Chevron Left
Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners(으)로 돌아가기

캘리포니아 샌디에고 대학교의 Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.3
별점
1,136개의 평가
338개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Are you interested in learning how to program (in Python) within a scientific setting? This course will cover algorithms for solving various biological problems along with a handful of programming challenges helping you implement these algorithms in Python. It offers a gently-paced introduction to our Bioinformatics Specialization (https://www.coursera.org/specializations/bioinformatics), preparing learners to take the first course in the Specialization, "Finding Hidden Messages in DNA" (https://www.coursera.org/learn/dna-analysis). Each of the four weeks in the course will consist of two required components. First, an interactive textbook provides Python programming challenges that arise from real biological problems. If you haven't programmed in Python before, not to worry! We provide "Just-in-Time" exercises from the Codecademy Python track (https://www.codecademy.com/learn/python). And each page in our interactive textbook has its own discussion forum, where you can interact with other learners. Second, each week will culminate in a summary quiz. Lecture videos are also provided that accompany the material, but these videos are optional....

최상위 리뷰

DL
2016년 4월 17일

I give this course 5 star because I did Bioinformatics I and I totally enjoy it.\n\nThis is where programming can be fun, and practical, and you'll learn some basic biology too.\n\nWhat's not to love?

HL
2017년 8월 15일

I learned a lot from this difficult and time-consuming course! It covers biological concepts using Python. It made learning Python more interesting for me, since I have always loved biology.

필터링 기준:

Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners의 335개 리뷰 중 301~325

교육 기관: Dr. A A M

2020년 5월 20일

The coding is too tough for beginners

교육 기관: Youssef A

2021년 1월 16일

Not really for Beginners at all !!

교육 기관: Akshita J

2020년 7월 16일

its quite tough for beginners

교육 기관: Zsuzsanna Z

2019년 4월 30일

You have to be very dedicated and have high frustration tolerance if you are actually a beginner in programming. This course expects you to complete the Codecademy Python Course in advance (which will take you several weeks) but it still won´t be enough to really keep up with the bioinformatics concepts that are introduced. Also, the explanations in the course itself are very, very rudimental, although the optional videos do a better job here.

All in all, I am glad I had the possibility for learning something new and I fought myself through the course but please don´t believe that it´s suitable for beginners.

교육 기관: Rohit P

2020년 6월 4일

Not one i would recommend to a beginner. I feel not so well by this course haha. It was tough, very tough for a biologist [ Primatologist/Zoologist ] like me but ofcourse i fought through & finished it. However, if any beginner wants to start this, i would recommend they learn Python atleast to the advanced level before approaching this course. That would make this fine. Also, the hours denoted to all weeks are not correct. Some weeks have 4 hours mentioned as the required time but those were the weeks that required me to put in 16+ hours. Cheers for the efforts to the team though.

Thanks!

교육 기관: Daniel P

2020년 2월 15일

As a biologist without any programming skills, I found this course REALLY difficult. That was totally unexpected as the description of the course states that no programming skills are necessary. I thought really hard to learn the Python by resolving Codeacademy exercises while trying to implement the language to solve the book problems. In other words, I felt that the platforms used in this course were very disconnected. In my opinion, it would be easier to learn python by directly learning how to solve simple biological questions instead of complicate ones presented in the book.

교육 기관: Graham

2017년 9월 6일

This course replies heavily (almost entirely) on codeacademy to teach the coding material. Unfortunately, the material chosen for this course does not line up with the courses supplied by codeacademy. If you want to follow the lesson plans as outlined here, you need to do multiple extra courses on codeacademy before you can reach the material discussed in the coursera lesson. As such, the estimated time for completion is drastically lower than the actual time to completion for people new to coding.

교육 기관: Mary C

2021년 1월 17일

This isn't really a course for beginners. I learned a few things about biology, sure. But if I hadn't already known Python code, I wouldn't have been able to figure out half of the exercises in this course.

This course is do-able if you're willing to put in the effort, but it is not an easy introductory course to bioinformatics.

교육 기관: Shyam P

2018년 6월 16일

The quizzes were extremely annoying, they weren't hard but for example with the final quiz: I would properly calculate the normalized probabilities but every possible version of me rounding it was incorrect. I proceeded to show a friend who has a PhD in mathematics and he was equally stressed by questions like this

교육 기관: Misheel E

2020년 9월 17일

The description of the course is misleading, you do have to know Python in order to fully focus on the biological problem. Requires more than 8 hrs per each coding section if you are beginner. Wouldn't mark the class as Beginner.

교육 기관: 飯田智光

2021년 1월 4일

The course is hard for whose major is biology because there is no detailed explanation regarding algorithms. I do not recommend this course to people who have not studied programming.

교육 기관: Anhiti S

2020년 6월 10일

The external tool was too complex for a beginner in programming, which defeats the purpose of the exercise. This made me lose interest very quickly.

교육 기관: Rithvik S

2020년 10월 21일

Can be more interactive with videos for beginners for more comprehensive understanding. Otherwise, wonderful, highly informative content!

교육 기관: Adam J

2018년 7월 7일

Programming part not well explained and too difficult- it can clearly be seen from the comments that many people have the same issues

교육 기관: MD A J N

2018년 10월 13일

no 6 quiz of week 4 is bad in answering every time ans submit the right ans i got the wrong in after assessment. it may be improved

교육 기관: Florian H

2020년 7월 14일

Gets quickly very confusing and difficult. Also, do the Codeacademy Python class before even starting this course.

교육 기관: Kyle S

2020년 10월 6일

Programming Level is NOT FOR BEGINNERS. The Codecademy was useless when compared to the coding assignments given.

교육 기관: Ojochenemi E

2020년 9월 12일

the coding aspect were neither clear nor easy enough for a biologist who is new to programming to grasp

교육 기관: dheeraj K

2020년 12월 23일

in my opinion, this course is hard for beginners. i do not have computer background in programming

교육 기관: Celine A

2020년 7월 16일

Too complicated for a beginner's course, the quizzes don't match the stepik chapters.

교육 기관: Inukonda J H

2020년 7월 6일

It is hard for beginners. Especially for some who has no computer lesson background.

교육 기관: Víctor R D

2020년 8월 15일

It has been the most stressful and frustrating course, certainly not for beginners.

교육 기관: Spencer P

2020년 6월 16일

Its called Bioinformatics for "Beginners", when it is still extremely difficult.

교육 기관: Vidya B

2020년 6월 15일

This course is not for begginers. please change tag line.but good to learn

교육 기관: Jad A

2021년 1월 19일

Takes A LOT more time than they say and the explanations aren't clear