Chevron Left
Sports and Society(으)로 돌아가기

듀크대학교의 Sports and Society 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
1,026개의 평가
275개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Sports play a giant role in contemporary society worldwide. But few of us pause to think about the larger questions of money, politics, race, sex, culture, and commercialization that surround sports everywhere. This course draws on the tools of anthropology, sociology, history, and other disciplines to give you new perspectives on the games we watch and play. It's the new and improved version of Professor Orin Starn's original "Sports and Society" for Coursera, which drew more than 40,000 students. We will focus on both popular sports like soccer (or “football,” as anyone outside America calls it), basketball, and baseball, and also lesser-known ones like mountain-climbing and fishing. You will never watch or think about sports in the same way again....

최상위 리뷰

MM
2016년 11월 11일

I loved this particular course. The topics are relevant. Each topic is supported by historical facts and examples and how is it relevant in the present time. It was a great learning experience!!!

RK
2017년 1월 13일

This course tells us about how social customs and traditions have contributed to the evolution of sports and how sports has vice versa reflected the changes in social order of any age.

필터링 기준:

Sports and Society의 275개 리뷰 중 51~75

교육 기관: SRETTAPONG S

2020년 7월 1일

The course put the modern knowledge and ancient knowledge very well, in fact, the teacher does know how sport works with society in every ways possible and finally the course can develop in to many sub-topic of study in the future.

교육 기관: Prathamesh n

2020년 5월 31일

It was an amazing lecture on sports and society from Duke University. A lot of things were brought into consideration in this course it will sure help me in the future for my design course, Looking forward to such online courses.

교육 기관: Shomeresh S

2020년 6월 1일

Really insightful and well-rounded perspective of sports and its journey alongside the development of societies world over. A quote that will stay with me forever "Tell me what sport you play and I'll tell you who are".

교육 기관: Xavier K

2020년 7월 12일

Loved the course. Top teacher. I really liked how he approached to some polemic topics, and also loved the fact that he takes into account other important sports in the world and doesn't stick to only American sports.

교육 기관: Aniruddh I

2020년 8월 12일

a very informative course which skims through all facetst of society and sports making for a very wholesome experience , to mr Orin , have a advance class on the very same topic for all who have completed this course

교육 기관: Webster C

2020년 5월 19일

Wonderful and well crafted course that lets you in on all the need to know essentials on the relationship between Sport, Society and Politics! Amazing content that will help me get closer to my goals no doubt.

교육 기관: Nichakarn H

2020년 4월 12일

I’d learned a lot about the history of the sports, social behavior that relevant to the sports, and vice versa from this course. I really enjoyed all along until finished the course. Thank you professor!

교육 기관: Alejandro R M

2017년 12월 9일

Great Course that grasp different views on sports and their meaning in northamerican society as well as their consecuences and forms of ogranization. I enjoyed the lectures and bibliography very much.

교육 기관: Mathilde A

2021년 11월 22일

c​e cours est très intéressant et enrichissant sur un sujet qui nous entore tous et qui est d'autant plus agréable à suivre lorsque c'est un sujet qui nous plait! merci beaucoup

교육 기관: Purvi M

2020년 7월 26일

This is the best course on Coursera for sports enthusiasts and I have never seen an instructor like Orin Starn. The way he delivered the course made this course beyond perfect.

교육 기관: Liam S

2018년 12월 10일

Professor Starn gives insight into the sports world and explains complex topics using anthropological reasoning in a way that makes sense to the average person. Great class!

교육 기관: Ed G

2019년 9월 28일

I absolutely loved this course. This is my favorite course I've taken with Coursera by far. The instructor was phenomenal and relatable. I highly recommend this course.

교육 기관: Ana E T H

2018년 2월 6일

Excellent course!

I enjoyed the course because it goes deep enough into the topics for begginers...

I specially liked the video about corporate athletes.

I'm a soccer fan!

교육 기관: vishal m

2020년 6월 23일

Loved every Bit of this course!

Sports illustrated with so many different perspectives, this course is a must for anyone who want to strengthen their bond with sports..

교육 기관: Meghana M

2020년 11월 28일

Great Course on Sports and Society, Excellent insights into the History and Culture of popular sports across the globe. Thank you Duke University and Prof. Orin Starn

교육 기관: Khandaker T A

2020년 7월 18일

That was outstanding . Because now I know sports is not only about playing but also related to culture, gender, Psychology, politics, business, society, age and more.

교육 기관: Carmine L

2020년 10월 27일

Informative, rich, all-embracing. I wish I could take it again! Fortunately, it left me with so many things to think about that it will stay with me for a long time.

교육 기관: Luv R A

2018년 3월 21일

I really got some new insights about sports and how the climate of sports has changed and some really good facts about sport.

Thanks for the lovely lectures Mr. Orin!

교육 기관: Ranjithkamal P

2020년 6월 2일

Excellent one,the way of presentation by the instructor is fantabulous,He gives a positive energy to the learners. Also his lecture is crystal clear. Thank you sir.

교육 기관: Rohan P

2020년 5월 12일

An excellent course! Learned a lot! Genuinely disappointed that it's over. Wish the course was longer. I hope there is a part 2 or something like that. Brilliant!

교육 기관: Michael R

2020년 5월 10일

Videos were awesome and readings were still applicable even in 2020. Only feedback would be update some of the readings to more current and a section on E-Sports.

교육 기관: Joshua J F

2017년 6월 12일

The content and delivery of the course were excellent. Professor Orin Starn is a star educator: knowledgeable, entertaining, funny, engaging, and very accessible.

교육 기관: Susan M

2021년 9월 7일

​I really enjoyed this course. I am a sports fan but learned so much! Things I never thought of! Really liked the professor. He made this course so interesting!!

교육 기관: Valeria F

2020년 6월 13일

Very interesting cours! i've enjoyed evrey single lecture.

I learned a lot about sports world, that's great!

Thank you Professor Orin Starn and Duke University.

교육 기관: Carlos A H H

2020년 8월 29일

Muy bueno. Naturalmente, el curso no puede ser detallado, aunque sí remite a una cantidad conciderable de fuentes para continuar con estudios sobre el deporte.