Chevron Left
Distributed Computing with Spark SQL(으)로 돌아가기

캘리포니아 대학교 데이비스 캠퍼스의 Distributed Computing with Spark SQL 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.5
별점
397개의 평가
96개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course is all about big data. It’s for students with SQL experience that want to take the next step on their data journey by learning distributed computing using Apache Spark. Students will gain a thorough understanding of this open-source standard for working with large datasets. Students will gain an understanding of the fundamentals of data analysis using SQL on Spark, setting the foundation for how to combine data with advanced analytics at scale and in production environments. The four modules build on one another and by the end of the course you will understand: the Spark architecture, queries within Spark, common ways to optimize Spark SQL, and how to build reliable data pipelines. The first module introduces Spark and the Databricks environment including how Spark distributes computation and Spark SQL. Module 2 covers the core concepts of Spark such as storage vs. compute, caching, partitions, and troubleshooting performance issues via the Spark UI. It also covers new features in Apache Spark 3.x such as Adaptive Query Execution. The third module focuses on Engineering Data Pipelines including connecting to databases, schemas and data types, file formats, and writing reliable data. The final module covers data lakes, data warehouses, and lakehouses. Students build production grade data pipelines by combining Spark with the open-source project Delta Lake. By the end of this course, students will hone their SQL and distributed computing skills to become more adept at advanced analysis and to set the stage for transitioning to more advanced analytics as Data Scientists....

최상위 리뷰

GT
2020년 6월 9일

I highly recommend this course for anyone in the BI and Data space interested in learning Spark. The course gives an easy to understand to the framework and applicable hands on examples.

KS
2020년 5월 13일

Amazing course that really cuts through the fundamentals of using distributed computing power to analyze and manipulate data. Well organised structure on fundamentals

필터링 기준:

Distributed Computing with Spark SQL의 98개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: Steven O

2020년 4월 5일

A more appropriate title for the class would be "a brief introduction to Databricks". Very disappointing class. There are Youtube tutorials out there with more content than this class. This is one of the only classes that I have ever taken on Coursera where I could complete 2 weeks worth of all the lectures, assignments, and quizzes in a Sunday afternoon. I think this class was hastily slapped together, there is so little content. If your organization uses Spark and is not a Databricks client (as mine is), you will learn absolutely nothing here. The lectures are extremely short and devoid of any substance. I am still looking for a good online class in Spark. It certainly is not this one.

교육 기관: Sacha v W

2020년 2월 19일

very superficial using databricks. The courses misses depth to be of any use. It is more a Databricks commercial. Executing pieces of available course without sufficient practice

교육 기관: Alex C

2020년 5월 27일

it was an interesting course in as much as it has got me interested in spark and it was doable. I think it tried to cover too much ground in not enough depth. After completing I have gone off and am doing the datacamp spark courses which are also interesting.

The implementation stuff in databricks was really annoying in that the platform used a ´´ whatever it actually was - i still dont know!!!! i just had to copy and paste it every time...it was never mentioned that it didnt work like sql with [] or that it wasnt a apostrophe or whatever.

The use of jupyter notebooks itself was nice, and the exercises were also nice as a learning exercise, i got a lot out of them by having to actually find out some things and see ah ha thats how it works.

The presenters were very good. I could be critical of a few points but i wont as i am guessing its there first mooc or so, and my personal opinions are irrelevant in my annoyances :-)

All in all a nice course as it has good me interested and actually up and running with spark, so i can see where and how it fits and will look further...

Many thansk!

교육 기관: Palak S

2020년 6월 6일

I did not like the flow of content explained! I expected a lot from this course but at then end I just have basic idea of queries at the end of the course! Nothing in deep about Spark's core concepts. Also the assignment quiz on queries were very weird and not properly formed! The Week 3 assignmnet was not displaying feedback! It was a really messy course!

교육 기관: Bryan B

2020년 7월 5일

The first module felt more like a sales pitch for DataBricks than anything else, and the last module was about machine learning, and not distributed computing. So, in my opinion, only 2 of the weeks attempted to focus on distributed computing, but even they failed. The course seemed to focus way more on SQL, and less on Spark and how it works. Sure, there were pieces of information on how to how to change the number of partitions, but how partitions work, or how Spark actually handles distributed computing was lackluster at best. If you have even a rudimentary understanding of data engineering, you should be able to ace this course with minimal effort, but you'll likely not take much away from it. Great course for absolute beginners though.

