Chevron Left
Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners(으)로 돌아가기

캘리포니아 샌디에고 대학교의 Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.3
별점
1,194개의 평가
362개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Are you interested in learning how to program (in Python) within a scientific setting? This course will cover algorithms for solving various biological problems along with a handful of programming challenges helping you implement these algorithms in Python. It offers a gently-paced introduction to our Bioinformatics Specialization (https://www.coursera.org/specializations/bioinformatics), preparing learners to take the first course in the Specialization, "Finding Hidden Messages in DNA" (https://www.coursera.org/learn/dna-analysis). Each of the four weeks in the course will consist of two required components. First, an interactive textbook provides Python programming challenges that arise from real biological problems. If you haven't programmed in Python before, not to worry! We provide "Just-in-Time" exercises from the Codecademy Python track (https://www.codecademy.com/learn/python). And each page in our interactive textbook has its own discussion forum, where you can interact with other learners. Second, each week will culminate in a summary quiz. Lecture videos are also provided that accompany the material, but these videos are optional....

최상위 리뷰

DL
2016년 4월 17일

I give this course 5 star because I did Bioinformatics I and I totally enjoy it.\n\nThis is where programming can be fun, and practical, and you'll learn some basic biology too.\n\nWhat's not to love?

MZ
2020년 4월 14일

A very good course for those who has some (at least a little) experience in programmimg! I really loved it, it was challenging sometimes, especially in the end, but I did it and learned a lot.

필터링 기준:

Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners의 357개 리뷰 중 26~50

교육 기관: Elizabeth C

2020년 8월 6일

Content is either too hard or not explained thoroughly enough for a beginner course.

교육 기관: Wonho C

2020년 6월 27일

Not for beginners at all, lack of explanation.

교육 기관: Pedro A P F

2020년 6월 5일

Muy difícil para principiantes

교육 기관: Carolann Q

2020년 8월 9일

Too little Python instruction

교육 기관: Md. J N

2020년 5월 13일

It is not for beginners

교육 기관: 睿文 张

2017년 3월 23일

最后一个测试怎样都不能通过,呵呵

교육 기관: Danny W

2016년 6월 9일

An excellent course that is a great opportunity for anyone interested in bioinformatics, no previous experience is necessary but either a biological, mathematical or computing background will give you advantages in certain areas. Being a biologist I struggled at first and many of you may do the same but stick with it, work hard on it and you will be rewarded and it is incredibly satisfying.

Due to the practical coding nature of the course, each week can take up a lot of you time. Best if you have a few weeks free (e.g. a graduate student like me) so you can spend a few whole days of it but could be done before/after work if you are motivated and plug away at it each day - just something to keep in mind though, don't expect a light easy 1 hour a week course, it is intensive but in a good way. It can get frustrating, you will want to give up time and time again....but stick at it and you will have a shiny new Coursera certificate and a wealth of programming knowledge under your belt once you finish!

A massive two thumbs up for this course, one of the best ones out there that gives you real worthwhile skills that employers and academia want. Thanks to all the course staff for a great experience!

교육 기관: Don E

2021년 4월 18일

Really enjoyed the course. You will have to commit to learning python also. The class encourages you to build a module of programs but doesn't go into file input or some other useful things. There is a referral to a free version of a python 2.7 tutorial. Most will prefer python 3 but you will have to build your own knowledge path. The course is great if you are coming from other python courses like python for everyone courses 1 and 2 or almost any other python course where you have done file processing, for-loops, while loops, used strings, list, and dictionaries, and switched between them. I wanted to find some courses to test my python knowledge and build some python projects. You might need other courses if you want to learn a lot about biology or microbiology. Viewed in that like you will binge.

교육 기관: Maria L

2019년 8월 30일

Coming from a Computer Science background this course is very interesting and relatable. The coding part is pretty easy, so if you are familiar with any programming language, I think the programming part will be easy for you. I definitely recommend this course to anyone familiar with programming, who is also interested in the bioengineering aspect!

That being said, I like the idea of the course, but I encountered some issues with stepik's online classes/texts.. Their servers seem to be down so I am not even able to complete the interactive text part at the time I want (I keep getting 500).. I was expecting something more reliable especially since this is not free .. But again the idea is cool just wish there were no down times

교육 기관: Yee L T

2020년 4월 16일

It is not an easy course. I mean given that if you aren't as fast a learner as some others, you might take alot more time to try to understand the concepts both of the programming and why you are using certain methods to solve a certain biological problem. I had to also rely on other sources online to help me understand some parts of the python programming and to reinforce some concepts but I think this is given as I really have no clue! It is a huge undertaking for these course instructors to try to create a short enough yet comprehensive program and I think they have done exceptionally well especially with the abundant practice (coding) material (yes you have to work hard on these, but it does pay off). Thank you so much!

교육 기관: Linggen K

2017년 9월 13일

My major is biotechnology, I have learnt C program before and I quite enjoy programming, but my major courses have nearly nothing to do with programming, which made me worried about the waste of my knowledge. But now, I feel so excited and refreshed, cause I have learnt how to connect both subjects! And I want to say that this course is very clear with beautiful illustrations and has lots of expansion which can lead us to continue further study, though I have a problem that I can't watch the teaching video, what a pity~

And I'll definitely continue the following course: Bioinformatics Specialization!!!

