while learning the course was good !!

교육 기관: Aleksey C

2016년 12월 29일

When I retake homework tasks I try to fix tasks I failed on previous attempt. IMHO it make sense to not repeat them all but provide only tasks that were solved incorrectly. Repeating ALL tasks just wastes my time for reentering correct answers and is error-prone process.

교육 기관: Ross L

2018년 11월 26일

This is a much more in-depth calc class than I've had at univ, and by more in-depth I mean it's harder. That being said I feel like I understand the material better as before there was much more memorization whereas this has more explanation. A++++++ would take again.

교육 기관: Pedro R

2018년 12월 26일

It's a very good course that uses a different point of view to understand how things works in calculus. It's very didatic and helps you think outside the box. If you're thinking about do the course, keep in mind that it is necessary previous knowledge in calculus.

교육 기관: Reika E

2018년 6월 17일

I would highly recommend this course to those who are trying hard to study calculus in Chinese universities but having a hard time understanding calculus. After finishing this course, you will find it useful to use Taylor Expansion to solve limit problems in tests.

교육 기관: Dmitry P

2018년 2월 14일

For me the most difficult part was "order of growth". It would be very nice if this subject was explained more detailed. It was rather hard course for me (I can't do all the exercises in time). Big thanks for many exercises and for few errors.

교육 기관: Tracy S B

2020년 2월 2일

Excellent course. Thanks!

Future Students: Make sure you read the Wiki in the "General Discussion" section titled "READ ME!!!!!!!!!! Penn Calc Wiki supplement" because that will tell you where to find the web-based "textbook" for the course

교육 기관: Robert H

2016년 2월 24일

The YouTube description was overly enthusiastic. The course description on signup was much more to the point: This is not AB calculus. Reach the end and you will have accomplished something. Warning: You will not be led by the hand.

교육 기관: Marat K

2016년 8월 3일

Colorful and quite clear, but it might be a bit impractical (and I've been out of school for years now) in my case, so I'm just reviewing it to recall some notions and theories - and just for fun and a bit of mind-crunching :)

교육 기관: Oap T

2020년 10월 14일

Coming into this course i was expecting to calmly review calculus, but oh man little did i know how hard it actually is. Who starts with Taylor series? WHO? Nobody whose course is even as close to being as good to this one.

교육 기관: Hà N

2021년 12월 15일

I found this course quite challenging at the beginning . However, the more I learnt, the more excited and satisfied I got. The course provides me such an in-depth understanding of functions and limit. Love it so much !!!

교육 기관: João D M P

2016년 1월 3일

The taylor series insight on growth orders and differentiation as well as function definition is invaluable. The lecturer is superbly original in both presentation of the material, but also on an integrative exposition.

교육 기관: trshant

2016년 3월 25일

i am finally beginning to understand calculus!

It is perfectly paced, and the core homework, while simple really makes you think about what you learned. And prepares you for tougher things, like the challenge homework.

교육 기관: Hayk M

2019년 9월 15일

Overall, the course is very useful and well structured. I think in some parts of the videos, other methods of explanation should have been chosen in order to allow students to grasp the content of the course easily.

교육 기관: I.W.

2018년 12월 28일

This was great, thank you! The only thing that would be useful is solutions to missed problems after the assignment has been completed because it's hard to know what you did wrong when you are working by yourself.

교육 기관: Utkarsh R

2016년 1월 9일

Feeling calculus!

I'm loving this series of lectures. If you have taken any basic calculus course before, this is the perfect course.

I wish to thank Professor Ghrist and University of Pennsylvania for this course.

교육 기관: Alekhya V

2021년 5월 20일

I really loved this course! It was so interesting and the concepts were very well explained. Although it got tricky in the middle of the course, reviewing the materials once again helped me solve the problems!

교육 기관: Nachiket R U

2021년 5월 29일

Great course, unlike other courses where all the questions are based on video. the assessment makes sure that you take some extra efforts. Difficult course but it will help you understand the concepts better.

교육 기관: An H T

2021년 1월 22일

Fantastic! I work in social science and this is the first time I come back to calculus since highschool. 20 years has passed. Time flies! This course is not for faint-hearted. It is challenging, but worthy.

교육 기관: Oscar O

2020년 7월 27일

It is a Masterful creation of Dr Ghrist......deserves even more stars.....not easy, lots of work , challenging but rewarding in every way.....Thanks Dr Ghrist.....(and forum course Mentors as well!!!).....

교육 기관: Abdulla A

2019년 5월 26일

Wonderful course delving into the basics of calculus. I loved the explanatikon and colors. Although I am still not sure about Orders of growth, everything else was explained perfectly and enthusiastically.

교육 기관: Leonardo G

2020년 4월 13일

Fue una grandiosa experiencia, los ejercicios me permitieron afianzar mis conocimientos en el cálculo y desarrollar habilidades como resolución de problemas en el abordaje de las situaciones de reto.

교육 기관: Mengyun Z

2016년 6월 14일

The lectures are delivered in a clear and straightforward manner. Videos do a good job in walking me through the key points related to the topic. And the exercises were well designed to capture the

교육 기관: Haniyeh B

2020년 9월 28일

As a mathematics student in high school who just wanted to learn and explore more in calculus and university math this was a great first step to start with. Can't wait to go for chapter 2!!!