Chevron Left
Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners(으)로 돌아가기

캘리포니아 샌디에고 대학교의 Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.4
별점
939개의 평가
268개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Are you interested in learning how to program (in Python) within a scientific setting? This course will cover algorithms for solving various biological problems along with a handful of programming challenges helping you implement these algorithms in Python. It offers a gently-paced introduction to our Bioinformatics Specialization (https://www.coursera.org/specializations/bioinformatics), preparing learners to take the first course in the Specialization, "Finding Hidden Messages in DNA" (https://www.coursera.org/learn/dna-analysis). Each of the four weeks in the course will consist of two required components. First, an interactive textbook provides Python programming challenges that arise from real biological problems. If you haven't programmed in Python before, not to worry! We provide "Just-in-Time" exercises from the Codecademy Python track (https://www.codecademy.com/learn/python). And each page in our interactive textbook has its own discussion forum, where you can interact with other learners. Second, each week will culminate in a summary quiz. Lecture videos are also provided that accompany the material, but these videos are optional....

최상위 리뷰

DL

Apr 18, 2016

I give this course 5 star because I did Bioinformatics I and I totally enjoy it.\n\nThis is where programming can be fun, and practical, and you'll learn some basic biology too.\n\nWhat's not to love?

HL

Aug 16, 2017

I learned a lot from this difficult and time-consuming course! It covers biological concepts using Python. It made learning Python more interesting for me, since I have always loved biology.

필터링 기준:

Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners의 263개 리뷰 중 26~50

교육 기관: Sai H

May 26, 2020

Quite difficult for a biologist since it requires knowledge of basic programming. Anyway good topic to explore and excel in this field as it a booming field of science however it would be more interesting if we had more of the video lessons first instead of keeping it as optional since that requires a lot of understanding too. Thank you for this course it has really inspired to explore this field and i hope i be able to pursue a career relating to this

교육 기관: Jay T

May 30, 2017

Great Course!! Although I already had a background in Python Programming, I can see how this class could gently eases someone with no knowledge of Python (or programming for that matter), into a Novice Python 3 Programmer. The Biology aspect was also well presented. Difficult concepts were well explained, and extra material was given for topics that were not directly related to solving the challenges at hand, but fun and interesting to learn.

교육 기관: Daniel A G

May 14, 2017

In my opinion, this is a fabulous course and will recommend it for all beginners in bioinformatics. At the beginning of the course i was a complete rookie at python programming and was surprised to find myself able to code comfortably by the end of the course. The course was challenging at some points especially week 4, but i eventually made it. I find it worth all the time i put into this. Big thanks to the course instructors

교육 기관: Peter M P F

May 08, 2020

As someone who has had no prior background to Python, the program's team-up with CodeAcademy has proven very helpful in familiarizing and eventually manipulating simple Python commands. The lessons are friendly but need a lot of focus and critical thinking to be able to advance to more complex algorithms. Overall, it is beginner-friendly especially to those who have no prior experience in programming. Thank you and keep it up!

교육 기관: Gilbert G

Feb 24, 2017

Great course. I learned a lot. I came into it with only a little bit of background in Python coding. I worked through the recommended Code Academy modules and attempted the course work early and often. I feel like my understanding of algorithms, molecular biology, and Python coding have all improved in just 4 short weeks. I look forward to learning more Python, algorithms, and molecular biology from UC San Diego and others.

교육 기관: Wenye Z

Jun 16, 2017

A really fun and addictive course with some fascinating biology thrown in. I come from a chemical biology background and I had never done programming before. It's challenging, but it's highly motivating when you do solve something. It makes you become familiar with Python in a way that just the Codecademy course by itself simply won't. Phillip and Pavel, thank you for making this course!

교육 기관: Morgan M

Aug 07, 2017

Definitely challenging. If you are new to Python, you will need to do the CodeAcademy course and have a solid grasp of dictionaries, lists, and string manipulation. Even if you do know programming, you will likely spend more time than estimated on each week. I spent probably 8 hours per week. That said, it is extremely rewarding. I highly recommend this.

