학생용
Chevron Left
Mathematical Thinking in Computer Science(으)로 돌아가기

캘리포니아 샌디에고 대학교의 Mathematical Thinking in Computer Science 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.4
별점
1,809개의 평가
421개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Mathematical thinking is crucial in all areas of computer science: algorithms, bioinformatics, computer graphics, data science, machine learning, etc. In this course, we will learn the most important tools used in discrete mathematics: induction, recursion, logic, invariants, examples, optimality. We will use these tools to answer typical programming questions like: How can we be certain a solution exists? Am I sure my program computes the optimal answer? Do each of these objects meet the given requirements? In the course, we use a try-this-before-we-explain-everything approach: you will be solving many interactive (and mobile friendly) puzzles that were carefully designed to allow you to invent many of the important ideas and concepts yourself. Prerequisites: 1. We assume only basic math (e.g., we expect you to know what is a square or how to add fractions), common sense and curiosity. 2. Basic programming knowledge is necessary as some quizzes require programming in Python....

최상위 리뷰

AD
2019년 3월 25일

The teachers are informative and good. They explain the topic in a way that we can easily understand. The slides provide all the information that is needed. The external tools are fun and informative.

AM
2021년 2월 27일

It is a great course! teachers explain everything with care. While providing lectures there are some popup ques that verify whether you understood that lecture or not. Overall, a great experience.

필터링 기준:

Mathematical Thinking in Computer Science의 414개 리뷰 중 51~75

교육 기관: Mohammed R

2019년 4월 30일

Absloutely Fantastic. I highly recommend it to anyone who wants to learn data structures and algorithms thoroughly.

교육 기관: Saikat M

2018년 1월 2일

Enjoyable and interesting...also easy to follow for people like me who have been out of college long time back.

교육 기관: Ernest D

2019년 1월 5일

this is a very nice course ,its has broaden my whole knowledge about maths

thanks to the creator of this course

교육 기관: HAILEMICHAEL Y M

2019년 10월 12일

The course is very good at equipping the basic math concepts for computer science. I highly recommend it!

교육 기관: Swarnava S

2019년 6월 13일

Awesome course for beginners. It helped me alot to understand the logic and how to solve problems.

교육 기관: Rafael D d L P

2018년 8월 2일

Great introduction to mathematical thinking and how to apply it to computational problems.

교육 기관: KUMAR A

2020년 1월 24일

This was the one-stop that I'll never regret learning things again in a different manner.

교육 기관: Vishnu M

2019년 9월 7일

Puzzles are great. Seems Instructors put lots of efforts into it. Different approach !

교육 기관: Jesse W

2019년 5월 2일

This course mostly consists of a set of loosely related under the umbrella of discrete mathematics. A lot of the exercises take the form of puzzles where you either have to solve the puzzle or determine whether a solution is impossible. The puzzles are fun and make for good brain exercise; however, I'm not sure if all of this has made me a better programmer. It's worth noting that most Computer Science degrees will require some form of discrete math coursework, so if you're considering CS and are worried about the math requirements, this Specialization would be good to try out.

교육 기관: Anton M

2019년 4월 4일

Great course with variety of different mathematical puzzles.

Two things can be improved:

1) It's not always obvious which global subject is discussed during the week and what is a connection with puzzles, some kind of review video at start of each week will be helpful.

2) Sometimes explanations not clear at all. I did watched some videos 2-3 times before completely understand what is going on. It will be great to have a rigours proof of theorems as supplementary reading material.

교육 기관: Mike P

2019년 1월 31일

I liked the course, and I enjoyed the math for sure. BUT, I think there were some sections that could have been explained more thoroughly and perhaps some videos that could have been shot again to be more clear. But whatever, I am very grateful to be able to learn this here :)

교육 기관: Vladimir K

2018년 2월 5일

While the material itself is important and very useful in general, the course, unfortunately, doesn't have enough practical material to help students to internalise it.

교육 기관: Frederick H K K

2019년 1월 21일

Some explanation are unclear or confusing.

교육 기관: Md. Z M

2019년 4월 26일

The course is taught by 3 instructors. This makes the experience strikingly unbalanced. The style of course delivery and explanation is very poor with one of the instructors, the one who took Week 1 and 6. The rest of the weeks were OK. The other two instructors were clear with their arguments. This course has a very different approach (do-it-yourself-before-expalnation-by-instructors), although it was mentioned clearly on the Course Info page. If you can make out yourself what strategy to apply for the interactive puzzles, then you are doing good. Otherwise, the puzzles will just be trial-and-error games for you. The instructors were kind enough to answer on the Discussion Forum, but do not expect much activity from your fellow learners as there might be very few people taking this course with you.

교육 기관: Carlos V

2020년 2월 15일

I believe that the content of this course is both important and interesting. However, the learning methods used are awful. To begin with, while going through the interactive puzzles I felt that I was not learning anything related to the core lesson at hand. Moreover, the exercises feel like disconnected trivia unrelated to the theoretical explanations. I think the course should be heavily revamped in order to present a proper and useful corpus of knowledge.

교육 기관: Himanshu P M

2020년 5월 7일

This course is good for beginner.

rather than being complicated it will change the way you think.

one advice---- you should have knowledge of python basic to complete the assignment of this course

교육 기관: yonas a

2020년 5월 24일

I have come to know how mathematical proof is fun thing to do, this course transformed me, i highly recommend it to every one. I would like to thank every one involved in providing this course.

교육 기관: Mohamed A H

2020년 6월 26일

This course will improve your problem solving skills and gives you a rigorous explanation in how to counter various mathematical problems in the real life. You will think like a mathematician.

교육 기관: Jonibek N

2020년 4월 29일

Course was good, but sometimes i needed additional sources to understand topic better. Maybe, it was because of my english. Anyway it gave me a path what i should look for! Thank you!

교육 기관: Sanjay A

2017년 9월 17일

I was waiting for such a great course on discrete Mathematics in coursera.

Thank you UC San Diego

교육 기관: Dmytro N

2017년 10월 5일

I like the course. Still some mistakes and bugs, but course is really interesting to pass. Thanks

교육 기관: PLN R

2019년 7월 9일

An amazing course really!! The interactive fun assignments make it all the more interesting!! :D

교육 기관: Eddy P

2018년 9월 22일

There are many very interesting cases in this course! I will definitely recommend it to others!

교육 기관: Andrew M

2017년 10월 26일

A great introductory course and well organized. You can feel that professor loves mathematics.

교육 기관: Anup K K

2020년 4월 27일

Just the last Bonus Track problem please give some hints how to approach and solve the problem