Chevron Left
Sports and Society(으)로 돌아가기

듀크대학교의 Sports and Society 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
384개의 평가
79개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Sports play a giant role in contemporary society worldwide. But few of us pause to think about the larger questions of money, politics, race, sex, culture, and commercialization that surround sports everywhere. This course draws on the tools of anthropology, sociology, history, and other disciplines to give you new perspectives on the games we watch and play. It's the new and improved version of Professor Orin Starn's original "Sports and Society" for Coursera, which drew more than 40,000 students. We will focus on both popular sports like soccer (or “football,” as anyone outside America calls it), basketball, and baseball, and also lesser-known ones like mountain-climbing and fishing. You will never watch or think about sports in the same way again....

최상위 리뷰

MM

Nov 12, 2016

I loved this particular course. The topics are relevant. Each topic is supported by historical facts and examples and how is it relevant in the present time. It was a great learning experience!!!

RK

Jan 14, 2017

This course tells us about how social customs and traditions have contributed to the evolution of sports and how sports has vice versa reflected the changes in social order of any age.

필터링 기준:

Sports and Society의 76개 리뷰 중 51~75

교육 기관: shyam s

Jun 10, 2016

it was wonderful....very useful couse..i like it .but it hard

교육 기관: Allison K S

Oct 30, 2016

This is without a doubt my favorite class that I have ever taken (especially online)! The videos were well done with the right balance of lecture, visuals, and videos. The quizzes were challenging, yet not impossible. My sincerest gratitude to Professor Starn and his team. I'm hoping Professor Starn creates more courses like this one! Thank you for stimulating my mind and keeping me intrigued!

교육 기관: knvg r

Jun 09, 2016

Love sports, very good corse to take !!!

교육 기관: Pietro R

Jan 12, 2017

The teacher is quite engaging, the man has showmanship! Add that the content is really interesting and you get a 5 stars course. Recommended!

교육 기관: Arjay G

Aug 13, 2017

An eye opener and very entertaining, I am a MAPEH (Music,Art,Physical Education) teacher from the Philippines and lessons and insights here is a big help for me and to my students..You will gain elevated perspective about sports while taking this wonderfully presented course.

교육 기관: Djordje I

Jan 20, 2017

Perfect!

교육 기관: zhangzhe

Sep 22, 2018

perfect

교육 기관: Sagar A

Sep 27, 2018

It is an excellent Course!!Great insight into one of the important aspects of sports

교육 기관: Emil

Oct 27, 2018

Nice and refreshing course. I liked best the video game lecture and the book recommended.

교육 기관: Lee J

Nov 09, 2018

Very insightful, and well communicated by the teacher. Very enjoyable!

교육 기관: Thomas R

May 05, 2019

Interesting, teacher voice is fluid

교육 기관: Conner C

May 06, 2019

Amazing good work Orin Star

교육 기관: victor m c

May 14, 2019

c

교육 기관: Priyesh S

May 31, 2019

This was a really interesting course, gives lot of insight into the various types of sports in the world, explains the science and detailed theory behind some of the worlds most popular sports, not to mention a lot of trivia and history behind the sports and how it relates to society and the various cultural relations it has all across the world.

A wonderful course and a very fun ;earning experience.

Special thanks to Professor Orin Starn and everyone at Duke University for bringing this course and making it possible. Cheers

교육 기관:

May 24, 2019

Really great course that explores the various ways sports have an impact and are reflections of human society and various cultures. Really interesting!

교육 기관: Jair C M F

Aug 08, 2019

The course is sublime!

교육 기관: Gerardo B P

Feb 01, 2019

Tiene una gran variedad de temáticas y la mayoría de los videos son dinámicos .

It has a great variety of topics and most of the videos are very dynamic.

교육 기관: Francis B

Feb 02, 2016

Great course for sports coaches, PE teachers and anyone interested to pursue a career in sports.

교육 기관: julian

Jun 04, 2017

informative and helpfull

교육 기관: Joy S

Jun 04, 2017

surprisingly interesting and apropos considering I do not watch nor participate in any traditional team sports. Not just about the big sports.

교육 기관: Lee K K

Feb 27, 2018

Gives you a good insight into understanding people and history..

교육 기관: RaymondMistral

Sep 06, 2016

J'ai trouvé ce cours très intéressant. Il aborde de nombreux aspects du sport auxquels on ne pense pas toujours, mais qui sont très importants dans le monde contemporain. Le professeur Orin Starn est agréable à écouter et les illustrations permettent de bien visualiser de quoi il est question tout en maintenant les élèves attentifs au cours. Cependant, pour un non-anglophone, l'effort demandé en termes de lecture est parfois un peu trop important et il est difficile de terminer la lecture des articles avant la fin de la semaine.

교육 기관: Deleted A

Sep 29, 2018

This online course is very interesting for people that enjoys playing and watching sports. To explain the impact of sports in society and the development of sports in general, ideas and studies of many social science experts are provided and translated to the sport reality. Many well-known sport facts and personalities are provided to support the arguments.

The lecturer (Orin Stark) presents the subjects and his personal opinion on an “easy-going” language. He is someone with who you could have a very pleasant pub conversation. His approach and “easy going” language make the course and its content interesting and easy to follow, also for people without any background in social sciences, like me.

I really enjoying this course!

교육 기관: Aaron F A C

Jun 21, 2019

It´s a very good course

교육 기관: Anubhav S

Jun 03, 2017

The evaluation for this course has questions which are very memory based and not application based