교육 기관: NARAYANA S K

May 08, 2020

This course is designed very well. In all chapters teachers have taken us from step step programming procedure, that helped me to follow this topics well. If they had not followed this procedure, Biologist like me could not do this. Thanks to the teacher. Faq and forum discussions also helped me to know where I am doing wrong. Thank you

교육 기관: denglh

Apr 18, 2020

Nice beginner's course about bioinformatics. You have to have some Python programming basics in order to smoothly complete all the coding tasks. What I learned most from this course is how to split your final tasks into several fundamental steps and them put them together to make things work. Appreciate all the provider for this course!

교육 기관: Reina Y

Jun 19, 2020

At the beginning of the course, I had zero knowledge of Python. I just followed the instructors' guidance and leaned how to code little by little. It took me a while to finish up this course, but I am satisfied with their guidance and how to teach from scratch to those who are totally new to bioinformatics.

교육 기관: Harikrishnan R N

May 21, 2020

It was a good course. I found it interesting because I was interested in learning more about the Biological aspect of Bioinformatics. I already had some experience in programming in Python so I could find the programming part not so difficult. For a beginner in programming, this may be a difficult course.

교육 기관: Vidisha G

Apr 22, 2017

Personally, I never believed I would enjoy coding, but I had a deep interest for biology. This course not only helped me develop an interest and grasp the basics of programming in python but also gave me an insight as to how I can use this knowledge I gained in various fields such as bioinformatics.

교육 기관: José P S M

Sep 04, 2019

As a Computer Science undergrad that works with Python, I considered the programming tips very begginer-friendly and could easily follow the presented biological knowledge that was required to complete the course. The course certainly made even more interested in Bioinformatics and Biology.

교육 기관: Pinakhina D V

Nov 20, 2018

I loved the course so much! I have never programmed before and I've always been afraid of mathematics, but this course happened to be so exciting! I liked, how difficult (for me, at least) concepts are explained step-by step. I am sincerely grateful to the authors of the course.

교육 기관: AHMAD A Z

Mar 24, 2020

Honestly, this course is very difficult and not suitable for a beginner. This course is suitable for matured programmers and biologists. More time is needed to answer all the exercises and quizzes. So far, thanks to the teachers and friends for helping me with this course.

교육 기관: Jordi M

Dec 25, 2016

Challenging and interesting. Only downside is the lack of help in the programming sections. I had been stuck on one of the last code challanges for more than a month without anyone of the staff answering my messages in the comments. Besides that, great course and content.

교육 기관: Ebrahim B

Sep 27, 2018

I found the course extremely challenging, having no background in programming. But I loved engaging with math's and statistics, and being introduced to some very difficult but fascinating concepts in bioinformatics. I hope to pursue this career path further.

교육 기관: Sri M K

Nov 18, 2016

I had great fun learning each week of the course. For students interested in understanding DNA, I would sincerely recommend. Also was the best experience I had learning Bioinformatics and python simultaneously. I believe in learning contextually. Thanks

교육 기관: João V P d S

Jun 29, 2020

The course presents several challenges for students from the biological field of sciences. Nevertheless, It was fun to challenge myself and the practical examples used for teaching code were really good. I extremely recommend the course!

교육 기관: Marc S

Aug 07, 2017

As a computer scientist I really enjoyed this course.

Learning about the complex problems, that biologists face, when analyzing DNA, was quite fascinating. I actually think, I will check out the specialization they are offering, as well.

교육 기관: 刘瑞阳

Sep 23, 2017

This course really fits for beginners with zero coding background... Personally, I struggled at first for a while(and the exercises took more than 4 hours per week, as suggested in the webpage), but things are getting better then.

교육 기관: Grey B

Dec 21, 2019

Great intro to python, still need essential backup reads on coding but the pace is good and the explanation of bioinformatics and how coding comes into play and is very useful is perfect if you want to do this specialization..

교육 기관: Jessie G

Jan 12, 2017

It's a great introductory course for Python and Bioinformatics. I found the platform for completing assignments, Stepiks, to be very slick and easy to use. Completing this course was so satisfying, informative and fun!

교육 기관: Dunja P

Apr 27, 2017

Great course for biologists and non biologists. Materials well explained and interesting, stuff very helpful and eager. It opens a window to bioinformatics and is a good first step towards it. Very recommended!

교육 기관: Manuel A

Jul 31, 2016

Very good course, and very similar to the first course of the Bioinformatics Specialization. However be warned, it takes a lot of time and effort to complete this course (definitely more than 10 hours a week).