교육 기관: Philipp M

2017년 8월 10일

I really enjoyed this course! That's why I will definitely dive into the Bioinformatics Specialization. The presented material is well explained and the coding challenges are increasingly demanding and motivationally designed. Furthermore the instructors are always helpful pointing in the right direction without revealing too much.

Maybe a little advice: If you are completely new to programming or biology (or perhaps both) be prepaed to spend more than 4 h/week because you'll propably need more training time.

교육 기관: Matchy L

2019년 1월 13일

The course provides some meaningful questions in biological context (rather than abstact excercises in some textbooks) for you to solve. It is really fulfilling when you put what you learnt into use and made improvements on your code to solve the questions better. The exercises are actually challenging for programming beginners. But if you persist, upon completion of this course you will find youself equipped with some solid knowledge on bioinformatics, which will definitely benefit your future career.

교육 기관: Sai H

2020년 5월 26일

Quite difficult for a biologist since it requires knowledge of basic programming. Anyway good topic to explore and excel in this field as it a booming field of science however it would be more interesting if we had more of the video lessons first instead of keeping it as optional since that requires a lot of understanding too. Thank you for this course it has really inspired to explore this field and i hope i be able to pursue a career relating to this

교육 기관: Jay T

2017년 5월 30일

Great Course!! Although I already had a background in Python Programming, I can see how this class could gently eases someone with no knowledge of Python (or programming for that matter), into a Novice Python 3 Programmer. The Biology aspect was also well presented. Difficult concepts were well explained, and extra material was given for topics that were not directly related to solving the challenges at hand, but fun and interesting to learn.

교육 기관: Daniel A

2017년 5월 14일

In my opinion, this is a fabulous course and will recommend it for all beginners in bioinformatics. At the beginning of the course i was a complete rookie at python programming and was surprised to find myself able to code comfortably by the end of the course. The course was challenging at some points especially week 4, but i eventually made it. I find it worth all the time i put into this. Big thanks to the course instructors

교육 기관: Peter M P F

2020년 5월 8일

As someone who has had no prior background to Python, the program's team-up with CodeAcademy has proven very helpful in familiarizing and eventually manipulating simple Python commands. The lessons are friendly but need a lot of focus and critical thinking to be able to advance to more complex algorithms. Overall, it is beginner-friendly especially to those who have no prior experience in programming. Thank you and keep it up!

교육 기관: Gilbert G

2017년 2월 24일

Great course. I learned a lot. I came into it with only a little bit of background in Python coding. I worked through the recommended Code Academy modules and attempted the course work early and often. I feel like my understanding of algorithms, molecular biology, and Python coding have all improved in just 4 short weeks. I look forward to learning more Python, algorithms, and molecular biology from UC San Diego and others.

교육 기관: Liz C

2020년 8월 31일

Good introduction to bioinformatics, I really enjoyed this course and found it interesting. That being said, I have programmed before so, while it was appropriate for me, I can see how this course could be frustrating if you didn't have sufficient experience with coding (i.e. when writing your own code everything that can go wrong usually will go wrong and there is no hand-holding when it comes to finding your own errors)

교육 기관: Wenye Z

2017년 6월 16일

A really fun and addictive course with some fascinating biology thrown in. I come from a chemical biology background and I had never done programming before. It's challenging, but it's highly motivating when you do solve something. It makes you become familiar with Python in a way that just the Codecademy course by itself simply won't. Phillip and Pavel, thank you for making this course!

교육 기관: Marina R V

2021년 2월 26일

Muy útil para aprender a combinar los conocimientos en el campo de la biología con la programación con Python. Sí es cierto que en algunos momentos puede ser más exigente de lo que debería, sobre todo a la hora de presuponer que el usuario tiene más conocimientos de programación de los que debería, pero globalmente se acaba entendiendo prácticamente todo y se aprende bastante.

교육 기관: Morgan M

2017년 8월 7일

Definitely challenging. If you are new to Python, you will need to do the CodeAcademy course and have a solid grasp of dictionaries, lists, and string manipulation. Even if you do know programming, you will likely spend more time than estimated on each week. I spent probably 8 hours per week. That said, it is extremely rewarding. I highly recommend this.

교육 기관: NARAYANA S K

2020년 5월 8일

This course is designed very well. In all chapters teachers have taken us from step step programming procedure, that helped me to follow this topics well. If they had not followed this procedure, Biologist like me could not do this. Thanks to the teacher. Faq and forum discussions also helped me to know where I am doing wrong. Thank you

교육 기관: denglh

2020년 4월 18일

Nice beginner's course about bioinformatics. You have to have some Python programming basics in order to smoothly complete all the coding tasks. What I learned most from this course is how to split your final tasks into several fundamental steps and them put them together to make things work. Appreciate all the provider for this course!

교육 기관: Reina Y

2020년 6월 18일

At the beginning of the course, I had zero knowledge of Python. I just followed the instructors' guidance and leaned how to code little by little. It took me a while to finish up this course, but I am satisfied with their guidance and how to teach from scratch to those who are totally new to bioinformatics.