Chevron Left
Social Norms, Social Change I(으)로 돌아가기

펜실베이니아 대학교의 Social Norms, Social Change I 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
별점
1,808개의 평가
464개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This is a course on social norms, the rules that glue societies together. It teaches how to diagnose social norms, and how to distinguish them from other social constructs, like customs or conventions. These distinctions are crucial for effective policy interventions aimed to create new, beneficial norms or eliminate harmful ones. The course teaches how to measure social norms and the expectations that support them, and how to decide whether they cause specific behaviors. The course is a joint Penn-UNICEF project, and it includes many examples of norms that sustain behaviors like child marriage, gender violence and sanitation practices. This is Part 1 of the Social Norms, Social Change series. In these lectures, I introduce all the basic concepts and definitions, such as social expectations and conditional preferences, that help us distinguish between different types of social practices like customs, descriptive norms and social norms. Expectations and preferences can be measured, and these lectures explain how to measure them. Measurement is crucial to understanding the nature of the practice you are facing, as well as whether an intervention was or was not successful, and why. In Part 2, we will put into practice all we have learned in Part 1. New! Please use this link for a 30% discount on the recommended book that accompanies this course! https://global.oup.com/academic/product/9780190622053/?cc=us&lang=en&promocode=AAFLYG6...

최상위 리뷰

PE
2019년 3월 5일

This course will open your eyes to different behavioural patterns that human engage in, teach how about the suppossed mudane but important things in our society and also how to carry out a research.

KL
2019년 6월 25일

the course worth the time spent as there a lot of take away that are basically practical in our communities. I think in a whole I have learnt a lot and hope to undertake similar courses in due time

필터링 기준:

Social Norms, Social Change I의 453개 리뷰 중 126~150

교육 기관: Khyam

2020년 8월 13일

I found this course highly interesting as it blends both theory and practices. For a greater and in-depth knowledge that it offers, learners are expected to pay a careful and attentive participation. Highly recommended.

교육 기관: anurag

2020년 1월 19일

This course gave me the reasoning behind all events which i see on day to day basis. From complex issues by the governments to minute details shown by my friends and family. Cant Thanks enough to learn this course.

교육 기관: Alvaro C

2017년 9월 10일

I really enjoyed taking this class. First of all, it gave us tools on how to approach norms and behaviours, and secondly it made is seem clear. I will definitely use some of the learnings in my future missions.

교육 기관: christine a a

2020년 11월 25일

A great initiative. This course has enabled me to be able view certain issues in different perspectives that I never knew existed in my community. Will definitely help in my mentorship dream!!!!! Thank you!

교육 기관: David L F R

2020년 4월 16일

It is a really great course. The content is very interesting, the topics are well divided and presented, all the given information is clear and the lectures are amusing. You can learn a lot in this course.

교육 기관: Rajaa B

2018년 3월 26일

A brilliant course that organizes the formation of social norms as a science, helping activism aimed at changing negative norms achieve higher success rates. The Professor and Unicef did an amazing job!

교육 기관: Nahum J A

2020년 8월 30일

The course materials are educative and just right for education purpose, I appreciate the facilitator and say thank you for your time and the knowledge you impact on me about Social Norm’s

교육 기관: Waqar A

2019년 11월 23일

its been really wonderful to have Social Norms, Social Change certificate course . Bicchieri C, Lindemans is wonderful lecturer , explain in simple and easy way which is easy to understand.

교육 기관: William M

2020년 8월 31일

I really enjoyed the course. It absolutely made me reconsider how I approach a problem. Understanding the reason why people think the way they do is essential in driving positive change.

교육 기관: Pablo C G

2020년 10월 4일

The course provides very clear explanations of the theoretical concepts in connection with social norms, as well as numerous examples on how to apply such theory in real life situations.

교육 기관: Arwa A

2017년 8월 20일

GOOD course i learn from it a lot of information and concepts about the community and how to analyse the behavior of my community and think different about the solution of the problem .

교육 기관: Excellence T D

2019년 10월 13일

For a first time user, fresh to this information, it was stimulating and exciting to be learning how to identify social norms etc. and how to measure various aspects to effect change.

교육 기관: Mohamud M

2020년 6월 6일

The course materials, videos and readings are quite detailed and appropriate to enable one easily understand the subject, participate in discussions and answer the quizzes questions.

교육 기관: Sarah S Y

2017년 6월 15일

Really enjoyed this course. Insightful. Professor clearly communicates course content. Could do without all the opening jingles/intros since the video clips are really short, though.

교육 기관: Tamoghna A

2019년 5월 16일

Was a fascinating course that highlighted we human beings are driven by norms and societal expectation. Negative norms can be turned positive with the right kind of intervention.

교육 기관: Rex L

2019년 8월 2일

thank you very much. from this course i have learned a lot, this basic understanding of norms and social behaviour will help you to understand what happening around your.

교육 기관: Saúl A

2017년 7월 10일

It is a great course that allow to learn the importance of social norms in order to propose change mechanisms and promote social development and human rights achievement.

교육 기관: Diana F

2017년 8월 15일

This course was very interesting. It helped me understand about how to proceed in the intervention of some of the company employees behavior and expectations. Thank you.

교육 기관: Michael T D

2019년 3월 6일

It is a very educative course that provides the learner with the technical lens, and gives ways problems could be solved best. I'm hoping to start the part 2 soon.

교육 기관: Matt D

2021년 9월 16일

Very interesting and informative, everything being taught was taught in a clear manner, even for someone who has not previously studied this topic in any regard.

교육 기관: Damini B

2019년 4월 9일

An important course that gives you a framework to understand and analyse social norms by the leading scholar in the field. This is the future of social change.

교육 기관: umar f

2019년 4월 21일

very well conducted Lectrues and very friendly way to teach with the help of examples.I just loved doing it and looking forward to attempt more in coming days

교육 기관: Diego P L

2017년 10월 3일

Excellent course, clear and structured. Well based in rigurous references.

To understand social norms and a first approach to measure them. Highly recommended!

교육 기관: सोच: T V

2020년 8월 20일

It was an informative course in practical life across the world. All facts and examples were very relevant and very much helpful to understand the society.

교육 기관: Lilen Q

2019년 2월 10일

It has been one of the best and most useful courses I have taken in my life. Without doubt, I will be able to put this knowledge into practice in my work.