Chevron Left
Sports and Society(으)로 돌아가기

듀크대학교의 Sports and Society 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
814개의 평가
213개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Sports play a giant role in contemporary society worldwide. But few of us pause to think about the larger questions of money, politics, race, sex, culture, and commercialization that surround sports everywhere. This course draws on the tools of anthropology, sociology, history, and other disciplines to give you new perspectives on the games we watch and play. It's the new and improved version of Professor Orin Starn's original "Sports and Society" for Coursera, which drew more than 40,000 students. We will focus on both popular sports like soccer (or “football,” as anyone outside America calls it), basketball, and baseball, and also lesser-known ones like mountain-climbing and fishing. You will never watch or think about sports in the same way again....

최상위 리뷰

MM

Nov 12, 2016

I loved this particular course. The topics are relevant. Each topic is supported by historical facts and examples and how is it relevant in the present time. It was a great learning experience!!!

LK

Jan 07, 2020

One of the best courses that mixed interesting facts with theories. I study sports management, it's really intriguing to see how sports social values entwined with each other in history!

필터링 기준:

Sports and Society의 210개 리뷰 중 51~75

교육 기관: Maithili M

Nov 12, 2016

I loved this particular course. The topics are relevant. Each topic is supported by historical facts and examples and how is it relevant in the present time. It was a great learning experience!!!

교육 기관: Liu K

Jan 07, 2020

One of the best courses that mixed interesting facts with theories. I study sports management, it's really intriguing to see how sports social values entwined with each other in history!

교육 기관: Purvi M

Jul 26, 2020

This is the best course on Coursera for sports enthusiasts and I have never seen an instructor like Orin Starn. The way he delivered the course made this course beyond perfect.

교육 기관: Liam S

Dec 10, 2018

Professor Starn gives insight into the sports world and explains complex topics using anthropological reasoning in a way that makes sense to the average person. Great class!

교육 기관: Ed G

Sep 28, 2019

I absolutely loved this course. This is my favorite course I've taken with Coursera by far. The instructor was phenomenal and relatable. I highly recommend this course.

교육 기관: Ana E T H

Feb 06, 2018

Excellent course!

I enjoyed the course because it goes deep enough into the topics for begginers...

I specially liked the video about corporate athletes.

I'm a soccer fan!

교육 기관: vishal m

Jun 23, 2020

Loved every Bit of this course!

Sports illustrated with so many different perspectives, this course is a must for anyone who want to strengthen their bond with sports..

교육 기관: Khandaker T A

Jul 18, 2020

That was outstanding . Because now I know sports is not only about playing but also related to culture, gender, Psychology, politics, business, society, age and more.

교육 기관: Luv R A

Mar 21, 2018

I really got some new insights about sports and how the climate of sports has changed and some really good facts about sport.

Thanks for the lovely lectures Mr. Orin!

교육 기관: RANJITH K P

Jun 02, 2020

Excellent one,the way of presentation by the instructor is fantabulous,He gives a positive energy to the learners. Also his lecture is crystal clear. Thank you sir.

교육 기관: Rohan P

May 12, 2020

An excellent course! Learned a lot! Genuinely disappointed that it's over. Wish the course was longer. I hope there is a part 2 or something like that. Brilliant!

교육 기관: Michael R

May 10, 2020

Videos were awesome and readings were still applicable even in 2020. Only feedback would be update some of the readings to more current and a section on E-Sports.

교육 기관: Joshua J F

Jun 13, 2017

The content and delivery of the course were excellent. Professor Orin Starn is a star educator: knowledgeable, entertaining, funny, engaging, and very accessible.

교육 기관: Valeria F

Jun 13, 2020

Very interesting cours! i've enjoyed evrey single lecture.

I learned a lot about sports world, that's great!

Thank you Professor Orin Starn and Duke University.

교육 기관: Carlos A H H

Aug 29, 2020

Muy bueno. Naturalmente, el curso no puede ser detallado, aunque sí remite a una cantidad conciderable de fuentes para continuar con estudios sobre el deporte.

교육 기관: Timothy T

Sep 10, 2019

Very interesting and a lot of great information. Easy to pick up and learn, and get through it to broaden my knowledge of sports! Had a great time learning.

교육 기관: Andrew V

Apr 08, 2017

This course was very good and well structured. Professor is very professional. I get a lot inmportant information and many fun moments. Thank you so much

교육 기관: Anne M v B

Apr 25, 2018

I really enjoyed the course! I feel it touches all of the subjects around sports and helps you understand the evolution and impact they have in society.

교육 기관: Willard J

May 24, 2019

Really great course that explores the various ways sports have an impact and are reflections of human society and various cultures. Really interesting!

교육 기관: Eiji J L A

May 22, 2020

Excelente curso, excelente material, super entendible y agradable. Muchas gracias a todo el equipo que hizo posible tremendo curso!. Felicitaciones!

교육 기관: Yash C

Nov 11, 2017

ABsolutely loved the course, Dr. Starn's words are very intricate and have taught me very well. Looking forward to more classes by him on coursera.

교육 기관: Jose O G B

Jul 25, 2020

For all those who are in the sports bussiness, it is fundamental to understand the role it plays in modern society and economics, great content

교육 기관: varun h

May 07, 2020

This course was really helpful in order to understand the various different aspects of different types of sports.Prof. Orin was simply amazing.

교육 기관: Devan F

Jun 28, 2020

Well, throughout lectures that were interesting and engaging. I found that I was never bored and that it was challenging but still manageable.

교육 기관: Tim H

Sep 13, 2019

Great course that brought to light something we watch and do everyday but without knowing the history of it. Look forward to further courses.