Chevron Left
Mathematical Thinking in Computer Science(으)로 돌아가기

캘리포니아 샌디에고 대학교의 Mathematical Thinking in Computer Science 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.4
별점
1,816개의 평가
425개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Mathematical thinking is crucial in all areas of computer science: algorithms, bioinformatics, computer graphics, data science, machine learning, etc. In this course, we will learn the most important tools used in discrete mathematics: induction, recursion, logic, invariants, examples, optimality. We will use these tools to answer typical programming questions like: How can we be certain a solution exists? Am I sure my program computes the optimal answer? Do each of these objects meet the given requirements? In the course, we use a try-this-before-we-explain-everything approach: you will be solving many interactive (and mobile friendly) puzzles that were carefully designed to allow you to invent many of the important ideas and concepts yourself. Prerequisites: 1. We assume only basic math (e.g., we expect you to know what is a square or how to add fractions), common sense and curiosity. 2. Basic programming knowledge is necessary as some quizzes require programming in Python....

최상위 리뷰

AD
2019년 3월 25일

The teachers are informative and good. They explain the topic in a way that we can easily understand. The slides provide all the information that is needed. The external tools are fun and informative.

AM
2021년 2월 27일

It is a great course! teachers explain everything with care. While providing lectures there are some popup ques that verify whether you understood that lecture or not. Overall, a great experience.

필터링 기준:

Mathematical Thinking in Computer Science의 417개 리뷰 중 251~275

교육 기관: Afnan A

2020년 8월 15일

Thank you!

교육 기관: venus v

2018년 5월 31일

wonderfull

교육 기관: Madhan C

2021년 1월 26일

excellent

교육 기관: Raymond B S

2020년 12월 22일

Thank you

교육 기관: GADAMSETTI V M G

2020년 11월 22일

Excellent

교육 기관: M L J

2020년 10월 22일

GOOD GOOD

교육 기관: pavankumar p

2020년 9월 9일

excellent

교육 기관: Kallinatha H

2020년 5월 24일

very good

교육 기관: N R S

2020년 5월 20일

Excellent

교육 기관: evans

2019년 9월 9일

very good

교육 기관: Miguel A D A

2018년 10월 3일

Perfect!

교육 기관: Gaurav R P

2017년 10월 1일

love it.

교육 기관: 121910316063 g

2021년 1월 19일

good

교육 기관: 221910311052 S N

2020년 12월 19일

good

교육 기관: 2K18/EC/038 A R

2020년 11월 30일

Good

교육 기관: maripalli s

2020년 8월 1일

good

교육 기관: Ricky I S

2020년 8월 17일

Overall this was a good course. I was also studying the topics from other sources and reading Discrete Mathematics and Its Applications by Rosen and doing all the exercises at the end of each section of Rosen. I felt like the lectures in this course give a very basic overview but do not really get you to the point that you will be ready to apply what you learn to different problem situations. For example, logic was covered in about 20 minutes worth of video but is a 100-page chapter in Rosen, and for one to feel comfortable doing exercises as presented in Rosen or as seen on the homework assignments of many universities, you will need more exposure to the material. This may have been the case because this course is titled Mathematical Thinking in Computer Science and was previously called What Is A Proof? and their intention was not to really teach anything other than that and the other courses in the Specialization will get more into the specifics topics covered in Discrete Mathematics. I still plan on taking the other courses in this specialization as I feel that after reading Rosen and working out the problems in Rosen, its nice hearing some of the material covered again and only serves to reinforce principles. This course has a nice amount of interactive exercises that allow one to practice solving puzzles of sorts. I enjoyed those, although do not think they are sufficient to overcome the lack of practice doing different problems. Note to instructors: More exercises in logic to assess and develop ability in logic would be nice as its a very important part of Discrete Mathematics. If logic is only covered in this class in the specialization and isn't retaught in more depth in the other courses in this specialization, then it is not really being covered properly in this Specialization in Discrete Mathematics.

교육 기관: Ethan H

2020년 7월 15일

Good overall, but week 6 in particular was below my expectations. The students should not be answering questions in order to correct errors in the lecturer's phrasing; you should simply do the sensible thing and re-record the lecture, ensuring accuracy before posting. The final (albeit optional) project of the course is to write a solver for the 15-puzzle. This involved some graph theory self study, since graph theory is out of the scope of this course. A hastily explained intro to graph theory during the final lecture without slides is not sufficient to prepare the students for this task. I would strongly suggest a revision of the entire 6th week.

교육 기관: Saptarshi M

2018년 9월 6일

This course helps you to put your arguments forward to convince self and other people. There are several techniques to do that. Sometimes providing a single example does the trick while providing counter examples become necessary in other situations. Learners of this course will get new insight about known puzzles. How to find examples is an important part of this course. Alex and Michale are pretty good to put the thoughts that they have. Other lecturers sometimes may confuse pupil. Overall a great start to learn discrete mathematics.

교육 기관: Christopher P

2018년 2월 21일

Pretty good course, although the topics were sometimes confusing. I think this is to be expected given the nature of the topic, as it's a whole new way of thinking about mathematical problems. I wish the course put some of the techniques used when solving the puzzles into a more explicit or formal context. After some of the puzzles, I was left wondering how to generalize the specific problem-solving technique or insight.

교육 기관: John A B

2019년 10월 4일

I followed along pretty well but there where a few parts that the instructors just sort of hand waved the developing the formula's needed to solve the theorems. Also the programming questions where always clear about how they wanted the return object represented. This led to some try and error, falling the question to see what little feed back it would give, making a change to the subroutine and then trying again.

교육 기관: Amy G

2020년 4월 1일

I definitely enjoyed this course. The content was presented at an approachable level and the hands-on puzzles were fun lead-ins to the mathematical explanations. Some of the in-video pop-ups and polls seemed silly, though, and there were a couple small errors and content ordering issues (like pigeonhole principle taught repeatedly). Overall, though, I would take this again.

교육 기관: Sachal R

2020년 8월 14일

The course was well designed and of course the input from all the 3 instructors was quite appreciable but in fact at some points the reasons were not quite fulfilling the desired need as the course was much related to proofs hence I expected more powerful reasons but as a beginners lesson it was wonderful and to be very honest I am very much thankful to coursera.

교육 기관: Bahaa Z

2018년 1월 29일

the content of the course is put together in a great fashion.the quizzes, puzzles, and programming assignments were all very fun to do and made the lectures make more sense.my main complain is that some instructors made the pacing very confusing. i.e. spend too long explaining simple ideas and jumping fast over important confusing one.

교육 기관: Ali S

2020년 6월 28일

A good introduction to people who are new to CS and want to get the basics right. The puzzles and quizzes are quite well designed, fun and with just the right amount of challenge most of the time. On the downside, it is a bit hard to follow some of the lecturers due to their communication styles. On the whole, a recommended course