Chevron Left
Paradoxes of War(으)로 돌아가기

프린스턴 대학교의 Paradoxes of War 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
별점
644개의 평가

강좌 소개

The Paradoxes of War teaches us to understand that war is not only a normal part of human existence, but is arguably one of the most important factors in making us who we are. Through this course, I hope that you will come to appreciate that war is both a natural expression of common human emotions and interactions and a constitutive part of how we cohere as groups. That is, war is paradoxically an expression of our basest animal nature and the exemplar of our most vaunted and valued civilized virtues. You will learn some basic military history and sociology in this course as a lens for the more important purpose of seeing the broader social themes and issues related to war. I want you to both learn about war, but more importantly, use it as way of understanding your everyday social world. So, for example, the discussion of war and gender will serve to start you thinking about how expectations of masculinity are created and our discussion of nationalism will make clear how easy “us-them” dichotomies can be established and (ab)used. I will suggest some readings for you to complement the class and assign some activities through which you will be able to apply the theoretical insights from the course to your observations of everyday life. At the end of the course, you will start to see war everywhere and come to appreciate how much it defines our life. All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

최상위 리뷰

DW

2018년 3월 14일

Very interesting topic and well-presented, too. Covers virtually every historic period in which there's been warfare (which, I guess, is every historic period in which there's been people).

JW

2020년 1월 11일

Great course! This course has provided some great information and proposed some important philosophical questions. I wish there were exams and a certificate to go along with it too.

필터링 기준:

Paradoxes of War의 152개 리뷰 중 126~150

교육 기관: Clifford L B

2016년 7월 16일

A different perspective of war that made me think very differently about the whole process and the reactions of people involved in any form of confrontational situation

교육 기관: Gregg C

2016년 3월 13일

Solid presentation of ideas that SHOULD be considered before entering a war -- but sadly are usually ignored in the emotions of a mindless mass moment.

교육 기관: Belle S

2016년 6월 28일

Good coverage and interesting lectures that provides a good history of all the warfare and on the social psychology. A fresh perspective I guess.

교육 기관: whitney r

2022년 7월 9일

The course itself was fine, but it won't filter into my completed section though it says 100 percent.

교육 기관: Peter T

2016년 2월 24일

A good course and very interesting perspectives. A pity Princeton does not issue certificates.

교육 기관: Samantha S

2022년 7월 18일

Enjoyed this course, however, being made in 2014 it is a little dated in the later lectures.

교육 기관: Derek D V

2016년 9월 6일

I loved the elaborate structure, but they should provide a certificate

교육 기관: Krishaan K

2016년 2월 3일

Although long-winded, it is a fantastic course w/fantastic insights!

교육 기관: samantha

2017년 7월 22일

Great information shared in an easy to understand method.

교육 기관: Smita P M

2016년 1월 26일

Great Course, explores the war in its different facets.

교육 기관: Rahul

2015년 9월 8일

Good information. Good discussion forum. Recommended.

교육 기관: Mustafa Ü

2015년 9월 17일

really introductal course ive utilized.thank you.

교육 기관: Mike D

2015년 9월 11일

I love the idea of a sociological view of war.

교육 기관: Zeynep B

2019년 12월 14일

Nice but sometimes becomes too repetitive.

교육 기관: Fumio S

2016년 1월 24일

I did enjoining this program. Many thanks.

교육 기관: Janis A

2015년 10월 4일

Good course, with a lot of information.

교육 기관: javier b g

2022년 7월 20일

Interesante, extenso y muy didáctivo

교육 기관: Antoine C

2017년 6월 16일

V

교육 기관: Julie C

2016년 1월 14일

For an undergraduate course it's good - my only comment is on delivery - quotations given verbally might have been better if shown on screen to drive them home.

I hope the professor will do a military history course that analyzes war more particularly now that we have the broad strokes. My interest is piqued from this course and I want to know more about specific wars/battles. I am also interested in war prior to 1500, esp. ancient civilizations.

교육 기관: Rui V

2016년 9월 22일

Weekly quizzes would be great!

교육 기관: Erez B

2019년 11월 25일

too many cliches, too little substance

교육 기관: Bill W

2018년 6월 12일

The course content is very good and well delivered. Unfortunately, the forums are not replied to and you have to send months rejoining the close in order to get sufficient comments on your work to complete the course. In my case it took nine months just to finish, even though I completed the materials in under two months. It would be great if the backroom parts of the course were as good as the material and delivery.

교육 기관: Christine L

2015년 11월 2일

It said it could be done on your schedule, but that is not true. I want to withdraw from this stupid course - it sucks.

교육 기관: Wylie К י

2015년 8월 20일

My initial impressions are of astounding mediocrity. Amazes me how academic careers are made these days.

교육 기관: Robert W M

2016년 2월 4일

After almost a year I am still waiting to receive my grade of 90%+ for c