Chevron Left
Text Retrieval and Search Engines(으)로 돌아가기

일리노이대학교 어버너-섐페인캠퍼스의 Text Retrieval and Search Engines 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.4
488개의 평가
105개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Recent years have seen a dramatic growth of natural language text data, including web pages, news articles, scientific literature, emails, enterprise documents, and social media such as blog articles, forum posts, product reviews, and tweets. Text data are unique in that they are usually generated directly by humans rather than a computer system or sensors, and are thus especially valuable for discovering knowledge about people’s opinions and preferences, in addition to many other kinds of knowledge that we encode in text. This course will cover search engine technologies, which play an important role in any data mining applications involving text data for two reasons. First, while the raw data may be large for any particular problem, it is often a relatively small subset of the data that are relevant, and a search engine is an essential tool for quickly discovering a small subset of relevant text data in a large text collection. Second, search engines are needed to help analysts interpret any patterns discovered in the data by allowing them to examine the relevant original text data to make sense of any discovered pattern. You will learn the basic concepts, principles, and the major techniques in text retrieval, which is the underlying science of search engines....

최상위 리뷰

JH

Sep 21, 2016

Great course for those trying to understand how ro analyse and process text data. It has the right amount of tools to help you understand the basics of information retrieval and search engines.

PM

Aug 29, 2016

A great overview of text retrieval methods. Good coverage of search engines. A longer course will cover search engine better (remember this is a 6 weeker)

필터링 기준:

Text Retrieval and Search Engines의 103개 리뷰 중 76~100

교육 기관: Eric Y

Dec 12, 2017

Excellent lecture material with many very interesting concepts. Instructor clearly talks about topics and why they're important. -1 star due to: content being on quizzes before being covered in lecture, compilation errors in the programming assignments, errors in submitting programming assignments, and lack of instructor support/feedback on the discussion forms.

교육 기관: Hyun J L

Nov 30, 2017

Was interesting

교육 기관: Watana P

May 28, 2017

I found that there were a lot of mathematical function in this course. I need to see the examples of how are those functions applied in the real programming which support the business.

교육 기관: Marcus M F T

Aug 31, 2017

Good theoretical course. Some exercises need to be fixed, as they count for approval and are misplaced.

교육 기관: liz a

Feb 16, 2019

very hard to understand teacher

교육 기관: Peter B

Dec 15, 2018

Lectures are fine for those who does not want to read a book and want to get a quick overview. Quizzes are very un-useful and buggy. There are questions presented that are not covered in the section. Programming assignments are optional because instructor did not want to adapt them for Coursera format so that they can be completed using tools of choice.

교육 기관: Phillip J V

Sep 11, 2018

The quiz content is out of sync with the lecture content and has not been fixed after what appears to be 2 years of comments in the course error message board and weekly discussion boards.

교육 기관: Theodor G

Dec 10, 2016

Interessant, but it wasn't organized too well. Some questions referred to topics which came in the next lesson

교육 기관: Elio X R C

May 19, 2018

I expected more exercises

교육 기관: Tom H

Nov 15, 2016

The course was great. What I had a real problem with was the lack of response for problems with the Honors programming assignments. I never received any feedback from the TA's and when I submitted to MeTa support, they said the school design the programs so they can't help. I got a Segmentation Fault on Assignment one which I never did get resolved. Because of this, I was unable to get the Honors status.

교육 기관: Kartoffel

Sep 03, 2016

Ok. It was a rerun and there wasn't much help in the Forum and there were too few exercises. But it was really interesting.

교육 기관: Michael B

Jun 20, 2016

Very theoretical and somewhat dry. If you are interested in applied machine learning techniques (for text retrieval and analysis) this is not really the course to take. Gives a solid background though which, in my opinion, every aspiring data analyst needs.

교육 기관: Ziyue L

Dec 02, 2016

Too much theories ,I hope the professor add more programming assignment.

교육 기관: Vivian Y Q

Jul 24, 2017

i like the theory, wish more hands on with some softwares

교육 기관: Siwei Y

Mar 04, 2017

不得不说, 老师讲课讲得的很好,内容丰富,逻辑性很强,非常清晰。这一点很难得,因为我听过太多天马行空的课了。

但是Honor Track 有着灾难性的问题。因为当前的作业源代码已经和最新的META 不再兼容了, 作业源代码版本太旧。运气不好的话,学生要花巨量的时间来安装调试, 处理各种dependency 的问题, 而这些根本不是学这门课所要做的。看看discussion forum 里吧,哀鸿遍野。另外,在平常的作业里会有些低级错误, 连Mentor 都无法自圆其说。希望能够及时纠正这些错误,不然真的可惜了这么好的内容。 本来要给五星的,两颗星就扣在这些地方。

교육 기관: Alex C

Nov 05, 2016

excellent material and great explanations! The main problem here is that quizzes will sometimes cover subjects not introduced until the following week.

교육 기관: Stian F J

Oct 22, 2017

Essentially a very interesting and well structured course. Unfortunately, its honours track programming assignments are plagued by technical issues, and there are inconsistencies between the schedule of the video lectures and what is asked in the quizzes.

교육 기관: Paul N

Jun 08, 2018

I got the sense that this course needs to be updated. Some of the quizzes covered work that had not been treated up to that point and the programming assignment did not work with the most recent version of the MeTA toolkit. For a course of this stature I would have expected a lot more attention to such detail. It would also appear as though the owners of the course material are not present on the forums with students left to their own devices.This course as well as the Text Mining one does not compare well with the Machine Learning course from Stanford offered on Coursera when considering the above issues.Some work is required I believe

교육 기관: Vadim P

May 03, 2019

The course does not give much of practical knowledge, mostly theoretical. For example, presented material does not teach you what is required to build a good search engine. Even theoretical part is mostly based on old view, which is proven to be not working. For some topics the exam was given before the topic was presented in lectures.

교육 기관: Chen Q

Apr 08, 2019

Some courses lack lecture notes. There are some mistake in the week exercise (some question regarding topic in wk5 appears in wk4). So the overall feeling for the course is not well considering it is a part of the school's graduate program

교육 기관: Vivien A

May 26, 2019

The course conveys a lot of well-structured content. The theoretical concepts are taught well by the videos, although some videos are a little bit too long.

Unfortunately, I was not able to do the practical assignments due to technical problems with the installation of the required development environment. I missed experiencing in practice what I have learnt in theory.

교육 기관: vibhor n

Jul 30, 2019

Heavily focused on formulas. I prefer courses which focus on basic concepts more.

교육 기관: James M

May 25, 2016

The material is compelling and the lecturer is engaging, but the course is not well prepared. The assessments are not relevant to the material covered and there are no collateral materials (e.g., downloadable slides/handouts) available to assist in learning.

교육 기관: Andrew S

Aug 01, 2017

The week 4 quiz has some questions from Week 5 material causing a low grade for my week 4 quiz. I've asked to have my week 4 grade dropped in the week 4 discussion fourm since it was based on a flawed quiz. Please read the forums and reply to everyone who had issues with the week 4 quiz and the honers project errors. No one seems to respond to these issues on the fourms except for other students agreeing that the week 4 quiz is flawed and that the honors section also has errors.

교육 기관: Deleted A

Aug 05, 2017

This is not very informational whatsoever. After some sifting, I did not find this course to be useful. I would rather complete a formal course on the topic at the university itself.