교육 기관: George T

2020년 6월 10일

I highly recommend this course for anyone in the BI and Data space interested in learning Spark. The course gives an easy to understand to the framework and applicable hands on examples.

교육 기관: Elliot T

2020년 7월 13일

Great introduction to Spark with Databricks that seems to be an intuituve tool! Really cool to do the link between SQL and Data Science with a basic ML example!

교육 기관: Dilin J K J

2020년 2월 11일

This has been an amazing course. What is worth mentioning is how the content was delivered. Nice hands on. Highly recommended for anyone who is new to Spark

교육 기관: Joseph B

2020년 1월 6일

Extremely informative for those who are seeking to learn the fundamentals for distributed computing using Spark SQL.

교육 기관: Daniel Y

2020년 9월 9일

very useful

교육 기관: Noah M

2020년 5월 10일

A highly polished presentation, however I still feel only a superficial understanding of partitions and other Spark optimisation techniques. In Course 4 of this Specialization, I had to google myself how best to set partition parameters (ie. how to choose a value) which perhaps shouldve been covered in this course.

High-level definitions are given, but not so much in way of actual application to clarify the concepts.

교육 기관: Kumar S

2020년 5월 14일

Amazing course that really cuts through the fundamentals of using distributed computing power to analyze and manipulate data. Well organised structure on fundamentals

교육 기관: Zaynul A

2020년 3월 4일

Expecting more advance material

교육 기관: Daniel J

2020년 9월 30일

While I wish I'd learned a bit of Python before taking this course (to help with troubleshooting in the final module), overall I found the course extremely well put-together and incredibly useful for understanding SQL's role in the larger world of data science. The instructors are easy to follow, and the notebooks in Databricks create great supplements to your course notes. A few of the questions were a little confusing, but overall, I was very glad I took this course.

교육 기관: Suhaimi C

2021년 7월 1일

Great well prepared course with programming exercises. Thank much for the instructors and coursera for providing excellent course about spark sql distributed computing. I learned some new things from this course. Highly recommend this course if you would like to know more about spark sql distributed computing.

교육 기관: Davide C

2020년 12월 12일

Great course for developing further your knowledge of SQL and for a nice introduction to the world of Big Data and parallel computing. Extremely recommended for anyone with a basic-intermediate knowledge of SQL who want to approach Big Data databases and parallel computing on them.

교육 기관: David Y

2021년 1월 8일

Great high level overview for Spark beginners with focus on application. Course materials are reasonably up to date and well designed. Might be nice if there was a PySpark complement to this course but I understand that it's part of the SQL specialization. Would highly recommend.

교육 기관: Deepika S

2020년 5월 20일

This course is a great learning source for Distributed Computing with Spark SQL. I got started with course and learnt basic concepts, dos and don'ts.

Concepts are explained well and work notebooks provided needed hands on experience.

Thanks for the course.

Best,

Deepika Sharma

교육 기관: Serjesh S

2020년 5월 29일

I wanted to quickly revisit spark sql on Databricks platform after last time using spark (on premise)3 years ago .This course provided perfect refresher to all the important concepts.Module 4 is specifically pleasant and take it little closer to BigQueryML.

교육 기관: Takashi T

2020년 10월 11일

The course was easy and clear to follow. The assignments and quizzes were easy to complete. Also by checking discussion forum, I can see that both instructors check and provide helps to people who posted the questions. I highly recommend this course.

교육 기관: Oscar F

2020년 12월 30일

Buen curso. Se demuestra lo íntimamente ligados que están los códigos con el hardware y cómo hacer un mejor uso del hardware disponible usando spark a través de la computación distribuida para hacer más eficientes las consultas. Recomendado.

교육 기관: POOJA.N. D

2020년 7월 27일

Well explained course by the trainers and good assignments set by the trainers. I learnt a lot on spark, its architecture and working, which I can use in my several up coming projects. Thank you for the course!

교육 기관: Anushree C

2021년 5월 9일

I would like to thank all the instructors of the course and the Coursera team for preparing such a nice and very well understandable course for beginners.

교육 기관: William P E O

2021년 11월 21일

Excelente material, muy concreto y totalmente útil para comprender los conceptos. Los ejercicios son fàciles de comprender y refuerzan el conocimiento recibido en cada módulo.

교육 기관: oisin d

2020년 3월 26일

Great course, really well taught and delivered. Only thing I would say is you would really need knowledge of python to really understand this course 100%