Chevron Left
Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners(으)로 돌아가기

캘리포니아 샌디에고 대학교의 Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.3
별점
1,147개의 평가
344개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Are you interested in learning how to program (in Python) within a scientific setting? This course will cover algorithms for solving various biological problems along with a handful of programming challenges helping you implement these algorithms in Python. It offers a gently-paced introduction to our Bioinformatics Specialization (https://www.coursera.org/specializations/bioinformatics), preparing learners to take the first course in the Specialization, "Finding Hidden Messages in DNA" (https://www.coursera.org/learn/dna-analysis). Each of the four weeks in the course will consist of two required components. First, an interactive textbook provides Python programming challenges that arise from real biological problems. If you haven't programmed in Python before, not to worry! We provide "Just-in-Time" exercises from the Codecademy Python track (https://www.codecademy.com/learn/python). And each page in our interactive textbook has its own discussion forum, where you can interact with other learners. Second, each week will culminate in a summary quiz. Lecture videos are also provided that accompany the material, but these videos are optional....

최상위 리뷰

DL
2016년 4월 17일

I give this course 5 star because I did Bioinformatics I and I totally enjoy it.\n\nThis is where programming can be fun, and practical, and you'll learn some basic biology too.\n\nWhat's not to love?

HL
2017년 8월 15일

I learned a lot from this difficult and time-consuming course! It covers biological concepts using Python. It made learning Python more interesting for me, since I have always loved biology.

필터링 기준:

Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners의 340개 리뷰 중 276~300

교육 기관: Ahmad M

2021년 1월 8일

The course was really amazing, but one point is that it was really really difficult. In my opinion, it did not take into consideration the student completely new to Python. It should've been easier or it should have a lot of hints and ways to support and tell the student what to do if they get stuck.

However, in general, I learnt a lot and for the first time in my life about this area of science.

Thank you very much!

교육 기관: Putri A A

2021년 1월 13일

This course is really great and eye-opening! However, this course is for people with computer science/programming background that are new to molecular biology. I struggled a lot trying to understand the programming part since I have plant genetic & breeding background. I recommend to learn and understand programming language first before going to this course. Thumbs up to everyone who survived!

교육 기관: Varad B

2020년 8월 11일

It's not a beginner's level course. You need to know python really well to do this. I had to take 3 courses on python before I could come back here and complete the course. Also their teaching method of leaving the page in the middle of one topic to learn another topic which you need to understand the first topic is a bit distracting and makes you lose your train of thought.

교육 기관: Joseph B

2019년 10월 23일

This is billed as a course for beginners, but it leans heavily on one's prior skill in programming. If you're not familiar with Python syntax or you are a coding neophyte, a lot of the concepts will likely go over your head. The biology is fairly cursory and easy to pick up along the way, or simply ignore if you don't have a strong background in molecular biology/genetics.

교육 기관: Johannes K

2021년 2월 18일

the course is ok, but there were technical problems, It was very annoying that the graphics on the stepik pages were not displayed. I tried several browsers but it was only possible to open the hidden/not loaded images in another tab window. Another problem was sometimes, that the "run code" in stepik worked find, but some errors were shown for "send"

교육 기관: Renée H

2020년 6월 15일

If you have no experience with programming, I definitely recommend completing the Learn Python course on Codecademy first. I think Biologists will find the concepts introduced later in this course difficult to grasp, and I still don't fully understand them. Nonetheless this course is a good introduction into programming for bioinformatics.

교육 기관: Nethraa K

2017년 6월 14일

It's a great course for people who know Python or have some sort of a background in coding. However, for starters, it is not only tedious to learn both Python as well as this but is quite challenging and time consuming as well. Please mention Python as a prerequisite for this course-- it would definitely get 5 stars then.

교육 기관: Laura B

2020년 7월 7일

I'd give it a 2.5, but I managed to learn something in the end, even though it was through the other students rather than through the course lecture itself. The professors should really consider renaming the course to be a more accurate representation of the content. We learned more about DNA that coding in this course.

교육 기관: Xiaoyu L

2018년 3월 31일

The content is interesting, but the staff does not provide helpful feedbacks, and I really do not like the fact they assume the test case is always right, where it might not be. Quite frustrate when struggling on one question when the code is absolutely right.

교육 기관: Prashant M

2017년 7월 23일

Further reference material needs to be added in my opinion. There can be participants from only Computer Science background and there can be students from only biology background. Hence i think reference materials could aid a participant's understanding a lot.

교육 기관: Josh S

2020년 12월 28일

This was a good course for someone with a fair amount of programming background and a biology degree. But it was difficult to follow at times and I could see how one could easily get lost. Definitely feels more of an intermediate course than a beginner one.

교육 기관: Grzegorz A K

2016년 11월 4일

Pros: a lot of programming in automated online environment.

Cons: inconsistencies in code like changing parameter order in often used functions, changing structure of some variables (arrays become dicts). This can be unneccesarily misleading.

교육 기관: Clive T

2020년 3월 26일

Disappointing lack of feedback from any course organiser (most recent response seemed to be about two years old). The biological content tailed off to become much more of course in programming for search algorithms

교육 기관: Akinyi O

2020년 5월 19일

Some background knowledge on coding is definitely needed for this course, despite the info saying none is needed. The progress expected is way too fast for an actual beginner with no coding experience.

교육 기관: Saadman K

2020년 5월 26일

This is not for beginners. You need to know more about python to complete it easily and the time limits of Stepik is not correct. It needs far more time than mentioned.

교육 기관: ajith m

2020년 7월 20일

This course is definitely not for beginners. I was on the verge of giving up throughout the course. But once you get ahold of the concepts, it is very interesting.

교육 기관: James O

2019년 9월 16일

The course tries hard to balance programming and biology but the programming can become quite a challenge for people with little to no experience in programming.

교육 기관: Sanjit R

2020년 12월 21일

Although this course was uniquely interesting and insightful, I did feel at times that the lesson material was insufficient to fully understand a concept.

교육 기관: Preethi N

2021년 2월 24일

Although this course is possible for beginners, some of the programming problems were frustrating and a hint would have been appreciated.

교육 기관: Pablo R M

2020년 3월 13일

Not truly for beginners. If you don't have previous knowledge of Python and algorithms expect to invest a lot more than 4 hours a week

교육 기관: Merna F

2020년 9월 4일

this course was very useful for me but it is very very difficult for a beginner, I was suffering from trying to understand it

교육 기관: Chahat B

2020년 7월 26일

Very difficult for no coding background people. It would be really helpful if you could describe the error in better ways

교육 기관: Osi A

2020년 4월 28일

This course although well taught does not take into account those that know nothing about programming

교육 기관: Linyi Z

2017년 6월 21일

the instructions in the stepik notes were unclear. i would say the optional lecture video was better

교육 기관: Nesrine K

2020년 11월 16일

quite difficult for a begginer we have to practice python first before starting the course